We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Sophia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location and great breakfast”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

If you are into breakfast, this hotel is a good place for you- copious, varied, generous! No wonder that there are a lot of tourist groups here, but don't fret, everybody will get enough to eat. As you might have gathered, the hotel is not really boutique as in small and cute although it has some nice touches of design about it in the public areas. It is extremely well located, close to both the old part of Riga and the central park and opera house. For food, head to Bon Vivant, Riga's Belgian Beer Cafe (5 minutes on foot) with very reasonable ( and tasty) food and a dazzling array of beers. The Three Cooks ( or 3 Pavaru Restorans) in comparison , serves highly innovative food, but is pretty pricey for the average wage earner. Nice setting, though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank exentrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    287
    105
    19
    9
See reviews for
76
348
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed three nights last week. It was very easy to walk everywhere from the hotel. Our room was very comfortable and quite spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We especially loved the included breakfast for its quality and variety. We read about the black Mercedes, which we saw parked on the street. However, it was simple to take the tram to the ferry terminal when we departed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel right in the city centre. The staff is nice although don’t expect them to be overly at your disposal or kind, however I can’t complain for the treatment we received. The room we stayed in was rather small, although it had all the possible comforts. Tv and mini bar (the latter is not included in the rate of the room), together with 1 armchair where to put your luggage and a spacious desk. Unfortunately there are not hangers in the room, so you’re forced to put the jackets and coats inside the wardrobe. The bathroom is small but nice, even though not a 5 star hotel tidiness (I know this is a 4 star hotel). They have all the kits for the shower so you don’t have to bring your own shower gel and lotion. Hair drier present in the bathroom. We were unexpectedly surprise in finding out we had breakfast included in the rate (although it had not been pointed out at the reservation), and we enjoyed it a lot. The breakfast is served in a small but very bright room, and it offers a LOT. From milk with cereals (and the delicious kefir), to the other typical breakfast things such as eggs, bacon, potatos, a selection of cheese, juices, croissants and sweet things. I would totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalla9017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and also very close to the bus station. The rooms are small but well equipped and comfortable. We were asked to write down our credit card number on check in which we opposed so instead left a 20EUR deposit for the minibar. The minibar fridge didn't work, so could not use the fridge and were not interested in its contents. The aircon or fan were not functioning, apparently because of the season. However, it's a warm April so we had to open the window. This didn't completely cool us down and it let bugs in (we got bitten). Generally the air circulation is not great as the halls and rooms feel stuffy. Breakfast was included in the price and was good for a free breakfast, so overall good value for what we paid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank polarmonkeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and our second visit to Riga. Everything was good, from the big Mercedes picking us up and bringing us back to the airport, to breakfast and general service. Perhaps he best i the situation, a few steps from the heart go the old town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent hotel in a prime location. All staff were polite and attentive and the room was comfortable and clean.
I would recommend anyone visiting this hotel to try their restaurant. My Wife and I ate there on two nights and were most impressed with the standard, both presentation and content were excellent with the price very competitive compared to other restaurants in the city.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Riga.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This small hotel is conveniently located in central Riga. Some rooms have extra character, which I would recommend you to try it out for the experience sake. Unfortunately the staff was rather rude during the checkout, rushing us to leave. That spoiled our stay, so we will probably not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Property: Old City Boutique Hotel
Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing