We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed in Riga a few times but this was my first at this hotel and it will be the one I stay at in the future. I selected it due to the other reviews in Tripadvisor and I have to say they were accurate. The location is great as it is in the heart of the old town. The hotel itself cannot have been open too long as everything looks Brand new. The rooms are comfortable and stylish. The wifi is fine.
The food in the restaurant was excellent if a little more expensive than other local eateries but the presentation and taste of the food makes it worth the price. The entrance to the restaurant is impressive with the big fish tanks as well.
So a great place to stay, with good food but plenty of other eating and entertainment options within an easy walk.
It is the first 5 star I have given because I think for the cost the few very minor issues are to be expected in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwisteveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    544
    97
    28
    10
See reviews for
177
622
79
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We'll positioned hotel close to everything you'll need in Rīga -station, bus stops for route 22 (for the airport) plus the delightful old town are all within a few minutes walk.

Friendly check-in and everything explained - hours for breakfast, WiFi code etc. We had the standard sized room which whilst not the biggest in terms of floor space was absolutely fine. The only thing for our
room (501) was the need to lower your head whilst walking from the side of the bed next to the window due to the slant of the roof cutting in. Bathroom was well designed with the floor being heated. Eco friendly soap/shower gel dispensers always get a thumbs up from me rather than wasteful plastic bottles. Mini bar and limited tea/coffee making facilities were provided.

Our front facing room despite 5 floors up didn't give us the quietest night. Noise from the street outside interrupted us on a couple of times. In addition a guest called our room phone (by mistake) during
the middle of the night plus other noisy guests were heard in the corridor later on.

Breakfast was particularly good - huge spread of cooked and cold food included in the room rate. The cooked food did change around a bit meaning over three days you could easily have something different each time.

The hotel has full spa and treatments on site in a well laid out basement. 60 minute body massage for €42 including use of the pool, sauna etc. afterwards was good value indeed for a rainy afternoon.

So overall if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Rīga then you can do no wrong by coming here. Ideally request a room facing inwards (most are when we saw the floor plan) along with your bed
type and hopefully you'll be ensure of a good nights sleep. Otherwise we can't fault the place at all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had a great stay at Wellton - i liked:
1) location - fantastic spot, walking distance to all attractions, opposite a shopping mall, food market and a coffee shop
2) Cleaniness - everything is polishing new.
3) Comfort - great bed and had a good nights sleep
4) Spa - Good with steam, sauna and jacuzzi
5) Breakfast - a good selection to fuel up for the morning

Not the biggest no no...but could provide:
1) Free bath ropes for bedrooms and spa
2) Free slippers for spa
3) clearing the excess water in the spa area as i nearly slipped twice
4) i think it is slightly overpriced

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the courtyard as its quieter. I was in room 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekingduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Wellton Spa in Riga, Latvia , is located in the old part of town, rooms were really nicely decorated, and the spa was lovely after walking For miles :-D when we booked, we paid the price for a room with breakfast and spa access, and it's great because you can book a taxi with your room too, just contact the hotel, and the hotel can charge you. Breakfast was really good, so much choice, and waiters cleared the table very quick.

Room Tip: All seamed very nice, more expensive the room , the bigger you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel in a very nice place to stay! Everything is clean, bright and fresh. You can feel that it has been opened not a long time ago. The staff is always there if you need any help. Special thanks to Laura for the tips she gave about pubs and restaurants. Location is excellent. Shopping mall just 50 meters away. A lot of nice pubs (Omas Brilliant pub) and restaurants (Ribs and Rock) are around. Definitely would stay again and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BornToTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after a wonderful stay in Riga! We arrived on March 16th for 5 nights. The Wellton Centrum hotel only opened in November 2013 so everything was brand new! The room we had was beautifully clean with comfortable beds,well appointed bathroom with fabulous shower,a mini bar,LCD TV,ironing board and iron,hair dryer etc.They have thought of everything! My only gripe is that there was no milk cartons to go with the tea making facilities! We English like milk in our tea! I went to the Rimi supermarket in the shopping centre down the road and bought some though so not a big problem! The breakfast buffet was great with lots of variety! The staff are lovely too,and on request,arranged a birthday cake for my husband who turned 50 whilst we were there,which they bought up to our room with complimentary fresh fruit! The cake was beautiful! All in all we would definitely stay in the hotel again,it's close to all the sites in the old city! Thank you Wellton Centrum for a wonderful stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and I am happy with all aspects of the hotel - great location, great staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, good cleaning services and all the little extras you expect!

Just read a review below and I can say I had coffee/tea/milk available and the hotel makes it VERY clear when booking whether or not the spa/pool is included - I suspect he went for the cheap rate (doesn't include pool) hence why he wasn't allowed access, which is what I done! However, for a very reasonable 10euro you can get full access. Well worth the 10 eur! Also, it is worth noting that the mini bar is also very reasonably priced and the prices are not inflated in the slightest.

You won't find a better hotel in the area for less money.

Oh, one small niggle... there wasn't a good english news channel (sky, cnn, bbc etc...) but hey, there's always apps to keep yourself u pto date I guess :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA

Property: Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Address: 33 Kaleju Street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2013, Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA is located in the historical center of Old Riga. The hotel offers a city-style romantic leisure, cozy rooms with historical ambience, a great restaurant and SPA complex. Its surrounded by UNESCO World Heritage monuments, shopping facilities, restaurants, pubs and office buildings. Due to its convenient emplacement, the hotel is a perfect choice for businesspersons and tourists. This unique and modern hotel provides a high-level service and an individual approach to each guest. All 144 rooms in Wellton Centrum Hotel and Spa are a perfect blend of old and modern times. Rooms are decorated in contemporary style according to international 4 stars hotel standards. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa can accommodate and serve up to 250 guests. From the spacious Superior rooms to the well equipped Comfort double rooms, each room is perfectly suited for an extended stay in Old Riga or just for a comfortable overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing