We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, small - excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I spend one night in June 2011. The purpose for my visit was business. The location is extraordinary...directly in the old city center of riga. Besides Tallin and St. Petersburg, Riga is a pretty nice, hanseatic city. There is a good mixture of cultural activities, fancy bars and old stylish restaurants. My room was to the inner side, not a good view, but very quiet. Everthing was clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaysleeperBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Old City Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Everything is on par with the 4-star rating. Some doorways are very low, but it's a historical building so there's not much that can be done about those.
Hotel is right in the middle of action, but still surrounded by quieter side streets.
Galerija shopping center's back entrance is just 30 meters away.
Staff is friendly and room was very neat.
I usually choose my hotels by special deals and this was my second stay in this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel has nice rooms and a great, helpful staff. The first night we were stuck in a smoking room which absolutely reeked. Second night luckily we were moved to a non-smoking room which was much better.

Room Tip: Insist on non-smoking room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Had a wonderful trip for two nights. Despite unexpectedly early arrival to the hotel, check-in was ok even at 10a.m. Nice surprise! Well-spoken and very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room (classic double).

Breakfast was more than ok, porridge, all kinds of cheeses, etc. Lobby bar offers wide range of drinks and fine cigars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Location:
We couldn't have asked for a better location. The hotel is located in the Old Town and is close to most main attractions. It is also near the Galerija Centrs shopping centre, in which there is a Rimi supermarket, making it very easy to purchase everyday necessities. The central train and bus stations are about a 10 minutes walk away, with the option to do several day trips out of Riga (we went for a hike in Sigulda, about 90 minutes from Riga by train).

Check-in and check-out:
Both were very efficient. We arrived around midday and though check in time is 2pm, our room was ready and we were able to leave our luggage before going out to explore. Check out was also equally fast and efficient.

Room:
Our room was fairly small but normal for European standards. We only had a shower in the room but it had good water pressure.

Food:
Breakfast was provided with the room and it was very good, with a selection of hot and cold breakfast dishes. We also spent a sunny afternoon at the Gutenberg rooftop restaurant, which was extremely enjoyable. The food and service were excellent and the rooftop afforded some beautiful views in the late afternoon sun. The other memorable meal we had was at Neiburgs, again the food and service were impeccable.

Other comments:
AirBaltic has a very convenient network of buses and taxis, available for fixed rates. It costs 10LVL (£15) each way for a taxi from the airport to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_nomad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I had a Classic Double room for one person in the newly renovated part of the building. The room was beautiful, large, with a real double (probably queen size) bed, well equipped and had a full buffet breakfast included in the price. It was a good value. It was pretty much as shown on the hotel website. It was in the perfect location for seeing the old town sights and an easy walk from the bus station.

My complaint is that although the room was non-smoking, the rooms in the new section open to a nicely designed outdoor courtyard where smoking is allowed. Since the air conditioning hadn't been turned on for the season, I liked to have the windows open. This then means that not only does smoke from the courtyard users drift into the room, there is also noise from conversation. It's really my only complaint. Although I asked to be moved to a higher floor, the extra couple floors didn't help the noise and smoke situation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights. The hotel is located in a great location inside the old town. The room was furnished nicely, but was a bit on the small side. We had a room facing the inside of the courtyard, which wasn't great.

Whilst we were there the bar was closed for renovations, which was a disappointment although you could have drink inside the restaurant. Breakfast was great, with a large selection. Staff were always friendly.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy_v25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £50 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing