We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice interior - but noicy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We liked the interior and the staff was friendly and helpful. The three rooms where also clean. Unfortunately for them, we ended up beside a room where the party took of from 0400-0800 both nights. So since a good night sleep is pri 1 in a hotel, the rating is low.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dagfinn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Extremely conveniently situated at the border of the old town. Tastefully refurbished interior, both public areas and rooms. Single room was small, but perfectly equipped. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Safe. Iron and ironing board. Friendly service at reception. Breakfast could be somewhat improved (the omelett or scrambled eggs, whatever it was, must be looked at). Very satisfactory stay indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to Riga in February for a quick mini-break and wanted somewhere a little bit nicer than our usual hostel choice, and we weren't disappointed here. The rooms were small but had everything we needed, the staff were very friendly and attentive, the breakfast was excellent (including free sparkling wine!), and the location awesome.

The spa in the basement was a great way to spend an afternoon (particularly when it was -10 degrees outside) - and only cost £10 for the day on top of our costs. Book in advance of arriving if you want any treatments.

Overall great value for money for an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDobinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel from monday to friday. Our choice of hotel was based on the feedback on Tripadvisor. And it really met our expectations. Nice situated in the old city. Close to everything. Very nice rooms and very clean. Good restaurant with good breakfast. Really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrefekter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went to this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is situated in the very heart of Riga. This means that it is very close to the bars, restaurants and shops. We found that the staff were very helpful and they all spoke good English. The breakfast was a buffet style breakfast with porridge available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For a group of 10 guys on a stag do looking for a much better quality hotel to stay in without breaking the bank. This hotel has it all, close enough in the old town with walking distance to many bars and restaurant. The hotel has its own SPA which was an added bonus after a heavy night. The rooms were on the small side but very clean and modern, there is no noise even with the window open. Staff are very accommodating, the only disappointment was the buffet breakfast, lack of choice and freshness of some foods, our piece of bread had mould on it.

I would recommend staying here, but would avoid the food at the hotel, which isn't a big deal considering the hotel is opposite many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rman_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Exellent location, nice and tidy rooms. However the hotel is charging you for the specific view and you may not get it at the end. First room we've been offered were overlooking the rubbish bin on a ground floor.
I had to dig out a confirmation from my Ipad to proof that I'm right. Noone offered me to have seat, to take care of my heavy luggage, give directions to my partner where to park a car, while we are sorting these things out.
After having very demnding and unprofessional attitude from ladies at Reception, we've been given room keys from a different room. What a surprise when we entered the room, after travelling hours, helping ourselves with luggage. (No offer! Nobody even offered to hold this massive entrance door for us), ROOM WAS OCCUPIED! Coming down to Reception for the third time, we recieved NO APOLOGY and an answer "Can't be true!" after another 10 minutes agrueing to get finally to the room. They calld to occupied room and confirmed details with the guest staying in the room.
It took me quite few efforts to calm down my partner to not go ballistic and finish this humiliating experience once and forever. We've been "upgraded" after all this to a room with the slippers.

Went down to a restaurant, to have a drink and finally go to the bed. After serving first round of drinks we've been left unattended for an 1h . Apart from that we had to stand up and walk to the bar to get sugar for the coffee. When we finally desided to ask for a bill, it took andother 20 minutes. We approached the bar, where lady sent us back to the table and told us, that someone is coming to see us. Nothing happened after 20minutes. It took 1h and 40 minutes to pay for a glass of wine and cup of coffee.

Bucket with an ice from Room Servic stayed in my room for two nights. In a morning when we went for breakfast, because of unpleasant experience upn the check in, ladies turned their faces away and did not even bother to look at us.

We were absolutely exhausted from the stay and rudness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcqpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O S, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Miss Marcqpan,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experience.

We are sorry to discover that you were not happy with the overall experience and for which we sincerely apologize.
Service described by you is absolutely unacceptable in our hotels. We have to admit that it took us some time to establish constant and professional team. I am sure, that if you would visit us now, you would see an essential improvement in all departments. We are sorry, that despite the management effort, we were not able to improve your stay then. We hope to have another opportunity to restore your faith in us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#14 of 112 in Riga
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 112 in Riga
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA

Address: 33 Kaleju Street, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £43 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2013, Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA is located in the historical center of Old Riga. The hotel offers a city-style romantic leisure, cozy rooms with historical ambience, a great restaurant and SPA complex. Its surrounded by UNESCO World Heritage monuments, shopping facilities, restaurants, pubs and office buildings. Due to its convenient emplacement, the hotel is a perfect choice for businesspersons and tourists. This unique and modern hotel provides a high-level service and an individual approach to each guest. All 144 rooms in Wellton Centrum Hotel and Spa are a perfect blend of old and modern times. Rooms are decorated in contemporary style according to international 4 stars hotel standards. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa can accommodate and serve up to 250 guests. From the spacious Superior rooms to the well equipped Comfort double rooms, each room is perfectly suited for an extended stay in Old Riga or just for a comfortable overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing