We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, nice rooms with good location. Room was clean and looked good. Only thing i missed was bath foam, but i guess that could've been arranged. We stayed there three nights, would go there back, definetely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiljammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    76
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
71
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Given the price paid it is hard to fault the hotel but be prepared for basics. Having read some reviews mentioning heavenly beds, etc. my expectations were a bit disappointed. It is a good basic hotel in a very good location for leisure tourists. Don't bother paying for breakfast - a number of cafes nearby offer much better choice and quality.

Room Tip: It is on fairly narrow street so either choose top (3rd floor) or courtyard facing to avoid the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexaxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
650 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel is placed in the middle of old town and is historical place. Fasade is really beautyful. Interiors are really awefull - the one who made redesign should be put into jail. Breakfest was nothing special and cofee aweful. But the sourroundings is really grate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Having read all the positive reviews before booking, we were very disappointed by our experience. On arrival at 11am, we were told our room would not be available until 2:30pm.

The room: poorly laid out, you practically trip over the bed on entry; the bathroom shower leaked like crazy, so we had to use all our towels each day to mop up the floor. The bedroom floor (varnished floorboards) had not been cleaned/mopped for some time as our feet were filthy whenever we walked barefoot on it.

Very noisy too and hard-as-nails-bed! No tea/coffee facilities in room?

Poor. The previous week we stayed at a different hotel but that was fully booked for our second Riga trip - that hotel was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a tree days, two night's stay in Riga in late November 2012.
As we arrived before normal check-in, we didn't expect that we would be able to get our room, but we were told that the room was already cleaned, so we could move right in which was a relief for us.
We got room number 31 on the third floor, a large room with very high ceiling, as it's under the roof with slanted walls. The room was clean and nice, good sized bathroom with tub - the only back-draw was the WiFi that turned out to fairly weak in this room, so without a strong antenna, you might face a problem with the reception there. Other that that, the room is cosy, quiet and private.
If your trip to Riga is to see the Old Town, then this hotel offers excellent access to all of Riga's Old Town, but at the same time you'll find that you're also very close to the new part of the city, just within walking distance to the Art Nouveau quarter and good places to go shopping.
The included breakfast is served in the connection restaurant - it's not extravagant; but a fine and decent choice for most people.
We can only recommend this friendly and honest hotel - A true pearl for a modest price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were four people together on a business trip, staying in four different rooms one night. One of our group complained that his room was very cold. Another colleague got a room without a window, but it had a glass door facing the atrium where everybody came and went. This room was also rather small. I was bothered by mosquitoes. i usually sleep with an open window. This was my third visit to Vecriga, and I had never noticed mosquitoes before. Now, I got about ten bites.

I mentioned this in the reception the day after. They said i should have asked for repellent (the type you plug into an electrical socket). I did not think of this three o'clock in the morning when I was already bitten. They said that since the building is protected, they cannot have mosquito nets in the windows.

The fourth person in our group was perfectly happy.

The breakfast is still very good, and the receptions people both fluent in English and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Stated here for 3 nights, romn was a good size and clean. Breakfast was nice, good selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit and eggs done how you ask. We went to Tallinn for a night during our stay here and the hotel kept hold of our suitcase for us, very friendly staff and warm welcome. The location is idea, very easy to findl, literally a 1 minute walk from main squares and located on a side street so no noise or disturbance at night. Would recommend this place and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nm8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#59 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#42 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riga Hotel Vecriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Property: Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Address: Gleznotaju iela 12-14, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecriga in Latvian means "Old Riga." The romance of the medieval ages together with 21st century comfort, warm welcome and personal attention to every guest have made the hotel popular among tourists and business travellers. Hotel boasts an extensive collection of contemporary artwork, which is considered to be one of the finest in Riga. Hotel celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2009. Quite a few famous people stayed in our hotel during these years: Dalai Lama, John Malcovich, Harry Harrison, Vladimir Molchanov, Tamara Gvardciteli and others. Hotel’s guestbook has numerous autographs and comments from well-known artists, politicians, writers, scientists and musician. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Riga Hotel Vecriga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing