We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money for both business and leisure...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money for both business and leisure...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was there in Jan 2014. Freezing cold outside at this time of the year, so better avoid visiting Riga in the winter, unless absolute must. Joking aside...

The Albert hotel is a real value for money. Does not look exciting from outside (I suspect, this is a building remembering old Soviet times but pretty well refurbished since then). Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Definitely more then, what I was expecting for the money.
I was there on business and needed Wi-Fi connection during my stay for 2 nights. It was free and really worked (not the case everywhere). Emails, conference calls, webinars run smoothly through it.

The breakfast could definitely be improved but - again - for the price can't complain too much. I suggest the hotel limiting number of choices at the same time improving quality of the served food and drinks.

The reception staff was very polite, professional and helpful, when needed.

The location is slightly outside of the centre but definitely within walking distance of the old town and other main attractions - I tried and survived the temperature (ca. -15 deg. C). Also, easy to reach from the airport - within 30 min. by car or taxi.

Overall, a good choice for business and leisure, when slightly tight on budget.

PS. By the way - Riga seems to be a very nice city - will definitely visit to see more of it (when it gets a bit warmer:-).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahogany1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    409
    98
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
240
57
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our team stayed one week for business training here. The hotel is rather well situated in Riga. Only 10-15 minute walk to "down town". The room was nice, clean and warm. Plenty of hot water. Good breakfast so this is a good choice in Riga and worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember050720151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Surprisingly this was one of the best hotels I've been to in Riga. We were given a room on the 9th floor with a great view of the city of Riga. As we were staying in the hotel in the New Year's eve it was a great place to watch the fireworks from without even going outside.
The room was being cleaned every day - there were always fresh towels and clean sheets. The only thing I could complain about is that it was quite cold in the room and there was no way to turn on the temperature ( A/C was not properly working).
I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its great location - its located at the heart of the Silent Center of Riga with the possibility to access public transport at all times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel this, really top of the range. The staff are all very friendly and what topped it off for me was the Sky Bar on the top floor. A bar with an outside setting showing you the views of Riga in all it's glory.

Well recommend to anyone looking for a getaway to this city.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very helpful staff, nice rooms, nothing special in the rooms, but everything you would want. Restaurant was excellent. The breakfast buffet had a lot of varieties to choose from. Nice view from the top floors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigneBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel Albert (as in Albert Einstein) is located just off the central park and within easy walking distance of the Old Town area. The multi-lingual staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is more than adequate and serves quite a variety of items on the breakfast buffet. The rooms are clean and neat, but of a modest size typical of the area. Unlike some hotels in the area, the Albert is airconditioned. There are many restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel, as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed 1 night for business, the hotel is well situated in the art nouveau area of Riga. you can enjoy a good view from the lounge bar, the room was nice and comfortable.
Friendly staff at the reception, good breakfast, so a good choice in Riga.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalilouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#25 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#24 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing