We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel in centre of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in centre of old town”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Spotless lobby area with helpful and efficient staff on reception. The rooms are good value, we thought, and the breakfast choice was excellent. We stayed in a superior room (as part of a three night deal). Having stayed in a 'classic' room on two previous occasions, there is not much difference between the two except for more space and (we had) part of the old stone wall in a superior room. Our room was quirky (211?) had a very comfortable bed but no seating area in the room as we might have expected, just a couple of high backed chairs. Definitely no frills – no boxes of tissues in the room and take your own shower cap if you need one!

The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the old town and there are lots of nice cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Also worth a visit to the Skyline bar at the Radisson hotel where you can get great views of the city from 26th floor (open from 4pm).

Room Tip: I would probably choose a 'classic' room if travelling there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukey2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    290
    106
    21
    9
See reviews for
76
353
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just a perfect location. Staff was helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room 310. No rooms next to it. View is of the courtyard but it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this hotel after having read all the positive reviews about it on TripAdvisor. The hotel is located in the Old Town close to the main bus station and train station. All of the major sights of Old Town are near, as well as, a big shopping center on the other side of the street.

Even though the hotel is clean, has a modern look and a nice breakfast buffet, the biggest downside is the poor noise insulation. The walls are so paper thin you can basically hear every single word the neighbor is saying (even though they are talking in a normal voice). You can hear everything from the hallway. It is really a pity that a hotel that otherwise is great would offer such poor sleep quality.

Also, there are three parakeets in a bird cage in the lobby. These birds are living in a cage that is way too small for them. Instead of adding a nice touch to the design, it makes you feel sad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location to walk to all the city landmarks. Friendly service, fantastic breakfast and cozy bar. The hotel has 2 buildings and we stayed in the "old one" rooms are all different yet all pretty cozy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mons M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I always stay just outside the old city of Riga, but now I had the reservation made by my local co-workers in Riga. What an improvement! The hotel is smack in the city center, across from the theatre, but everything is in walking distance.

The hotel looks great. It's a mixture of old and new design. The lobby has very comfortable sofa's and the somewhat small bar serves everything except cocktails. You must try the food: it's to die for and reasonable priced.

The rooms are okay in size, the bathrooms a bit too small. If you're a bit oversized, you won't fit the toilet. Beds are okay, no wifi except for the lobby, but with a cable you can internet (bring your own airport express if you want to use wifi on your iPad). Breakfast is fine (no fresh orange juice)

But the location is the true draw of this hotel. With a good price you can really spend your time here. And I must say: the staff is great! I loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March 2012. I choose this hotels because of location and modern room design. If you go to the city for leisure and do not travel by car it is always better to be on the spot, in the most central location. Another my option was Radisson Blu.

Looks like the hotel has 2 buildings: one of them is renovated. Be sure that your room is at renovated building. We stayed at renovated Superior room that was decorated with an ancient brick wall behind the head of the bed. The same wall was at bathroom. I think the brick wall is the only difference between Superior and Standard room. Window view is on the same brick wall in the inner yard. I suppose they have higher category rooms with better views. Wi-Fi was not available at our room, however reception provide us the a cable and I could connect my notebook and make it sharing ethernet via Wi-Fi.

It was very hot in the room so we had to open window since air conditions didn't work (I believe for winter time only). The reason was a not adjustable heater behind the bed: it was always on. Bathroom at the same time was quite cold regardless of the fact that it had a heated floor.

Hotel restaurant was surprisingly good, see my other review for that. We tried it for dinner. Breakfast in separate breakfast room was good as well. Selection of hot dishes including scrambled eggs, fried eggs, sausages, pancakes, beans. They may also make fresh juices, pancakes and omelette for extra charge. Last day we have an early flight and hotel prepared the lunch boxes for us when I ask for it previous day. Not every hotel will do it for you.

Reception staff didn't greet me each time I passed by. However they were quite helpful and polite. Arranged taxi for airport was called in time and the complete journey to airport from the hotel is 15 minutes. Good hotel to stay, but do not expect too much.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was there for business last week and was impressed by the central location in the old town yet few minutes away from the airport by taxi. Breakfast selection was comprehensive and clean concept was enjoyable. Next business trip I go there again
Free wired or wifi internet depends on the room

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Property: Old City Boutique Hotel
Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing