We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On an Opera trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Riga
derbys
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“On an Opera trip”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very close to the Opera House. You need to do a deal on price but may be good. Better grade rooms are only OK if you sleep at the back? This is not at the heart of the Old Town but is 10 minutes away. Old Town is to be set aganist the other side of the river. This is not a bad hotel but we would think more about others next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    289
    106
    21
    9
See reviews for
76
353
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights.  Overall, a great stay.

Pluses:
Great  location--the Galleria Shopping Center very nearby had a Rimi Grocery store perfect for water, snacks, or picnic supplies. Also very near the Opera.
When we checked in, the staff gave us a wireless router so we would have WiFi in our room.  A staff member installed it for us. 
Clean room/comfortable bed/efficient staff!
Excellent breakfast with lots of variety including fresh fruit and veggies.
Beautiful, fragrant lilies in the reception area.
Great shower plus hair dryer was provided.

Minus:
Air conditioning not turned on for the season.  Mostly, it wasn't necessary but with windows open for fresh air, cigarette smoke and noise from the bar below came into our room.  It was sometimes stuffy to keep the windows closed.
Room was small.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

The staff were pleasant enough at check in and told us where the sights were etc.

The room was modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. Large comfortable bed. I had an issue with my basin which could not be fixed until the following day which was inconvenient but not the end of the world.  

There is no wi-fi in the rooms so you have to sit in the lobby to access Internet which is not ideal.

Breakfast was very good with hot and cold selection to choose from.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it is very close to the centre of the old town and offers good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davepuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in two rooms (single & superior). The hotel lobby is quite nice. The rooms are clean and well stocked if only slightly needing a newer rug. Only thing I would change would be the restaurant decor which felt vintage 1980's. Staff was very courteous and the location is as good as you can get in Riga. Very much worth the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom have no view, but instead have a nice warehouse/loft feel. The smaller room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastiMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I found my room to be one of the nicest I have had for hotels in the same price range anywhere in Europe. Even though the room was on the ground floor right next to a street (a very small back street to be sure) it was still quiet except when other guests were talking in the hallway. The location is very convenient, a short easy walk from the bus station and anywhere in the old town. The breakfast buffet was very good. The lobby seemed small and was often crowded but that was not really an issue. Overall, my impression was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Nice and quiet hotel in the heart of Riga old town. Rooms are small but clean and convenient. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel is located in a walking distance to all main sights and numerous cafe and restaurants. Prices are reasonable fully in line with quality and service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Centrally located close to all the sights in the old town

The room we had was a bit on the small side but was more than adequate for our purposes.

We had a room in the annexe at the back of the hotel. It is slightly noisy when guest return late, there are 4 rooms on each floor if there is a group that has more than 1 room on the same floor then when the exit the lift and say there goodnights etc right outside your door it can not help but be a bit noisy for 30 seconds or so.

The breakfast was good but they could have done with more tables

If we came back to Riga we would stay in the hotel again

Staff where helpful

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Property: Old City Boutique Hotel
Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing