We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for three nights and were happy with the choice. Premises are new, rooms nice and staff polite. Thay are all pretty young, though. I enjoyed the breakfast a lot, but the room looks to be close of having too little seats for the hotel capacity. Free wifi, minibar, safe, good bed and nice location, all there. This is a solid 4 rating for me. 5 needs to have something a bit more special, like superb value for money. I do think this might get even better give some time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed last July for 2 nights in Astor hotel Riga. We had booked 2 twin business rooms directly with the hotel and we had received written confirmation. In the date of arrival we even call in order to inform that we will arrive around 20.00. Unfortunately on our arrival we found out that our twin rooms were given and that we have to stay in tiny double rooms that were call “business” (more expensive than the standard ones). The rooms were the corner ones (213 and 313) and should be avoided at any cost. There is a long corridor leading into the room (which obviously is calculated in the size of the room advertised at 16 sq meters) a narrow double bed and no extra space. There is nowhere to put your luggage and no closet to put your clothes in. There is only a hugger in the corridor where you may put your Jacket and nothing else. We complained about the size and type of the rooms but the receptionist very impolite told us that these were the last rooms available and we have to take them or pay for them in case that we tried to find accommodation elsewhere. We asked to speak to the manager on duty but there was no one present and the receptionist refused to let us speak with the manager over the phone. Having no other options we stayed but our vacation in Riga were ruined. Next morning day receptionist spoke with the manager that agreed to move us to the rooms that we had originally booked which were still very small but a bit better. The hotel is located very close to the old city with all rooms having nice vie over the canals but the rooms are extremely small for a 4* hotel and some personnel very rude and unacceptable. Avoid at any cost the corner rooms not only for the size, but there is a live electric socket exactly next the right hand pillow (when I say next I fully mean it the pillow is touching the socket) I took some pictures that shown to the manager that promised to fix that in the next refurbishment of the hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zafiropoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAstorRiga, Manager at Astor Riga Hotel & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and review! We are a new hotel, still in process of forming our services and maintenance, and we thank you for your helpful tips. We have indeed got in touch with our main Technical Maintenance office, and have already ordered redesigning of electricity sockets. Also we got previously ordered wardrobe and mentioned room is fully equipped with wardrobe and shelves.

We will be happy if we will have possibility to greet you one more time at our hotel and make your booking procedures or stay here as comfortable and convenient for you as possible.

All best regards,
ASTOR Riga Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and spotless clean, breakfast could be better though as the pillows which were not really comfortable#####################################################################################

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onofvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very good Hotel, in a perfect position (on the wall of the old city), polite service, all was ok, BUT I had not any wardrobe, and it was a problem. The bathroom was without any suction fan, so it was not the best for the confort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreabolognaandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Very easy to get to to the sights from the hotel.

The rooms are small, but clean and nicely decorated.

The hotel did not have an iron and ironing board, nor did they have an ironing service. I found this unacceptable given I was attending a conference at the hotel and a ball elsewhere over the weekend and my shirts and dress needed ironing after travelling.

This may have been as the hotel had recently opened.

The bar is nice, but beware of the prices of the bottles of wine. We had a shock when the room bill came as we had been charged £45 for a bottle of wine which is high given the prices in Riga generally and exchange rate.

Conference facilities were good. They were able to facilitate a both for translator for speakers with headphones for delegates to hear translations.

I would consider this hotel again if I went back to Riga.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at Hotel Astor for 2 nights and loved this hotel...There was a group of us and we were split up between 2 hotels and i am happy to say that i stayed at Hotel Astor. Hotel Astor is a great hotel in Riga. Very nice and cozy rooms that fulfill everything that the traveler needs. Free Wifi Internet help too...I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is planing a trip to Riga

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a High Floor facing the Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This new fancy hotel was my home for four days when visiting Riga in may. It was clean with nice interior, though the rooms were a little small. Lovely bathroom. Perfect location. I would stay here again if I ever travel to Riga again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susannen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais le Chevalier
Relais le Chevalier
#31 of 112 in Riga
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#45 of 112 in Riga
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#13 of 112 in Riga
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 112 in Riga
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Riga Hotel & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Riga Hotel & Conference

Address: Zigfrida Annas Meierovica bulvaris 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £52 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astor Riga Hotel & Conference 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference is a brand new 4-star hotel located in the exclusive part of the Old Town, with all the city sights located in an area up to 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel building is eclectic and stylish, a beautiful Art Nouveau - building from 1876 which has been totally restored and renovated. Every room in Astor Riga Hotel is modernly designed with neutral colors used. All the rooms feature a safe, a seating area, a minibar, a flat-screen smart TV, free Wi-Fi and an electric kettle. You will enjoy your night sleep with hand-picked down pillows and blankets on high quality beds. Bathroom features a shower or a bath, free toiletries, a makeup mirror and an exclusive hairdryer with six airflow and temperature settings, including ion generator. You can have nice lunch or dinner in "Astor" restaurant, where also the rich breakfast buffet is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astor Riga Hotel & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing