We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Stated here for 3 nights, romn was a good size and clean. Breakfast was nice, good selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit and eggs done how you ask. We went to Tallinn for a night during our stay here and the hotel kept hold of our suitcase for us, very friendly staff and warm welcome. The location is idea, very easy to findl, literally a 1 minute walk from main squares and located on a side street so no noise or disturbance at night. Would recommend this place and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nm8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    76
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
71
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

After visiting Latvia, Riga, I am wondered about architucture and beauty of old town of Riga, nice wievs, beautifull girls, comfortable hotel near to ol Riga, very good information service about hotels in http://www.riga.com/hotels

Room Tip: With view to park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Everything was so great and nice at the hotel!
The location is in the city center, the room is big, clean and warm.
Hotel stuff is like at 5 star hotel, they help you in every issue, the manager of the hotel has even taken us to see Jurmala on his own car!
I forgot my iPhone in the car, but next morning he came to return it back to me. If you reed it now THANK YOU ONE MORE TIME!
Breakfast is served to the room - you say to the stuff in the evening what would you like to eat next morning. I just can not find any little thing to complain. This is the place to stay in Riga.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonna4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March before moving to a different hotel (for business).

I booked the hotel at the last minute on hotels.com but had no problems checking in and was upgraded to a suite bedroom. The bedroom was large with two sitting areas and could sleep up to 3 people. Room was very clean, well looked after, and well heated.

Buffet breakfast was provided and included a large selection of both hot and cold food & drink (not to mention the Vodka & Champagne!).

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

After 5 previous visits to Riga, (which shows how much we like the old town) we decided to try a different hotel (as we had always used the same one before). We checked it to what seemed a pleasant, clean and tidy hotel as indicated with my ratings. We were only there for 2 evenings, but unpacked our few belongings before venturing out into the town. We returned early evening to freshen up for the evening, only to be told there had been a mistake with our booking and that we would have to check out in the morning as they had double booked. They said they had booked us into a suitable hotel around the corner. As you can imagine this changed our so far pleasant experience. They had booked us into the other hotel on the 5th Dec it was now 31st Dec, so not only were we not informed early Dec, they didn't even tell us at time of checking in. I went to check out the other hotel and found it to be even better than this one. So name of hotel I strongly recommend is the Old City Boutique Hotel.... I returned and demanded that they check us in there immediately for the 2 nights and save us the hassle of having to get up early to check out and possibly then have to wait to check in etc, let alone waste time when we should be enjoying our trip. Give them their due they accommodated us immediately with our request.
Now in their defense. They said they didn't have our contact details as we had booked via hotels.com who in turn had used the Expedia database. I made the booking with Hotels .com so at the end of the day I see it as their duty to have informed me. But Expedia would of had my details, and hotel could have also asked for them to contact us. Plus for the hotel to have overlooked this minor detail when we checked in also seems crazy. It was alls well that ends well, but could have been very different. Make up you own mind. Gave 1 for hotel service, as what else could I give after not letting us know this information. Also 1 for sleep quality for obvious reasons (but it all looked fine, quiet street etc). But the way they handled the problem was first class, so I dare say they would normally be very good presuming this sort of thing doesn't happen every day. Bit like a double negative equals a positive I guess. You decide :-) The hotel's location is excellect, right in the old town centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was on a business trip, checked into the hotel in the afternoon, came in late, slept and left early. There seemed to be a very good breakfast, ordered and served at the table. As I was in a terrible hurry in the morning, I had to leave before it was finished. They were not v e r y slow, and this was not well behaved on my part.

The room was quite big and nice. There is a nice backyard where you can have a drink and write postcards, I guess I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Small, unassuming hotel in an excellent location for Old Town Riga. Our room was on the small side but immaculately clean. You must try the restaurant. We had dinner there on our first night and it was fantastic. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Overall an excellent value for money hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pricey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#58 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#36 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riga Hotel Vecriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Property: Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Address: Gleznotaju iela 12-14, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecriga in Latvian means "Old Riga." The romance of the medieval ages together with 21st century comfort, warm welcome and personal attention to every guest have made the hotel popular among tourists and business travellers. Hotel boasts an extensive collection of contemporary artwork, which is considered to be one of the finest in Riga. Hotel celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2009. Quite a few famous people stayed in our hotel during these years: Dalai Lama, John Malcovich, Harry Harrison, Vladimir Molchanov, Tamara Gvardciteli and others. Hotel’s guestbook has numerous autographs and comments from well-known artists, politicians, writers, scientists and musician. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Riga Hotel Vecriga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing