We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, decent location, good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel, decent location, good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Location involves some walking (or navigating the trolly bus network) but it's not a hardship. Quite a lot of restaurants nearby (more so than the last time I stayed there some 2-3 years ago).

The only reportable bad experience was the nerve-wracking Air Baltic bus trip to the airport which took way longer than the staff told me - due to traffic it must be said, but they never warned us how long it might take. Luckily we took an earlier than needed bus and made it in time. From the airport it was quick and easy: the elapsed time from wheels down to arriving at the hotel (drop off right at the door) was less than it takes to walk from the airplane to the baggage collection in Heathrow!

The breakfast is quite a large buffet selection. If I hadn't spent some years in Finland I would have said very large selection, as it's much better than hotels in the UK, Ireland, Estonia and other non-Scandinavian countries.

The room was adequate and quite ok for the price we paid, although we'd have like some more storage space; there were no drawers at all and only 4 or 5 hangers in the wardrobe section.

The roof-top bar was so good and the restaurants nearby so plentiful that we didn't see the need to go into the over-rated Old Town part of Riga at all (this wasn't my first time in Riga though).

I've tried other hotels in Riga, but I'll be returning to this one again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    409
    98
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
240
57
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Decent Hotel, Location ok, near to many Embassy's about 10-15 minute walk to city centre. Super panoramic views from the top floor Bar. Staff were ok, we only interacted at check in/out. Breakfast is repetative, and i recomend you get there earlish, as it seemed many business types stay here, and it gets busy. Also recomend using the air baltic shuttle service to/from the airport. You dont have to fly with them to use it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreetFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed at the Albert twice, both times for business. It is a good hotel in a pretty good location. I do wish wifi had been available in the room, but it is available in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noostie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I guess it depends where you are staying in the hotel but by selecting executive room and having it on floor 10, the view to the city is amazing. Try also drinks in the bar on the top floor.
Rooms are simple but modern.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buda-ha-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at the Albert for 5 nights. Nice room, friendly staff. The breakfast however way exactly the same every day which I found was quite poor. I asked for an omlette one day but was referred back to the choice of the overcooked scrambled eggs on the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel some 20+ times, the location is nice and skybar views are truly great. Rooms are modern and rather small, but more than enough for this price level. It is just 10 minutes walk from old town and close to all shopping streets.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up in the floors or the courtyard side. Lower floor rooms facing the Dzirna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceTropez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Front Office Manager at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear IceTropez,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback after your most recent stay here at Albert Hotel. I was delighted to hear you have stayed with us over 20 times and that you are happy with our services and location.

Thank you for your loyalty . I am looking forward welcoming you again to Albert Hotel and meeting you in person.

Maris Alnis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here last year (2012) and wasn't expecting a lot as a twin room was surprisingly cheap. Pleasantly surprised... The room was clean, spacious, had all the usual amenities, TV, fridge, free wifi. Good size and clean bathroom. Only a 7-8 minute walk into old town Riga. The service was good, both at reception and the bar/ restaurant. Didn't eat here other than the included breakfast which was superb. I like to eat a big breakfast to set me up for the day... I was spoilt for choice, cereal, fruit, cooked food, cheese, meat etc. the only comment I would make is that some of the cooked food was not VERY hot, but that's expected as its a large buffet style and freshly cooked items were brought out regularly. Very good experience, the bar on the top floor was also very nice, decent prices, excellent view. I am booked to stay there this year, which to be honest is the best recommendation I can give..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu7C9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing