We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent breakfast”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay here at the end of May. We had a car and hotels in the old town had quoted 19 euros for parking so we stayed at the Albert, less than a ten minute walk from the old town, which provided undercover parking for 6 euros per day. Our standard room was small, a bit too small but we slept well as it was very quiet both inside and outside. Breakfast was excellent quality and variety wise. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The terrace view was a big surprise - we had a cocktail as the sun was setting. The bar offered different happy hour options. The terrace only opened from 3.00 pm so we didn't get a chance to go up again in the morning. We would choose this hotel again when we visit Riga, a fascinating city.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the busiest stree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy2travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    425
    105
    16
    12
See reviews for
78
249
60
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

A very modern hotel in a very good location, not too far from the river Daugava which is stunning. Came here to take part in the Riga Marathon 2011 and would reccommend this hotel to everyone. The breakfasts were delicious with a good variety and not much hassle. Liked the hotel rooms which were snug and cosy with a good view of the skylines, the restaurant had very comfy chairs along with the main reception area. The taxi service outside was brilliant too able to walk outside and have easy access to your ride. The hotel bar is fantastic, not too loud, relaxing and a great place to chill with friends and have a drink. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sjohnleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel for three nights although did not choose it personally (accompanied my sister who was on a work trip). My first impression of the hotel wasn't great because I had booked a taxi transfer with the hotel for collection from the airport which didn't turn up, apparently because someone on reception had forgotten to book the actual taxi. They did try to rectify this by offering to cover any additional cost over the agreed price if I took a taxi from the rank but still wasn't the best start.

Aside from that it was a great stay. The double room wasn't huge but decorated in a contemporary style with a very clean, modern bathroom. Noise from the road when the window was open was quite loud but the air con worked brilliantly. The restaurant a pleasure to visit and very reasonable for dinner considering that they give you silver service. Our evening meal was very good and I loved the buffet style breakfast, although it is very continental so some may not enjoy the fried potatoes and meatballs so early in the day! Be warned that the "juice" is not real juice but is squash.

Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the Old Town and takes you through a nice park. There's a pharmacy (Brogas) on the way which is like Boots of Superdrug in the UK and you also pass a Costa Coffee and a Double Coffee. Note: Double Coffee may look like a normal coffee shop outside but is table service and serves lots of food and alcohol. Highly recommended!

Meanwhile, the Star Lounge at the hotel is a good place to relax and the cocktails are quite decent. The views over the city are amazing too. The staff everywhere in the hotel are helpful and friendly, and reception provide a free map if you need one. They were even helpful at midnight when we came back from the exellent Cuba Cafe in the Old Town and were hungry as they were happy to order us a huge pizza to take to our room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel especially as it feels like a "proper" hotel although it cost us the equivalent of £40 per night. Very much enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed for three nights with friends and was very impressed. The hotel is modern and the rooms are great. Small downsides might be basic storage (not a problem for a short stay) and the fact that I found the beds a bit narrow. The breakfast was great and it was a short walk to the centre of town. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We chose this hotel because the rates for all the Radisson Blu hotels suddenly jumped up and we didn't want to pay the prices.
The Albert Hotel is a little way out of the old town but it was not a problem for reception to
call for a taxi for us when we didn't feel like walking and the prices were reasonable.
I was worried the hotel would be cold since we were visiting the Baltics but in fact it was very warm and cosy. A little too warm at times!
The rooms were nicer than the pictures on the website and breakfast was hot and plentiful and we always got a table even though there were 20 visiting ice hockey teams staying in the hotel to attend a competition.
The barman Lauris was very attentive in the lobby bar and the Star Lounge with it's 2 for 1 cocktails, lovely staff and views of Riga was delightful.
I was very impressed with the wifi in the lobby that enabled me to print my boarding passes quickly and efficiently and the reception staff were helpful when needed.
We really enjoyed our city break at the Albert Hotel and absolutely loved Riga and its people.
Will return in the future but probably in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

As a lot of people have said, this hotel is modern with a nice restaurant and a nice cocktail bar that had great views of the city. The breakfast had a great selection and items were quickly replaced if they ran low. We also had one evening meal there which was also very nice.

The rooms are not big but have all you need for a short stay, if you were there for a longer stay you might find the wardrobe space a bit small but it was OK for shorter stay, no tea or coffee making facilities so you need to take your own if you want this, there is a small fridge for the mini bar. TV had a few English channels and the bathroom was fine.

There is also free wifi in the hotel that worked very well with decent speed.

The reception staff spoke good English and were always very helpful with directions etc.

Good hotel and if I return to Riga would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manorpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This really is a great place. 15 minutes walk from the old town and it is that - ignore daft comments about half an hour! Nice Tom, great staff and really rather wonderful restaurant for Dinner. Breakfast is amazing - full buffet with everything you can want. Smoked fish, egg, bacon, etc, etc. This hotel is a serious contender in Riga. Just wish they would franchise into other cities!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#13 of 109 in Riga
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#21 of 109 in Riga
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#23 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing