We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The major pros of the hotel:

- Location. In the historical centre of Riga, but not too far away so that you get lost in the maze of the street, or have to drag your suitcases around on the cobbled street. It is also within a 5 second walk from the "Galerija Centrs" shopping centre, which has everything you need - clothes shops, food shops, bank, souveniers - you name it. The hotel does not offer much of a view out of the windows - you'll either face the inner yard, or the small Teatra street, but I personally use hotels for sleep, so I didn't care about the view anyway. In addition, all hotels with a view charge twice the price I paid for my room.

- Contemporary design. I sincerely hate the "classic" hotels, which bore me to death and have the "HOTEL" written all over them. This place was quite welcoming and not at all hotel-y. The rooms might be a bit too dark, but are nevertheless stylish, with sleek lines, well-coordinated color palette and design elements.

- Spotless upkeep and attentive staff. Not a spot of dust was in my room all the time.

- Huge bathtub.

- Food options. So far I can just confirm all the positive things previous reviewers mentioned. In addition to breakfast, hotel offers nice business-lunch options, which are VERY cheap for a restaurant in the middle of Old City - trust me, I have lived and worked in the center of Riga for 1.5 years in the past. I have even recommended this place to some of my ex-colleagues.

Cons:

- No tea/coffee making facilities. So far, this has been the greatest disappointment. Although I'm not that huge a fan of hotel teas, but the simple lack of option to have a cup of tea whenever I want drove me almost insane.

- Lighting. There are bedside lams, floor lamp, work table lamp and the ceiling lamp, but still, they all provide a rather dim and unwelcoming light (you know, the cold energy-saver type). The bathroom definitely deserves a better lighting options, otherwise it looks like a morgue or a horror movie set, and when looking in the mirror, you look tired and like a zombie. I would also love to have a more suitable reading light.

- Noises. Overall, the hotel was rather quiet, but I kept hearing random noises which sounded like water running through the pipes somewhere, mixed with some sort of humming, the aircon was noisy, the elevator signal was very annoying, especially when early morning breakfast exodus has begun. I guess this problem can be solved if you either beat everyone to the breakfast line, or move into room farther from the elevator.

- Single duvets. Again, not a huge deal, but I have spent all my conscious life sleeping under double duvets and sleeping under a single one was a bit odd for me, but I managed to re-adjust to it. Other than that, bedding was superb.

All in all, nothing life-threatening and "Old City" is a great hotel in great location and if I need to come to Riga once again, I will most probably use this hotel as well (and will bring my kettle with me :D ).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackbodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    284
    104
    18
    8
See reviews for
75
343
83
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

A great location in the centre of the old town. Easy walking distance to all the sights. Stayed in a classic room which was quiet, clean and modern. Excellent buffet breakfast and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zharne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have visited the Old City Boutique Hotel on 15th of September after a friend’s recommendation and stayed for 2 nights. I arrived at the hotel around 18:30 and the check in, was a nice surprise. The very polite young lady at the reception when saw my registration form told me that she used to work in a hotel close to my home town. We end up knowing same people. She gave me the key card after kindly explaining the hotel facilities and breakfast venue. She also offered assistance with my luggage. The lobby area is a combination of old brick walls and contemporary design. I liked it. The public areas were always clean and tidy. My room was located at the new block back of the main building. I took the elevator to the 4th floor where my room was. The first impression was that the room was much smaller than I expected. I had not very good view as my window was facing the small back yard, however the room was cozzy and I kind of liked it. The room didn’t remind me of a boutique hotel decoration but it had nice colours. There was a hidden TV in the cupboard with rather few channels and not very good reception. The central heating was on, and the room was warm. The bathroom was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was more than satisfactory with good quality and variety. The second morning the restaurant was quite busy and there was a delay on the refilling of the buffet. However, the staff on the breakfast was very polite and attentive. When I asked the waitress for 2 fried eggs as there was none left at the buffet, she told me that will bring it on the table. And so it happened, the fried eggs arrived with a small delay at the table. The hotel location is the best in Riga. Close to the National Opera, Restaurants, Clubs, Parks and the Freedom Monument, it gives you plenty of choices and everything is walking distance. The staff of the hotel was always attentive and prompt to help. When I asked for a wine opener and two glasses to the room, those arrived quickly and with a smile. Also when I requested to check out at 13:00 the young man at the reception told me that there was no problem to do so. Overall, the hotel is nice and clean, the location is the best, the staff is very friendly and helpful. With such quality service and value for money, I would definitely visit again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location is great, just in the middle of the Old city, close to everything, with a big shopping mall and good supermarket just a stone's throw. The breakfast is opulent. Staff is very helpfull and hospitable with excellent English and Russian. The bar is nice though I didn't eat there, just had a drink.
There is wifi in rooms and public computer in case u need it. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. There are hairdryer and iron in the rooms. Its definitely value for money and undoubtedly I would chose this hotel for my next stay in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in the old part (Viesturs), a couple of days before they would open the new part of the hotel. The location is just great - it is in a small, quiet alley, very central and close to the old city centre of Riga. The other nice parts of the city (the Jugendstil area, the shopping area etc) are also not far away, you can basically do everything by walk. We had a room on the ground floor, but didn't hear any noise from outside, nor from inside. The room itself was quite dark (dark colours and wood), but clean. Beds were completely fine as well. We were there during the winter, so we were really happy with the central heating in the room and bathroom. Breakfast was in a really charming small kitchen, the buffet was not that big, but you can order eggs, delicious pancakes and other dishes. I would go back again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The situation of this hotel is just perfect: it´s almost in the middle of Old Town, but as situated by a narrow street, it´s far away of all the noise and masses of tourists!

Old City Boutique Hotel is very clean, the room and the bed was very nice and the breakfast was very versatile. We asked them to give another mattress to the extra bed (our son is already 16 and the mattress of his bed was too thin) and just after three minutes there was a man from reception and a housekeeper with a bigger extra bed (with two mattresses)! Quite fast action, I say!

Just about 50 meters of the hotel there is a large shopping center (PS. husbands, take care, if your wife is with you: there is at least 20 shoe shops in there... ;) )

Because our flight left at 8 o´clock PM we asked, if it´s possible to have the room till 6 PM and it cost just 30 euros. Just great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PekkaTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

What a great place! We stayed at the Old City Boutique Hotel for two nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Its location is superb, ideally located close to the Opera, the old town, all the sights, shops, restaurants and bars. It's great to leave this stylish and modern hotel and step on the cobbled roads of Riga - it's like walking through a time machine.

The hotel combines old and new, it is built between two old houses (you can still see the brick walls of the neighbouring buildings) but the hotel is very trendy and very modern, with lots of glass and dark marble. The rooms either face the street or the courtyard. Ours faced the courtyard, there's a bar down there and despite our fears it was not loud at all. The courtyard reaches up pretty high and you really gotta lean far out of the window to see the sky, but it was enough to get a feeling for the weather and the temperature.

The room was nice and spacious, modern architecture with a large cupboard, a modern TV set and a safe. The bathroom was rather small, but that's normal for city hotels and it was big enough. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The cleaning staff had the annoying habit of turning down the air conditioning to 16 degrees.

Breakfast is included in the price and it's very tasty with a wide variety of bread, warm dishes, jams and cheeses.

We can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberbob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Property: Old City Boutique Hotel
Address: Teatra iela 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing