We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brillant small hotel in the heart of medieval center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
Ranked #58 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I was staying in Vecriga 5 days before Christmas. It is in a small street in the heart of old city center. It makes this place very romantic and authentic to medieval atmosphere.

The entire staff is very friendly and professional. They easily helped us with all necessary information.
Our room on the top floor was clean, warm and comfortable. A pleasant fact is a safe deposit inside the room. I really liked the interior of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vecriga, Director of Sales at Old Riga Hotel Vecriga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank You for Your review!! :)

Best Regards,
I.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

Superbe small hotel in the centre of old Riga at a reasonable price (e.g. as compared to hotels in Tallinn). Very friendly staff. Rooms as well as the bath rooms are relatively spacious. The rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and have charming wooden floors. No elevators and no air condition. No car park. Breakfast is a bit meager and more for anglo-saxon taste with eggs, only white sliced bread, very limited selection of cheese and meat and no fresh fruit. Nice quiet court where breakfast was served. We really enjoyed the hotel and will come back hoping that the breakfast will improve.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutzer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Excellent hotel with extremely kind and friendly staff with very good English (especially reception desk staff). Located at the small, lovely street of Old Town of Riga (taxi driver asked us to take a walk from the main road as he was not able to get there directly by car), surrounded by many kafejnīcas (cafes ;) ), souvenir shops and restaurants. Quite large shopping mall for shopaholics nearby and cheap budget food place just next to it serving local speciality - pelmeņis (dumplings with different fillings).
Rooms in the hotel extremely clean and "fresh", bedlinen clean and so the bathroom. Mini bar extra paid (prices triple and more than in the city), several Russian and Latvian TV channels plus CNN, BBC Entertainment and Eurosport. Standard breakfast - tea, coffe, juice, toasts with ham&cheese, jam, butter plus one to choose from omelet, fried eggs or scrambled eggs. Tasty :)
The only thing that may be annoying for some of you is that you can hear every single step of other people on the corridor when you're staying in your room with the door locked. And so, it seems like someone is entering your room even if you are aware it's just your imagination.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czurczman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Nice bed,good in sence,respected service ability.
verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry friendly!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNLI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel. Friendly staff, cozy rooms. Breakfast could be better, but that's all I have to "complain" about . But it's not really a complaint. Just add some more bread and maybe some fruit.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank BelovedJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

It's a lovely hotel in the heart of Riga, small but very cosy. The staff was very nice, the rooms were clean and the location was perfect. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Sara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is perfectly located in old town with many nice restaurants and shops closeby. We had two rooms at ground floor level which were perfect! One was very big, the other normal size, both clean. We had breakfast at the little patio in front of the rooms outside, beautful. Most special about this hotel is the super friendly staff, who were very helpful to my mother in wheelchair. The resaturant has excellent food! Only minor: breakfast is too simple.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelftBlue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#38 of 111 in Riga
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#67 of 111 in Riga
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redstone Boutique Hotel
Redstone Boutique Hotel
#66 of 111 in Riga
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riga Hotel Vecriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Address: Gleznotaju iela 12-14, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £30 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecriga in Latvian means "Old Riga." The romance of the medieval ages together with 21st century comfort, warm welcome and personal attention to every guest have made the hotel popular among tourists and business travellers. Hotel boasts an extensive collection of contemporary artwork, which is considered to be one of the finest in Riga. Hotel celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2009. Quite a few famous people stayed in our hotel during these years: Dalai Lama, John Malcovich, Harry Harrison, Vladimir Molchanov, Tamara Gvardciteli and others. Hotel’s guestbook has numerous autographs and comments from well-known artists, politicians, writers, scientists and musician. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Riga Hotel Vecriga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing