We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and charming hotel”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed one night here during my baltic tour. It is a really nice hotel, and has some beautiful rooms and public areas. There are loads of antiques everywhere in the hotel, as well as stained glass and guildted mirrors. You really will feel like living in a palace !
The check in and check out were very fast and professional. You are invited to sign the book as well. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room I had overlooked the front courtyard, where there is a beautiful fountain. The bathroom was large, and had an actual bath (rather than just a shower), so that was nice after a busy day sightseeing around Riga.
The location is very good too - about a 15 minute walk from the train and bus station, on a nice street in a good area. There is a nice park opposite the hotel too. There is a casino in one section of the hotel (a very classy one - like Casino Royale rather than Vegas), and there was no noise or anything from any of the bars or casino.
Breakfast wasn't included, but one of the staff very kindly let me grab a coffee before my early departure.
I would definetly recomend this hotel, and I hope to return again too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Let me begin by saying that this is basically a good hotel. It is at a good spot, very close to the old city, but not in its center which is great. It also has an open space overlooking the street where you can sit and enjoy your drink smoking and also a cute karaoke bar. My room was clean, with new quality fixings and well equipped. However, it happened to be on the 4th floor and as another review, which I read but ignored before booking, mentioned, something is not quite right with the rooms there. First of all, there are some wooden beams in the middle of the rooms and even corridors. I could live with that one. However, I did not like at all that my room, except two wooden beams in its middle, had low ceiling and almost no windows. In fact, it had six very small windows, the glass part of each was barely 4''x6''. Yes, that small. No sun could come in, it was incredible! So, the hotel itself could have been a very good experience but the room was not. It was rather dark.

Room Tip: Not on the 4th floor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Silverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

retro furnishing is great - if you like it, though it makes the hotel look dull and gloomy. Bar selection and breakfast - adequate. The locataion is perfect - 1 minute walk to Old Town

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cello-jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

one of the best place where i staied. not very big hotel but nice sweet and romantic. it has anything a four stars hotel needs. rooms are big and nice. breakfast was something to remember. anything you can think of was available.
hotel is in the new quarter of riga but few mins away from historic city centre, it's a place i will always think as a good place to stay. clean also.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeetimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We booked a deluxe room with double bed for 5 day stay in Riga. On arrival I wouldn't describe the room as deluxe (I believe the provision of bath robes may have earned the room that title!) and had twin beds. On enquiring with reception staff we were told that all the deluxe rooms were twin but the next day they would push the beds together and put a big matress on! They also suggested that the description of rooms on website was less than accurate.
The beds were pushed together although no mattress appeared and their attempt at stretching a single bed spread over two beds did nothing to improve the image!
Our room was at the front and the noise from traffic and trams was intrusive. Breakfast is not too bad but a bit lacking in variety. Key cards lack reliability especially in working lifts.
Location is very good with old town a few minutes walk and despite the shortcomings of the hotel we loved Riga.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssunCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The hotel is ideally situated in a pleasant area overlooking a park (there is a terrace open in the summer) and within a 10 minute walk of the historic old town. Buses and trams also stop outside. The Freedom Monument and Skyline bar on the 26th floor of the Radisson Hotel with views over the city are also nearby.
Originally a merchant’s grand house, it has been beautifully converted into a hotel full of character, stylishly furnished and decorated in rich warm, colours. My bedroom was clean, warm (despite being -12 outside!), spacious, comfortable and quiet. The bar/café area with its beautiful stained glass windows and Benjamin’s restaurant, where the complimentary (and extensive) breakfast is taken, with its ornate high ceilings, chandeliers and mirrors add to the atmosphere. I found the reception staff, who spoke excellent English, and the waiting staff friendly and helpful. On the first evening, service at the restaurant was rather slow considering there was only our table of four eating (it was a Sunday evening in February) but the food was excellent and reasonably priced. The food during the subsequent two day conference held in the hotel was also excellent with attentive service. If you are looking for a historic hotel full of character and at a reasonable price, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EU27Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of September, beginning of October. Hotel was perfectly located for seeing Riga - a 5 minute walk from the Old town, and 5 minute walk to the Skyline Bar for the views.

The hotel itself is a lovely old building with each room having high ceilings. We stayed in a twin room as requested, and the staff were always extremely helpful and courteous with any questions. This hotel is going to be more attractive for the older traveller, or possibly couples, rather than big groups of lads on stag weekends.

The room had a couple of problems, with a loose panel on the bath/shower and a small mark on the wall, but apart from this it was just what was needed - plenty of storage space, good facilities.

It also has a smoking lounge if required - we were put near there which made the corridor smell badly, but the smell didn't get into the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#28 of 111 in Riga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £30 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing