We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My partner and I travelled to Riga On Easter Sunday 2011.
The hotel was excellent, clean friendly staff with a good command of english. It's about 20 mins from the airport-tip there are mini buses that will take you to the Hotel for 1 Euro.
The hotel offers a roof top bar with a balcony for smokers, great views of the city and watching the sun go down. We ate once at the hotel room only, which was lovely, I had a pasta dish my partner a steak. The hotel has quotes on the walls from Mr Einstein which I found quite charming. The walk to the Old Part of Riga was only 15 minutes, a tangle of streets interwoven around churches.
The City itself was very, very clean. Great cafes and bars along with fantastic archtecture. The weather was really hot mid April warmer than Britain.
We had a guided walking tour with a friendly young woman-meet at the front of St Stephens Cathedral, the tour was great and payment through donations. Look for a Green Suitcase to spot the guide at noon.
The people are friendly and I felt very safe.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandinka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    410
    98
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
240
57
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, kent
Level Contributor
408 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Very impressed with this hotel. It was very big but we found it to be very quiet. The receptionists did not smile much but were efficient. We ate here two nights and were surprised by the quality of the ingredients and their execution - recommend the baltic cod. Service was excellent. Breakfasts were manic because of the number of guests but the staff did a good job of replacing 'empties' and there was an excellent range of different foods - eggs, bacon, meatballs, cereals, chicken salad, fruit, breads, cakes etc etc. Would definately go back. Only downside - 15 mins walk from the old town

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcovanbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I booked this hotel because it was reasonably priced. The hotel has comfortable rooms, not very large or sophisticated but not bad. The location is not perfect, a little out of Old Riga, but still in the city center and a short walk from everything there is to see. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere with a lower price, but still reasonable quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
291 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Nothing in particular, either good or bad, stood out for me during my four nights at the Albert Hotel. The location is pretty average—it is a 10-minute walk to Old Town. The rooms are pretty average. Housekeeping is very average—I stumbled over the maids pretty regularly (or perhaps it was the other way around). The breakfasts were a little less than average, but for the Baltics they were okay. The Internet was frequently out although the problem never lasted for more than an hour—average for a lot of parts of the world. And the price: Pretty average for what was included. In short, there wasn’t anything really wrong with the Albert, but it wasn’t very special either.

I do need to add a paragraph about Riga. I travel a lot and have been all over the world. I have never found a city with residents that I would describe as being so crabby. A friend of mine lived in Latvia for a while and told me, “No, the Latvians aren’t crabby. They just have had a tough time getting on the right track after years of Soviet domination.” I accept the history, but not the premise. I found (with only two exceptions) that the interchanges I had with the locals were cold and frequently difficult. I’ve never said that about a city before. The same was true of every single person working at the Albert Hotel. And it is worth knowing that this is a very expensive place—expensive like London or Abu Dhabi. Ditto for the hotel (e.g., $15 to launder a pair of jeans). I came here because it was on the way to Tallinn and I had a few extra days. I wish I had just skipped Riga.

Room Tip: Take the shuttle bus from the airport. It is one euro. A taxi will cost you 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My second stay for a month in two years at this fabulous hotel in Riga..Everything you could wish for with friendly helpful staff,service is fantastic,breakfast and meals .........the best.Very affordable .Cleanliness of the rooms which is most important to me is always done to perfection.The views over Riga are amazing and proximity to the Old Town is very good.Will stay again next year.

Room Tip: At the front with a view over Riga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illzite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel looks not like a palace and the rooma are not big. But you will find everything you can need everyday. And the room will be cleaned every day so that you'll not notice when. And you will surely enjoy the breakfast - a big choice and fine taste of everything - I liked the meat balls with salad and great cottage cheese with sour cream and jam and dry fruit and then - tea with lemon and something sweet and then fresh fruit... On the 11-th floor there is a special place with a bar and great view of the city. The staff was very hospitable and professional. The hotel is named not only after the founder of Riga but also after Albert Einshtein and you can read his jokes, aphorisms and wise prases everywhere - from the walls to the tea-bags. We enjoyed that.

We

Room Tip: We had a standart double
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromacastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Albert Hotel in Riga for 6 days in June, during a work-related trip.

Even if it's situated on a relatively quiet street, the hotel is big, modern and busy. Clean, comfortable rooms and generally very good service contribute to a very pleasant stay. The hotel's theme is inspired by Albert Einstein so there are a lot of Einstein-related decor details.

We were a large group of people, so check-in naturally took quite a while, but there are several employees working at reception at the same time so you will surely get help faster. As far as I could hear, they also spoke good English.

There are three elevators right next to reception so it's usually easy to get to the rooms, but sometimes we got "stuck in traffic" as the elevator would have to go up and down if there were many people inside it going to different floors.

The room keys are cards which are also used to switch electricity on and off. Some of our group had lost their cards but were given new ones at reception, free of charge.

I often read that people tend to dislike hotel carpets but the carpets at Albert are clean and fresh. So are the sheets, pillows, towels and curtains. I shared a double room on the 6th floor with a colleague. The room might not seem big enough for those who prefer a lot of space, but for the two of us, our luggage and a big accordion it was fair enough and we didn't find it difficult to move around at all.

Those who get rooms on higher floors will enjoy a very nice view of Riga.

The hotel breakfast was simply delicious, perfect to start the day with. There are different kinds of bread, cheese, salamis, cereal, pastries, tea and coffee, milk, juices, eggs etc and the service is pretty much impeccable.

There is the Star Lounge Bar on the upper floor of the hotel and a conference room.

Most of Riga's main attractions are within walking distance, since the city is not very big and the hotel is also close to a big shopping mall, restaurants and shops. There is a small shop right across the street and an ATM machine two or three blocks away.

The only problem we encountered was that we didn't have Internet access for two days, but I don't believe it was the hotel's fault and the problem was solved relatively fast.

I didn't pay for the stay myself but I have been checking rates and they are very good. Great value for the money and I am seriously considering taking a leisure trip to Riga and staying at the Albert Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing