We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I returned home today from 3 nights 4 days in Riga, staying at the old riga hotel vecriga, what a great place. The hotel and staff were excellent, a great central location from where to explore many of Riga's sights. Even though you are only a couple of minutes from the city centre you did not hear any noise from it. The hotel was spotlessly clean, towels changed and room cleaned daily. Breakfast was included, cereal, cheese, meat, yoghurts, juices, coffee/tea, breads and eggs to order set you up for a day of exploying. Would recommend this hotel very highly and would certainly re-visit.

Room Tip: We had room 11 on the ground floor leading onto the hotel courtyard, if the hotel was very busy it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hotel pages show nice photos of old spacy rooms, so I decided to book a suite. My fried took a std room. We stayed 4 nights. My suite was not any bigger or better than a std room. In fact it did not even meet the std room level in other hotels. Anyway, the price was higher. Minibar on the floor of the room was barely able to keep the drinks cool. Somebody had changed the contents of the whote wine bottle to something else..

Since the access to room was from yard and nobody cleaned the snow away from the yard, the floor in the room got wet and dirty. At the time of the booking American express was said to be accepted, but when the time for payment came it was not.

The breakfast is pretty simple and not really worth paying extra for. Smile in the morning did not include to breakfast service.

Generally, as the whole Riga, quite a disappointment. A lot of bold but unkept promises and old sovjet times who cares and conman attitude.

Room Tip: Suite oly costs more, but is not a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jatador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We travelled in the end of April and had to book a room in last minute. Hotel Vecriga attracted attention by number of features: excellent location in the very centre of the Old City and very nice price, photos and reviews were excellent. Usually real rooms don't fully match the expectations, but the Hotel Vecriga was different case: cozy a little bit vintage (large leather chairs under wooden staircase) hall, welcoming staff, very clean room with light wooden parquet floor. Clean and spacious bathroom and very pleasant atmosphere.

Hotel is located in the very centre but on very narrow street that makes it quiet place, however, audibility in the room, especially from the corridore is high. But the hotel is a mall one, there are not many rooms and people who stay behave politely so at night time there were no problems.

In general the hotel is very nice to come to, very convenient to stay and it adds a lot to the impression of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, nice rooms with good location. Room was clean and looked good. Only thing i missed was bath foam, but i guess that could've been arranged. We stayed there three nights, would go there back, definetely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiljammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Given the price paid it is hard to fault the hotel but be prepared for basics. Having read some reviews mentioning heavenly beds, etc. my expectations were a bit disappointed. It is a good basic hotel in a very good location for leisure tourists. Don't bother paying for breakfast - a number of cafes nearby offer much better choice and quality.

Room Tip: It is on fairly narrow street so either choose top (3rd floor) or courtyard facing to avoid the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexaxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel is placed in the middle of old town and is historical place. Fasade is really beautyful. Interiors are really awefull - the one who made redesign should be put into jail. Breakfest was nothing special and cofee aweful. But the sourroundings is really grate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Having read all the positive reviews before booking, we were very disappointed by our experience. On arrival at 11am, we were told our room would not be available until 2:30pm.

The room: poorly laid out, you practically trip over the bed on entry; the bathroom shower leaked like crazy, so we had to use all our towels each day to mop up the floor. The bedroom floor (varnished floorboards) had not been cleaned/mopped for some time as our feet were filthy whenever we walked barefoot on it.

Very noisy too and hard-as-nails-bed! No tea/coffee facilities in room?

Poor. The previous week we stayed at a different hotel but that was fully booked for our second Riga trip - that hotel was lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjaminBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riga Hotel Vecriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Address: Gleznotaju iela 12-14, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £50 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecriga in Latvian means "Old Riga." The romance of the medieval ages together with 21st century comfort, warm welcome and personal attention to every guest have made the hotel popular among tourists and business travellers. Hotel boasts an extensive collection of contemporary artwork, which is considered to be one of the finest in Riga. Hotel celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2009. Quite a few famous people stayed in our hotel during these years: Dalai Lama, John Malcovich, Harry Harrison, Vladimir Molchanov, Tamara Gvardciteli and others. Hotel’s guestbook has numerous autographs and comments from well-known artists, politicians, writers, scientists and musician. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Riga Hotel Vecriga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing