We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'm giving this a 5 purely for the service - I was that impressed (otherwise it would be a four). Every question and every request was handled beautifully. For example, I was staying 4 nights and wanted to extend one night - and I knew the hotel was full. The front desk tried but there were literally no rooms on that final night. The front desk manager said she would find a way. It took a couple of days, but she found a solution.

The front desk really provides excellent customer service and seeks to understand what you really want so they can provide detailed answers. For example, it was raining quite a bit in Latvia while I was there. The front desk reviewed several weather websites and recommended the best days to do outdoor activities, when to take an excursion, and even what times were most at risk for rain. It was comprehensive and helpful - and definitely enhanced the quality of my trip. Throughout the stay, the front desk provided numerous recommendations - all were excellent. Even the bar staff at the roof lounge were excellent.

I agree with pros and cons of other reviewers - very good breakfast, great location, great roof bar. Rooms are fine - with the noted opportunities for a shower curtain, shelf for clothes, etc. Air condition worked really well. Good wifi coverage although not the fastest.

Plus I loved the whimsical elements like the clocks behind reception, quotes in the elevator, art on the floors.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    405
    96
    13
    12
See reviews for
67
238
56
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Never Understood, why do everyone write TripAdvisor reviews. Albert Hotel changed my mind. Excellent Hotel location, just 10 min walking distance from the old town.
Friendliest stuff I ever seen, great service. No matter what(as it is summer season, busy every time), staff will help you with all the questions keeping smile on their faces.
Tasty breakfast, lot of options. Rooms bit cozy, but its scrap, if they have everything else.

Room Tip: Star Lounge bar at 11 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaanoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Director of Sales at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JaanoL,

Thank you for your recent stay at Albert hotel. We are happy that you liked and enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure to pass on your comments to the staff who worked on that day!
I do truly hope we will see you soon at Albert hotel.

Have a great day,

Gints Martinsons
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liepaja, Latvia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a nice hotel with amazing breakfast. It was clean and comfortable. We had an extra bed in our room for our daughter and it made the space smaller but it was still spacious. The only thing which bothered us was the shower. there was not curtains so it made the floor we t after showering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Inese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Director of Sales at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Inese R,

Thank you for staying in Albert hotel and Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Once again Thank you for kind comments and we hope to see you soon in Albert hotel!

Yours Truly,

Gints Martinsons
Director of Sales
Albert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a nice hotel. Great foyer and dining areas. Warm welcome and easy check in. Rooms are well furnished with a tasteful decor, but the room we had was a bit small, nice but small. Great wifi cover! Love that. Rooftop bar and lounge are fabulous!!! Really cool.
Breakfast, fabulous! Staff are great and location is excellent. Really good hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Great hotel so book! Highly recommended. And just around the corner is the Flying Frog restaurant wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Director of Sales at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jim H,

Thank you for staying in Albert hotel and Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor!
We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay, I will for sure share the comments to my colleges.

Once again Thank you for kind comments and we hope to see you soon in Albert hotel!

Yours Truly,

Gints Martinsons
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is everything you could wish for.Fabulous breakfast,very clean rooms,safe,and only a few minutes walk to Old Riga.Centred in the Art Nouveau area of riga and has a very nice Star Lounge with great views over the city.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illzite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here during the World Choir Games and found it made no difference to the service of the staff, even though the hotel must have been full and was very busy. Anytime we needed to ask a member of staff anything they were very helpful and courteous. We found breakfast to be no problem, there was always plenty of dishes available and a good choice to be had. The only downside we found was the limited choice of meals in the evening. We saw a menu list in the lift and thought as it was so small it must just be a sample of the dishes they served. Unfortunately when we went in to eat we were disappointed to find that was all the choice they had and we did not enjoy what we ordered. There are quite a few restaurants in the area which were okay, but after walking around all day it is nice sometimes to just relax in the hotel and eat a nice meal. The bar on the 11th floor does make up for it a bit with its lovely views and also the Happy Hour!!
Overall I would recommend the hotel and it is a lovely walk through the parks to the old town. If you are travelling by air, get the Airport Express, it is only 5 euros and stops right outside the Hotel.

Room Tip: You can get a bigger room if you pay a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanP614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Director of Sales at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JanP614,

Thank you for staying at Albert Hotel! We are most happy that you have enjoyed your stay with Albert hotel!

Thank you for taking time and effort sharing great comment as well as recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor!

We are sorry to hear that menu choice was not what you have expected, we have taken this into the account and we have spoken with our Head Chef and have agreed that changes will be made. We expect the menu with more items to choose from to be available the latest in September.

We look forward to welcoming you again, just let me know about your next trip to Riga!

Best Regards,

Gints Martinsons
Director of Sales
Albert hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here some years ago, and once again last week.
Location is some 10-15 minutes walking from the old town, in the Embassies district, with several good restaurants near-by.
Actually, due to Choir Olympics, almost all hotels in town were sold out, so not much to choose.
Albert Hotel seemed to be a good solution, about 25% less expensive than other hotels (Maritim, Islande), so I gave it a try.
Not really lucky.
Rooms are quite small, and basic is not really describing what is what. Just to give an idea, I had to lean my shirts on a bedside table, as no drawers were available in the room!
Wi-fi not super-high speed, air conditioning quite noisy.
Breakfast, on the other side, was really good in quality; unfortunately, being the hotel totally booked for the festival, most of the times things were missing, and you had to wait some minutes.
In general, not quite good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu_pavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Hotel A, Director of Sales at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Manu_pavia,

Thank you for your recent review in TripAdvisor about Albert Hotel.

Please accept our apologies that we have not met your expectations and your stay with Albert Hotel was not what you expected.

We will follow up on the issues you mentioned such as faster Wi-Fi and make sure that breakfast items are filled up faster to make our guests’ stays better.

To make things right, please, let me know when you are planning to come to Riga again and if you do decide to stay at Albert Hotel, I will personally meet you and tell you about the improvements we have done.

Best Regards,

Gints Martinsons
Albert Hotel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#18 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.8 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing