We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from sky lounge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
melboutne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from sky lounge”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, check in was smooth, room was small 2 single beds , we moved them together to get what we wanted a double, and that was a good idea as it gave us extra room. Room had air con which worked fine. A mini fridge. Desk and chair. Free wifi which also worked well in the room.
Luggage storage in room was a waste as neither the big or the small suitcase fitted in it.
Bathroom was ok with just soap dispensers in shower as well. 2 nd day they did not give us any spare toilet paper so we ran out & had to go get some.
Buffet breakfast was good, although they didn't refill the empty foods & there was still 2 hours left on breakky service. Orange juice was powdered mixed in water. Coffees were machines, so easy enough to just press buttons.
The 11 th floor had a beautiful bar, whith the most amazing views over Riga , you were able to chill & relax with a hot or cold drink & watch the great sunset.
The area was great 5 minute walk to shopping centre which is on same road as hotel, turn left when you walk out of hotel. Casino also up the road. Old town about 10 min walk. Beautiful town, lake, parks, shopping, cafes, restaurant, money exchange. Absolutely loved Riga Latvia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertHotel1, Front Office Manager at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear foreveritalian,

Thank you for your lovely review of Albert Hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here,however I am sorry to hear you were not entirely happy with breakfast and housekeeping service, I would like to offer you my apologies. I have passed your comments on to relevant managers to look into the matter.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Albert Hotel in the near future.

Maris Alnis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    409
    97
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
240
57
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a modern hotel, with chic decor and many witty references to Albert Einstein.Our eyes were immediately drawn to the "Who tall are you?" activity near the lifts.....where we could compare our heights to those of celebrities!
Rooms were clean, and aircon effective.The space designated for placing a suitcase was not large enough to accommodate either of ours, however.
The breakfast was good, despite the lack of freshly chopped fruit.
The cocktail bar on the roof has excellent views of the city, but charges London prices for drinks!
Just a 25 minute walk to the city centre, this hotel is a good base from which to explore Riga.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinehall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Good hotel in a good location - about a 10-minute walk to Riga's old city and just a little farther down to the port area. The bar and restaurant are very reasonable and just outside the hotel doors are plenty of other bars and good restaurants. There is a nice park within a 5-minute walk of the hotel as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are reasonable - not large - but quite functional. One strange drawback: very little shelf space for clothes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Clean hotel with comfortable beds. Room is small, no closet - just rails for hanging clothes, spotlessly clean shower, good breakfast selection although we got bored after 3 days for the same options. Location is ok, not right smack in the city centre. The sky lounge is a must go - beautiful view and a great place to hang out. I can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed 1 night during July 2013 , for a 3 star hotel it's an amazing hotel the people comments about this hotel was right , it worth a 4 star hotel , I was a bit sad I asked for a bathub and when I entered my room I got a bathroom with a quite big shower , I was there at the 10th floor , I checked the other rooms and saw only bathtub with I feel bigger bathrooms , I directly complained about it ( I asked it in the request when booking..) they gave me directly what I wanted and changed my room. the location is great , not far away from the old city , the bedroom is quite big
I really enjoyed the hotel , it was clean ,

Room Tip: if you want a bathtub don't go to the 10th floor , I feel the bathrooms are bigger in the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently stayed in a room on the 9th floor for a week. It was amazing! The view was wonderful. The curtains kept the late night sun out so we could sleep. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. The bacon is the best I've ever eaten and I loved the grilled tomatoes. There was a wide variety of breakfast dishes. I tried everything. We ate in the restaurant for several dinners. It was always excellent. Our favorites were the mushroom stuffed pork and the salmon. And I almost forgot dessert - you have to try the special albert chocolate cake. We walked to everything from this location. The central market was a bit of a trek but doable. We did old town, the art nouveau buildings, grocery stores, shopping malls, cafes nearby, the post office etc. We never had a problem and the receptionists were extremely helpful and kind. There were alot of people in the building and the staff never complained or lost their patience. The management as well was very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. We would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our experience ast the Albert Hotel mirrors what has been said previously. The rooms are typical European small but very clean and well maintained. The staff are great - very responsive, with great language skills. The breakfast is generous, given the price of the rooms and the restaurant was also very good with excellent service. Overall, this property offers excellent value for the money. It's an easy walk to Old Riga and is also in what appears to be an up-and-coming area, with a number of good restaurants and easy walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing