We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Riga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riga Hostel
Ranked #7 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Really didn't enjoy my one night stay at Riga Hostel. Horrible atmosphere and very basic rooms. Lots of people hanging around the hostel who seem to stay there all day long and must essentially live there as one person even had his own desktop pc set up in the room which he didn't leave from the morning until the evening.

Not enough showers and toilets for the size of the hostel. Basic breakfast provided for free in the morning but even then the atmosphere was awful and everyone sat in silence even when anyone tried to start a conversation. Obviously this is down to the people but the hostel doesn't encourage any interaction at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    42
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
29
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Took bus 22 from airport and cost only 0.5Ls. You do not need to pay extra for your luggage. Took only 25 mins to reach Stockmann and walk about 10 mins. Hostel is above McDonalds. Presently they only accept local currency so change some local currency before you check in. There is a good Money Exchange opposite McDonalds. Took a single room. Had wifi in the room which had a window. Room is clean and had to share bathroom. Receptionist is friendly and they will give you a free map and tell you where to go. Free breakfast everyday morning 8-10AM. Walking to Old Town takes about 10-15 mins. There is a Rimi supermarket nearby at the Central Station where you can buy water and food etc. Overall, this is a nice hostel and would recommend for everyone to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This was my first hostel stay! I've been there only one night, but I liked it and would recommend it to my friends.
Small clean and nice hostel with helpful and polite staff. Wi-Fi. Also, there are two computers inside (if you have forgotten your laptop and need to work)
It takes about 10 minutes to get to the center on foot. Even small breakfast included!
Hostel leaves only good impressions.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bushkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Riga hostel is not so close to the city center (15 minutes by walk) but for sure riga is a very small city. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite good. The common room is small but is possible to make new friends

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

That hostel is so well located, very nicely organised and I always continue staying there while in Riga. I have stayed in the dorm room- that was fun backpacking experience, but they also have very decent and affordable private rooms. So it is definitely great choice for budget traveler.
Toilets and Bthrooms are outside though. But you can choose the best one for yourself.
They also offer modest breakfast all morning.
I love the place!

Room Tip: When you are searching for a shower room, and dont like the first one, just pick another available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101712g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on an overnight stopover due to a connecting flight. Paid for a double room with a private bathroom, however when checking in was told there was only one shared bathroom available to the whole hostel. The hostel was small but very clean and easy to find. Great location, as was central to the town and no need for transport to view tourist things. Tip for Riga: Visit The Big Lido ( Lido recreation centre ), for a fantastic Latvian day out, great food, drink and leisure activities for adults and children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Although not in Old Town, this hostel has a perfect location.
I stayed in a private room, which was nice and clean. The breakfast that was included was good. There are enough showers and toilets, that are cleaned daily.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
The only negative point that I can think of, is that the kitchen and living room are small, making it hard to hang out and meet other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 109 in Riga
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#33 of 109 in Riga
751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiger Hostel
Tiger Hostel
#18 of 144 in Riga
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riga Hostel

Property: Riga Hostel
Address: Merkela iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing