We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in an elegant mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great stay in an elegant mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I had read some poor reviews on tripadvisor about this hotel, but it had parking, which was one of our main concerns, so that's where we went, a bit apprehensively. Much to my surprise, it was quite fine. The room was spacious and comfortable, it had both hot and cold water (which somebody had complained about) and overlooked a beautiful park. Service was fine and the restaurant excellent. My only complaint was that the key cards didn't always work, especially in the elevator, but other than that, I would have no qualms about staying here on our next trip to Riga. Location was a bit far from the old town, but certainly walkable.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    147
    49
    20
    7
See reviews for
51
165
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The hotel may boast 4 stars, but I wouldn't give our room even one star. It is dark and depressing with a tiny window. To see the sky you have to lean out of the window. The colours are dark and dingy. But worst of all, the water pressure is so poor we cannot take a proper shower. We are currently on a tour of the baltics and this is our fourth hotel on the trip. It is by far the most disappointing. All the negative comments contained in other reviews we would agree with. Even the breakfast buffet, which is extensive, contains much which is inedible. Furthermore, we have to wait for clean dishes. They don't seem to have enough chinaware and cutlery. There is never a greeting from the surly staff when entering reception. Our room is in the "new wing". There are wooden rafters bursting through the room from floor to ceiling. I am given to understand that the best rooms are in the older part of the building. Therefore, this hotel is essentially both four star and one star - it depends which room you have. This explains why the reviews are so mixed. We cannot wait to leave this place.

Room Tip: Insist on being accommodated in the old part of the hotel. Look at the room before you agree to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkWorldtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This former mansion has been beautifully restored; the staircases are stunning. My room was booked through a tour, overlooked the city garden, was enormous and beautifully furnished. For a single traveler, that's a rarity in Europe. It's close enough to the old town to be convenient. Breakfast was good, in lovely rooms. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
494 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Room 202 at the Europa Royale Hotel. My room was nicely furnished and very large with high ceilings, a big bathroom and 2 twin beds. Check-in was lightning fast, and the breakfast buffet in the very grand Benjamin Restaurant was quite good. This hotel is across the street from a beautiful park, and well-located for visiting Riga's charming Old Town. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a great stay here on a great location in a beautiful hotel nearby the old city. Lot to do nearby. Hotel and rooms are good. breakfast nice. Price/quality is super!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkemartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

a very good location, about 10 minutes walk to the old town, about the same time to the National Art Gallery and the art neauveu streets and buildings, we really enjoyed the casino on our return to the hotel after dinner, the staff were friendly and the drinks were reasonably priced. We had an excellent room , very spacious and with a high ceiling.
we had one dinner in the hotel restaurant ,which was very well cooked and presented and again a reasonable price

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Europa Royale Riga as part of our classic car club's Baltic Rally. The hotel is ideal for car clubs as it has a gated courtyard for parking and is a short walk from the old town where parking is at a premium. We all had Deluxe rooms which were excellent. The hotel itself is very beautiful and is full of period features. There is a large and varied assortment for breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other car clubs.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDCGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Property: Europa Royale Riga
Address: Krishjana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing