We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Sweden
1 review
“Very good value for the money!!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We spent a weekend in Riga and stayed two nights in this hotel. We were really happy with our room. It felt cozy ( but if you like bright rooms then this hotel is not for you).The only problem was that it was a bit cold in the room, but we got to borrow an extra portable radiator and and the problem was fixed. A bit softer madrases wouldn't´t have harmed as well. Breakfast was good and there was something for everyone, but we missed more greens and "real" juice.
We thought that the place and rooms were clean and tidy ( cleaning lady was cleaning the lobby constantly). The staff was friendly and helpful when we needed help with various things. Location was just perfect , everything was so close - from shopping mall to restaurants and coffee shops ( with really cheap pastry's), the movies and museums. We were never bored. We got a really good deal. We enjoyed our stay and do recommend this hotel :).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katjuzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    287
    105
    19
    9
See reviews for
76
348
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My friend and I stayed 3 nights in old town Riga. We wanted a small, independent hotel that is reasonable as well as within walking distance to all of the historic sites and nightlife as we we would not have a car.
This is a tall order to fill. Viesturs filled it perfectly. I think we paid about 90 Euros total including an absoultely full and fantastic breakfast (crepes, eggs, muffins, bacon, sausage, and a smorgasbord of other fresh foods). The room was quiet and faced a cobblestone street that cars don't drive down. We never heard a vehicle or people outside. Charm includes a few exposed old brick walls, antique furniture, and a decor and atmosphere that seem to match the city's mood.
One quirky thing --- the hotel was recently renovated. It's almost like 2 hotels. The new one opened the day we were there. Suddenly, the entrance was a posh looking hip door and glass lobby with modern furniture and a "funky" look, not antique at all. Walk thorugh the door and outside on a little walkway, and you get to the old hotel (Viesturs), with the antiques, historic wall and just 13 rooms.
The old dining area ha sclosed as well as the reception. You have to to go the Royal Old City Boutique Hotel ... but you can still stay in an old-style room (which I recommend), or choose a new one. It was like waking up in a new hotel.
The hotel is 1 block from the royal opera house/ballet. you can see an opera for $20 and up. It's about 10 blocks in any direction from all the historic buildings, sites and easy walking distance to anywhere you want to go. Excellent, excellent. We were very happy. The staff was also very accommodating.
New part of the hotel has free Internet access/computer to use in the lobby.
Bonus: The city bus goes from airport to about 3 blocks from the hotel for about a buck.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The actual name of the hotel is not "viesturs" but "royal old city hotel" We stay there 4 days in christmas time, very nice and clean rooms, good staff and exellent breackfast. The position is very central, good to see all "old Riga". The price is good for the level of the accomodation.... try this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I was in this hotel for nearly a week before we decided to move to another one. I chose the hotel based on the feedback of other travelers but I was completely deceived by it. The rooms are very dark, there is almost no light and they are depressing. On top of it you can hear the noise of the waterclose of other rooms. We moved to another hotel which cost like 20 Euro more per night for two people and we were so happy with the change. Riga is a beatiful city full of design places but this hotel does not match the city standarts. On top of it the recepcionist were cold and arrogant, we had to print a boarding card for our trip back and they sent us to a cybercoffee place!!! The only good thing of the hotel is the location. Internet connection wasnt really working in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadridJota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Excellent, spacious and clean accommodation and good breakfast buffet. Well located in Old Town and on a quiet site street although difficult to find (ensure you have a good map). Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

The hotel has a great location. Only 10 meter to one of the main road, Valnu street and 200 meter to Livu laukums square. The taxi from the airport takes 15 minutes and costs 8 euros to Teatra iela, which lies 20 meter of the hotel. From the hotel you can order a transfer to the airport and it costs 10 euros from door to door. The room is big enough and nice decorated. Very quiet becouse of situation on the backstreet. Only 13 rooms. Good value of money, 65 eur per night including good breakfast. The minibar had a reasonable prices; water 1 LVL, cola 1,20 LVL, big beer 1,50 LVL, wines end spirits 3 LVL. There are a big supermarket and shopping mall within 100 meter on Valnu street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I recently stayed 2 nights at Hotel Viesturs with a friend. The hotel is located in a quiet street within old town. All the major tourist attractions are within short walking distance. The main bus/train station is less than 10 minutes away. A big supermarket and some good restaurants are just around the corner. The hotel is easily reached by a public bus (no 22, only 0.50 LAT) from Riga Aiport. The bus runs every 20 minutes or so and the journey takes about 20 minute. Check out the direction on the hotel website.http://www.hotelviesturs.lv/

Our twin room on the 3rd floor was clean and adequate. Noise from people on the level 4 walking around was disturbing . Mini fridge also ran very loudly.

Beds were comfortable (yes, some people may find them a bit too hard). Bathroom with a bath tub was clean and adequately spaced. Liked the heated towel rail.

All the staff we came across were very friendly, helpful and fluent in English.

Breakfast room was cute. Breakfast included in the rate was average. Usual cold meat, bread, pastries (tasted strange), yogurt, fresh fruit, sausages, & scrambled eggs (cold), cold/hot drinks were on offer buffet style. A kitchen staff also makes pancake, omlette, fried egg and porridge if on order.

Overall, this hotel offers a great location, comfortable room and friendly staff.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Property: Old City Boutique Hotel
Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing