We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good.”
Review of Big Bed Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Bed Hostel
Ranked #102 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The best thing about this hostel is it's location - in the middle of everything. The rest leaves a great deal to be desired. There were only 2 beds in our room and nothing else (not even a dustbin). Only 2 toilets (one for men, one for women) for the whole hostel and 2 showers. Breakfast didn't qualify for breakfast, just some cookies and tea, we didn't even bother. It was good value for money, though, and as I just said, location is great, so you might consider going there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillislaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    27
    13
    59
See reviews for
6
29
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

They canceled group booking as well as booking for some individuals a week before our arrival. In total, more than 40 people were no place to stay in Riga since everything was booked. The administration and manager do not even have courage to answer to phone calls from these people to explain the situation.

I suggest keeping in mind alternative accommodation options if you book this hostel, you never know if they suddenly cancel booking without warning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 987Arnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

actually I visit Riga and I stay in this hostel it was good and also service was good really they help me too much they are very good people also it is in the center of Riga so you can go around the city without any problem

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedMakarati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

If you need cheap and quiet place in Riga, this one is what you want. Quiet, clean, very cheerful and helpful staff. Good location, 5 minutes from old town, central railway station and city center. Several showers on the floor, kitchen, light breakfast and towel included.

Очень недорогой, при этом тихий и чистый хостел. Несколько душевых на этаже, нормальные кабинки, легкий завтрак входит в стоимость. Отличное расположение, недалеко от всего.
Очень радушный и приветливый персонал. Ночью лифт не работает, надо попросить охранника открыть дверь на лестнице. Вход через макдональдс.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great atmosphere perfect location good way to meet other backpackers also it is very cheap the employees are polite and helpful providing knowledge of the city. For the price I paid I was surprised to have free breakfast every day and free WIFI. Its above a McDonalds so it is easy to find on a map.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Took this hostel by booking.com rewiev score, but thats one was a really bad choice. No trash bins in room, no mirrors, basicly there is nothing except the bed. None of the toilets(3 of them) had toiletpapers and none of them didnt had paper towels to dry hands. Location is good, but getting into the hostel at night is some kind of mind game. Elevator doesnt work at night, so you have to get there by stairs, passing gates (on every floor) with the keys that admin gave you. On the first floor is a McDonalds so really hard to be in the room with windows open.
DO NOT BOOK THERE. Even with price that low, its not good.

Room Tip: If you are not planning to just crush for couple of hours then do not book at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenisla, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Okay so this place is on the 5th floor above McDonalds and is very much a work still in progress - there is no kitchen, just a kettle in reception. But the staff are super friendly and the hostel is very clean, bright and airy, with very comfy beds! AND in the morning we were presented with a 'breakfast package' each! An individual bag containing an apple, banana and pack of belvita biscuits. I've never had that in a hostel anywhere and think it's a great idea!
This place still needs some finishing in terms of fittings but it's easy to see that it will be a great hostel. Considering the fact that we paid about €7 each for a double room, it was excellent value. Good luck and keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.0 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#65 of 109 in Riga
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riga Hostel
Riga Hostel
#7 of 144 in Riga
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Antik
Hotel Antik
#95 of 144 in Riga
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mr. Hostel
Mr. Hostel
#14 of 144 in Riga
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bed Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bed Hostel

Property: Big Bed Hostel
Address: Merkela iela 1, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Bed Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing