We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not the best room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent location on the very edge of the old town and with pleasant views across a park. We had an odd corner room that was supposed to be a deluxe but was too small to see the supposedly top end TV from anywhere but one side of the bed, and also lacked the promised bathrobes and slippers. I thought €100 per night was a bit excessive for this room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevalRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

It's new (we visited May 2014) and therefore quite clean. At least our room was quite small, but the view to a park compensated this quite nicely. Breakfast was a bit crowded given that the size of the eating premises did not quite seem to fit the hotel. The breakfast was not anything special + any hotel that thinks of itsself as 4* hotel should be able to afford a roster. Also the only other place I have encountered blanket so narrow was another Riga hotel, so maybe this is a Latvian custom...

Location was great between the old town and the centre.TCentral station in about 10 minutes walk. I can also recomment the two restaurants that are on street left to the hotel (Sliupa str or smth) - 3 knives (3 nazi) and Uncle Vanja.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at Astor Riga Hotel! We loved everything about this place. The location was wonderful, on the cusp of Old Town yet close enough to walk everywhere else. The bus from the airport was a short walk (perhaps 200 meters) from the hotel. All of the staff were fantastic (reception, bar and restaurant). The hotel and our room were beautifully decorated. Bed was comfortable. Large selection at breakfast (although not varied from day to day, but plenty of food choices!). Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpbrodriguez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice hotel for this price.
I had a business room, so I was on the 5th floor. The room is isolated well, but you still hear the trams. For the view grom the room I refer to the picture. The wardrobe is indeed very small, but that is the only minus of the room.
The location is good: on the border of the old city and close to the Art Nouveau part of the city. All tourist places are within walking distance.
From the airport I took bus 22. I got of at the first stop over the river, walked 7 minutes through the old city and was at the hotel.
Breakfast is nice, all what you need. Some people complain about the bread. Okay some of the bread is only good for toast, but there is other bread. And who needs bread anyway when you have such a choice of other things?
The rooms at the back are very quiet but have no view at all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quit but have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jve0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staying regularly in Riga, this was my first stay at Astor Riga Hotel, and definitely not my last.
I guess the this so far has been the Hotel in Riga where I got the best value for my money.
Rooms are not to big, but recently refurbished in a modern style, and beds are comfortable.
Breakfast i certainly upper standard for Riga

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Good for business or tourism. Located in the old town. Rooms comfortable and practical (sockets for phone and computer). Comfortable bed with good reading lights. Free wifi everywhere with no password. Good breakfast. Friendly service from young and efficient staff at reception, bar and restaurant. Rooms at the back are quieter, but no view. At the front, you face the park, but there's a tramline. Pleasant park at the front. Old town with lots of restaurants at the back. Recommended base for this charming city.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel right in the centre of the Old Town- so everything can be reached on foot. We (mum and grown up daughter) stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are cosy, there are toileteries and free coffee/tea facilities/kettle in the room. The TV can run the Internet. It is all very modern, clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Very little noise from the street and tram in front of the hotel. Breakfast is pleanty (buffet style) with a lot of local influence. I loved the bread! Nice hotel- I can't find any faults- ideal for a city break!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 111 in Riga
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Riga Hotel & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Riga Hotel & Conference

Address: Zigfrida Annas Meierovica bulvaris 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £43 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astor Riga Hotel & Conference 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference is a brand new 4-star hotel located in the exclusive part of the Old Town, with all the city sights located in an area up to 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel building is eclectic and stylish, a beautiful Art Nouveau - building from 1876 which has been totally restored and renovated. Every room in Astor Riga Hotel is modernly designed with neutral colors used. All the rooms feature a safe, a seating area, a minibar, a flat-screen smart TV, free Wi-Fi and an electric kettle. You will enjoy your night sleep with hand-picked down pillows and blankets on high quality beds. Bathroom features a shower or a bath, free toiletries, a makeup mirror and an exclusive hairdryer with six airflow and temperature settings, including ion generator. You can have nice lunch or dinner in "Astor" restaurant, where also the rich breakfast buffet is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Astor Riga Hotel & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing