We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at Albert Hotel during our Riga weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Not forgetting this is classified as 3* hotel but it's more like 4* Friendly staff, comfortable though small rooms, brilliant bar on 11th floor with super views of the city.
The other good things that made our stay enjoyable was the free wi-fi at the hotel and that the hotel being in Riga's UNESCO listed Art Nouveau district in Jurgend style. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel's restaurant was pretty good too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellimli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    425
    105
    16
    12
See reviews for
78
249
60
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Nicely themed hotel!
Rooms are small, but quite nice. The view of the city was lovely. We got great service, enjoyed the breakfast and thought the price was really good.
Location is also good, quiet but not far from the action. Good restaurants nearby.
Airport shuttle service was handy. Free Internet was really fast and a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed in Albert hotel during our weekednd in Riga. The hotel is a bit off centre but you can easily walk to the city centre so no problems, Hotel itself was really new and clean, all the staff very helpfull , excellent bar on the rooftop with happy hour that made us wonder how they can make any profit from it , Breakfast buffet 1st class with huge selection of any breakfast food you can imagine.Free wireless Internet as well.We had a great stay - Well done hotel Albert!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The hotel is good, but actually creates kind of mixed impressions.. sometimes that's 3 star, sometimes pretending on 4 stars. Which makes the whole experience inconsistent. The key probably is always to remember that this is just a 3 star hotel and shall be rated exactly from that that view - then its really good. On the one hand - location and ambience is great (I know what was in past in this building and very much appreciated the science connection in interior), free wifi and parking near by (a true extra in such a center), quality interior, 3 fast elevators and nice terace on top. Rooms are small, again, this just a 3 star - however a superb feature of heated floor in bathroom - a rare one even for more upscale hotels. Beds are small too, but comfortable. The room mostly lacks storage space for your belongings, that's quite obvious. Good for one person in twin, but can't imagine 2 persons there.. Small TV, minibar is well stocked. Surprised by outdated type of hairdryer, something you can get now in old US motels. But Ok, all at all rooms & services are fine.
Rather biggest disappointmnet comes from Bestsellers restaraunt and breakfast. The restaraunt on dinner is heavily overpriced (by Latvian standards) and food is not impressive (names in menu sounds better than taste) - there are much better in near by area. The breakfast is sumptions and good selection of food (especially for 3 star) - but coffee and orange juice are just terrible! Artificial taste and look, really disliked. Switched to tea and apple juice instead which had a taste at least. Finally, just skiped breakfast at all (3 out of 5 mornings..).
Summary - good choise, especially for such price (approx. 45eur with all the extras above). Still much better that Domina Inn or Europa City (both stayed), but Reval Elizabete sets unbeatable level for price/value so far in Riga - my personal experience. Would recommend for hotel to keep clear either they are 3 stars or pretend to 4 and run respective adjustments.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This was around my fourth stay at the Albert, this time for two nights. The food is excellent, well presented and reasonably priced too. The tables and chairs however are rather uncomfortable. The wifi in the room worked first time. The fridges / minibar in the room are no longer stocked with anything and are turned off. When I asked why, I was pointed towards a vending machine in the lobby area with no explanation. I guess people were leaving without paying for the drinks??
My one real complaint was the lack of hot water in the shower. A cold shower on day one didn't exactly start me off in a good mood. I told reception who promised to fix it during the day. I remembered to check it just before bedtime.......still cold. I was offered another room but as it was late and I was leaving early the next day I declined the hassle. Another cold shower the next morning, perhaps with a hint of warmth if I was optimistic, and I left. There is a huge hotel choice in Riga and I think I might try the Albert's competition next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Had a very nice stay.
Room was nice, TV-channels nothing to brag about, but I guess you won't go to Riga just to look at the TV... I didn't get the WIFI to work on my laptop, but I got a cable from the frontdesk and everything was fine
Bar on top floor was very nice, the view amazing.
The staff was very helpful and polite.
Breakfast was good, not amazing but very good.
The taxis outside the hotel was the red ones (this is the ones you want to use in Riga).
On the other side of the street was Riga's blues bar. Live show (with a stiff cover charge) in the weekend. Also serves a excellent steak :p. When I was there at a weekday they had a icehockey game on bigscreen
Hairdresser on the corner (personally aproved ;-) )
Italian resteurant around the corner with very tasty food.
10-15 mins walk to city center (Old Town), you can chose to walk all the way through parks. Quiet neighbourhood (most embassys are in the neighbourhood).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The hotel was amazing. Astonishing design, clean and friendly. Exelent restaurant. We had a fantastic stay at the hotel, and while travelling in Latvia this hotel was the absolute best.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruckner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#13 of 109 in Riga
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
PK Riga Hotel
PK Riga Hotel
#21 of 109 in Riga
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 109 in Riga
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.8 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Dzirnavu iela 33, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riga
#23 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Hotel totally renovated in 2006 and situated in a quiet center of Riga in the exclusive zone of Art Nouveau architecture. Albert Hotel is located in the heart of Riga's Commercial center within easy walking distance to nearby embassies, headquarters of major banks, companies, state ministries, major exhibition centers, sport halls as well as old town. Albert Hotel has 246 modern and cozy rooms divided into three categories - Standard, Superior and Executive. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, television with cable channels, telephone, free high speed WI-FI Internet, hairdryer, radio and a minibar. To make our guests feel comfortable we kindly offer following additional services -lobby bar, laundry and wake-up services, safe-deposit at the reception desk and much more. On the 11th floor of Albert Hotel you will find a lounge bar with a terrace. There is an impressive view of Riga city center - neighboring examples of Art Nouveau and spacious parks. StarLounge bar of Albert Hotel will be the right meeting place before leaving to enjoy the night - life of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Riga
Hotel Albert Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing