We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet area in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guesthouse Jakob Lenz
Ranked #8 of 68 Riga B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet area in the city”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for one night at the end of July in room 210. Location was spot on, based on a quiet side street, not far from the city enter and old town. Room had enough space for my needs. WIFI worked perfectly and the internet speed was great. Included breakfast was a bonus for the price. The guy on reception was really helpful and even printed my flight ticket for me. Very pleased with the stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucheng-AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
19
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Guesthouse Jakob Lenz is right in the heart of the Art Nouveau District. The hotel is clean and the staff is welcoming and helpful. Additionally, you are an easy walk through parks to Old Town Riga. Parking is available as well. Definitely worth the look if staying on a budget while near the heart is things if important

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here three times and enjoyed each one. All the rooms were very very clean and the bathrooms were kept well also. The front staff were helpful and knowledgeable. It is located about a 10-15 min walk from the new city and about 20-30 minutes from the old town. There is a large grocery story 5 minutes away as well as a great bike shop which we used and it you can bike through the parks into town in about 10 minutes. It is a bit further from the city but the walk is nice by the parks and its nice to be in a quiet part of the city. The walls are a bit thin, but bring ear plugs like any smart traveler and you will be fine.

The wifi worked well everywhere.

The breakfast was from 7-11 and contained cereal, three types of bread/toast, eggs, sausage, cheese and meat slices, yogurt, tea,coffee, and juice. There was always plenty and it was good.

The only reason for the 4/5 instead of perfect is that at the beginning of our stay we were offered a deal but i guess this staff was not allowed to offer so the day we left we had to pay more. The manager still gave us a discount for the miscommunication so that was nice. If you are offered something make sure you get a clear receipt.


Please note if you have difficulty with stairs there are 5 or 6 levels of rooms and no elevator.

Room Tip: We had a room with a separate bathroom and that was fine. There were a couple bathroom and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great budget Guesthouse in a slightly delapidated (but by no means seedy) residential district on the northern fringe of the art-nouveau district of Riga. About 25-30 minutes walk from bus or train station, but the walk itself (either through the Kronvalda Parks or the art nouveau district itself) is very attractive. Rooms were cosy, clean and quiet - our twin with en suite shower room was €30/night including a perfectly serviceable buffet breakfast. Breakfast normally 8-11 on weekdays but they kindly agreed to an earlier start for us. The Rïgas Jügenstila Muzejs (Art Nouveau Centre) is just round the corner at 12 Alberta iela and is well worth a visit, and there is a string of hip cafes and restaurants south east along Lâčplëša iela. Nice place - would happily stay in again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stevekinderfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this place for 2 nights in summer.The location is alright, walking distance to the old town. After the whole day of walking you might be a little hesitant to walk back tho. It has a safe carpark in the court yards. The room was good size but not in the best condition. The courtain had come undone and was hanging down on one end, The wallpaper had started peeling back in a few places. The bathroom had been renovated but still in the corners where water got traped, mould had started to appear. The room and bathroom were tidy but not clean. The breakfast was a buffet and it was enough but nothing special, it was very basic. All in all it was an alright place to stay but for what you got there it was definatly overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We loved this place, dont be put off by its location down a shabby side street.A fine old building with stone floors and an iron spiral staircase-full of atmosphere, large airy rooms and an excellent breakfast plus good service.It is situated right next to the spectacular Art Noveau district of Riga.The only downside is that any not very fit guests might have a problem with all the stairs-dont think there are any lifts.Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherpaMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The price is realy good for riga. As mentioned bellow, breakfast is delicios. You got everything you need. Rooms are not so big, but with a good furniture. So it is a very good oplace to styay in Riga. The only issue is that it is located outside the city center. So youi will have to walk, and plan you time if you're going to catch a train or bus,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#54 of 109 in Riga
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#14 of 109 in Riga
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 109 in Riga
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#32 of 109 in Riga
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Laine
Art Hotel Laine
#1 of 68 in Riga
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Jakob Lenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Jakob Lenz

Property: Guesthouse Jakob Lenz
Address: Lencu iela 2, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Jakob Lenz 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Jakob Lenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing