We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you don't mind walking/climbing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Jakob Lenz
Ranked #9 of 68 Riga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2011

As some other reviewers have pointed out, the area around the house is less than inspiring - I honestly wondered where the taxi driver was taking me...and have to admit I didn't feel particularly safe late at night on the streets around. There are graffitied walls, buildings which are padlocked just along the street.

It takes a good 15-20 minutes to walk into the old town although it is a nice walk through the art nouveau area.

Room was at the back of the building, view of semi derelict buildings behind. Curtains didn't cover the whole window, dingy lighting, unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom, one tiny radiator for heating (minus 15 or lower outside!), furniture looked dated, grubby and scuffed....basically it looks very old and in need of a little tlc. The four flights of stairs up to the room with bags were hard going but manageable.

Breakfast was in a tiny room (given they have 25 rooms I have no idea what happens if several people come in together!), a small collection of cheese, sausage, meat, breads, cereals.

All in all, the price is not high, but I feel sure that for not an awful lot more you could get somewhere closer to the action and more pleasant to stay in.

This said, on my arrival the lady at reception was very pleasant and walked up the stairs when the lock on my room door jammed (before I even got in!)

Its a shame as my guide spoke of 'charming' rooms....there certainly is no charm here!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linklaterharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2011

My very good assessment is qualified by the low price. Given I only paid €20 or so per night, I was tolerant of some of the drawbacks. Overall, I was delighted with my stay and would certainly come back again. Trying to be fair to both the guesthouse and any prospective guests, here's how I saw things:
The positives:
1. Really cheap with a simple but satisfying breakfast included.
2. The hotel is cheery and clean in an Ikea minimalist kind of way.
3. While not exactly in the centre of it all, it's only a 20 or so minute walk through delightful streets and parks to the old quarter. There are some nice bars and restaurants nearby.
4. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and I had no problem at all getting a good night's sleep.
5. The reception staff were nice and very efficient.

Negatives - not enough to deter me from coming again, but it might bother some people.

1.There is no lift, so you might have to walk up several floors.
2. My bathroom had an unpleasant odour. There was nothing wrong with the bathroom so I suppose it was some kind if systemic plumbing issue. I noticed the same problem in other parts of the city too.
3.The room was only serviced once in the six days I stayed there and soaps etc never replaced after that occasion. Perhaps this might have been addressed if I mentioned it, but it didn't bother me.
4. While the guesthouse is in the art nouveau area, the immediate surroundings are less inspiring. But I was assured by Latvian friends that it's a good area after all.

Given the overall pleasant feel of the place and the low cost, I was not persuaded to think of these drawbacks too seriously. I would happily choose this place again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Guesthouse was in a nice area, about a 20 min walk from the centre of town. Breakfast was simple, but fine. Staff were great and really helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greenfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The Jakob Lenz Guesthouse is located in the Art Nouveau area of Riga, where there are lots of lovely streets and buildings, plus bars and cafes. The gueshouse is about 15 - 20 minutes walk to the edge of the old city, though.

My room was large and spacious, although I was surprised to find out when I arrived that my bathroom was shared with another room. I think some of the rooms have private facilities and some don't, so be careful when booking that you get what you expect! Considering how much I paid for shared facilities, I might have chosen another hotel closer to the centre.

That said, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. The building was a lovely old Art Nouveau building so I really felt that I was experiencing the area! The breakfast was also good and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Catherine_Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

I stayed at this B&B for five nights and it was a nice average stay. The location was OK, about a 20 minutes stroll through some lovely parks until you reach the city centre and only about two minutes from the Skonto Arena. The rooms were simple but clean. The breakfast was simple but nice and was served in a really small kitchen with only one table. We took our beakfast to our room and that was OK. The worst thing about this B&B was that there was only one bathroom to share with all the other guests, and some evenings there were three or four people before us to use it.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Stevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Friendly B&B situated in the New town (Art Deco District) on a quiet side road, friendly staff, 24h reception, 15-20 min walk to the old town. At 45 LVL for a small room fairly expensive, but that's the case in all of Riga...

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PollyPeachum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#54 of 110 in Riga
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
1.0 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
1.8 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Jakob Lenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Jakob Lenz

Address: Lencu iela 2, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Jakob Lenz 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Jakob Lenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing