We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, clean, polite, good location.”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here last year (2012) and wasn't expecting a lot as a twin room was surprisingly cheap. Pleasantly surprised... The room was clean, spacious, had all the usual amenities, TV, fridge, free wifi. Good size and clean bathroom. Only a 7-8 minute walk into old town Riga. The service was good, both at reception and the bar/ restaurant. Didn't eat here other than the included breakfast which was superb. I like to eat a big breakfast to set me up for the day... I was spoilt for choice, cereal, fruit, cooked food, cheese, meat etc. the only comment I would make is that some of the cooked food was not VERY hot, but that's expected as its a large buffet style and freshly cooked items were brought out regularly. Very good experience, the bar on the top floor was also very nice, decent prices, excellent view. I am booked to stay there this year, which to be honest is the best recommendation I can give..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu7C9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Albert Einstein themed hotel, thus the name Albert, is a comfortable hotel just outside the main historic part of Riga. Walking distance within the historic part, 10 minutes away, the hotel is quite an impressive block. Rooms are sized well and include complimentary coffee and tea facilities. Breakfast is good and a nice breakfast area. The hotel also has a Sky Lounge located at the top floor with a good view of the city. The bar is quite a hip place in town with many locals coming in for an evening weekend.

During my stay hotel was chosen, and partly paid for by the meeting organisers (Riga 2014, European Capital of Culture), so I did not choose myself to stay there. However, I must say it was a positive experience and would recommend. I paid for one night of the total three nights and the price paid was good value for the service offered. Was I to choose it for a personal holiday, would probably prefer something even more central, but then the most central hotel you get is a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nokkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Good location outside but near city centre, close to the art nouveau area. Rooms pretty small but comfortable, not luxury but well equipped, good sleeping quality. In the bathrooms: Hairdryer should be changed, towels should have hooks.

Service at front desk and top level bar (nice views) is friendly and efficient. Breakfast basic with small selection, not interesting but OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertHotel1, Front Office Manager at Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Eagle_dk,

Thank you for taking time and effort to share your feedback following your stay here at Albert Hotel. I am delighted to hear you were pleased with our rooms, sleep quality as well location. Your comments towards our service and Team are especially rewarding and motivating.
Rest assured we will apply your suggestions relating to hair dryers and towels in order to improve our rooms and service.

I look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Hotel.

Maris Alnis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for a week in the Albert Hotel in february 2013 whilst visiting Riga for the Ice Hockey.

The hotel is very modern and located less than a 10 minute walk from the Old Town.

The food from the reception bar was great, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. In the evenings, after eating in the restaurant, the reception bar is a nice place to chill out. Once this closes there is a bar on the 11th floor (Top floor of the hotel) that looks out across the city of Riga. An outdoor balcony offers great views and a place to cool down and socialise.

There is a DJ in the 11th floor bar on a Friday and Saturday, but the music is more background music as opposed to a full on club.

Rooms are modern, with TV's and free Wi-Fi. Around the hotel, and in the lifts are quotes from Albert Einstein, after whom the hotel is named.

Next time i'm in Riga, this would definitely be one of the Hotels i'd look to book into.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, and you don't hear any noise from the street. The higher the better at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertHotel1, Front Office Manager at Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear IanOffers,

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of Albert Hotel.
It is such a pleasure to hear you chose to stay with us during the ice-hockey tournament and that you were happy with your stay. I am delighted to hear you were impressed with the Star lounge Bar and entertainment provided.

I do look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Hotel.
Maris Alnis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We paid about fifty pounds per night and this included breakfast. Rooms are of a standard size and are cleaned daily. There is a mini bar in the room which is well priced and irons and boards available on request. Room was very hot and we couldn't seem to alter with the air com system but the windows do open. Two single beds pushed together. Wifi was excellent and more importantly free! Breakfast was of a good standard, they coupled continental with cooked. Toaster needs to be replaced, takes forever and only does one side! Staff are professional and the sky bar was a very pretty place to have a drink at night. Would stay here again if I travelled to Riga.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed in a number of hotels in Riga, mostly in old town, and was always satisfied with the quality and price range. When I was booked in Albert this time, I expected the same level and was not deceived. Albert offers excellent service, perfect location close to most businesses and government offices with walking distance to the attractions of the old city. The bar on top floor is also pretty cozy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street, it may be quite noisy. Also the rooms are not same in shape, some off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahuseyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for work. It has a bar in the lobby and lounge on the top floor. Room was small but clean. Front desk was helpful. Restaurant was not very good with very small menu and very slow service. The hotel is a ten minute walk to old town and there were many nice restaurants nearby. I would probably stay there again but skip its restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 112 in Riga
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#7 of 112 in Riga
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 112 in Riga
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £57 - £1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing