We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cakes, beautiful and perfectly preserved ”
Review of V. Kuze

V. Kuze
Ranked #8 of 28 Dessert in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cakes, beautiful and perfectly preserved ”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really lovely cafe for a coffee and a cake. Sensational 1910 interior design, curious selection of veneered furniture (including a matching piano) and good coffee. cheap too. Great place to while away an hour or two.

Helpful?
Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great historic café in the Old Town”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This business is an example of the effort that these people are making to bring Riga back to its pre-war shape and splendour, and I am not just referring to the Art Deco building in which this café is located.

Vilhelms Kuze, also known as "the King of Sweets", set it up at the beginning of the last century, and his confectionary won international recognitions. He was deported to Siberia in 1941 and died shortly after; his business was nationalised. Now, one of his great grandsons has opened a new café in his honour and some of the recipes that they serve are the original ones.

It is nice to be sitting on one of their huge green sofas, trying to imagine what this family business has gone through and seen over the last hundred years. You can do it eating their truffles, there is a huge selection available, but most importantly drinking their hot dark chocolate. When it arrived, I was immediately a bit disappointed by the size, but I soon realised that its concentration made it more than sufficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlessandroT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“My favorite cafe in Riga”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is one of my favortie places is Riga, I've been there a lot of times and I have never been disappointed by anything. Waitresses are always charming, food (they serve only sweets) is delightful and music they play moslty is French. Interior is vinatage, it's not very loud, this is just a perfect place for calm conversation with your best friend or place where to have a cup of cocoa while having a beuatiful daydream.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AijaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perhaps the nicest café in Riga”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This old town café in Art Deco style was one of the most pleasent experience we had on our trip to Riga. The interior is a must see and the waitress was very nice. We didn't try the chocolate but the croissant was fantastic and the froth on the cappuccino was impressing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lasse2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Chocolate cafe”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is a cafe, not a restaurant. They serve very tasty cakes and coffee. The waitress is very polite and helpful. Special thing to try here is the real Dark Hot Chocolate, however we tried only coffee when being here - and it tasted great.
We loved the look of the café. It is made in original Art Deco style (old piano radio and furniture are antiquarian value and pay attention to the décor on the ceiling!), hanged on the walls are the old photos telling the history of V.Kuze chocolate factory. It is quite small, with relaxing background music, what makes it very cosy.



)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vidus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V. Kuze also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga Region, Latvia
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to V. Kuze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing