We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh!”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2008

The hotel is purely lux, room is in large size and friendly staffs.
We booked at 61pounds per night and absolutely worth it.

I cant wait to go back.

PS. The casino is a joke!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2008

We stayed in this fabulous hotel in april this year.The decor is beautiful,huge rooms,comfy beds,huge bathrooms,breakfast was good,The staff were extremely friendly & helpful.Great location only 5-10 minute walk to the Old town and it's great selection of bars and restaurants.Definitely stay there again,was sorry to have to go home.The hotel has a great history once being owned by one person is hard to believe,due to its opulence.Wouldn't stay anywhere else,worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank modette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

This is a strange hotel. On the one hand, it is luxurious and grandiose with attention to detail in the dining room and some of the common areas. Also, staff at the front desk are very helpful. On the other hand, some basic elements associated with a luxury hotel are simply missing. We stayed there for 24 hours and at no time did we see a doorman. Whenever we entered the hotel, we had to open the small door ourselves (even with suitcases, arriving and leaving). The advertised business center is a desk and chair at the end of a hallway with very slow internet service and no printing possibility. The breakfast buffet, advertised to begin at 7, was still being set up at 7:15 while guests waited around. Our standard room was clean but had little light (this darkness was further reinforced by the dark wallpaper and bedding colors). The room also had no closet for hanging clothes. The common rooms, while spacious, were not inviting or cozy. We figured out why- there were only weak overhead lights. Some attention to lighting would improve the atmosphere and invite guests to sit around and read or chat. That in turn would have given life to the otherwise ghostly rooms. Bottom line: while satisfactory, this hotel does not provide the luxury that it advertises and is not worthy of four stars. For its price, we do not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank mzbmiamiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We booked this hotel largely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. Even though we arrived early, it was no problem for us to check-in to our room (excellent, professional reception staff). Our twin room was very comfortable, with a spacious bathroom - and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent, with a great range of hot and cold food, and served in a room which you might find in a stately home (stunningly decorated ceiling with panelled wood, chandeliers etc). All things considered, this is a lovely hotel, and in a great location - short walk to the Old Town and Opera House, and about 10-15 minutes to the Art Nouveau district. If we had to complain about something, room service didn't make up the room after the first night (except to replenish mineral water) and reception didn't seem too bothered by the oversight - but not that it bothered us at all, just a minor detail. The only other thing ... taxis. When we arrived, the rate from the airport to Riga was LAT8 ... but on the journey back to the airport (taxi booked by hotel) the rate was LAT20 - the driver said airport taxis have 'special cheap rates' with which they can't compete, so maybe that's one thing to look out for!! I think there is a bus service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Location
Central, only 10 minutes to walk to streets like A. Caka (clothing + shoes), Briviera (clothing + shoes), and the old town where you find many good restaurants and also great shopping!

Hotel & rooms
The hotel is elegantly designed and the staff is very helpfull and all speak english. Our standard room was romantic with a great comfortable bed, but the windows were extremely small. We were never in your room, but we found it hard to organize our shopping as there was not so much space, and the desk in the room took a lot of what space was left. The big + is the comfy bathroom and the shower. We loved it! Also, the hotel was very clean.

Food & Drink
The menu at the restaurant is not big, but we tried two dishes and were delighted! The bar is helpful and you can order a lot of diffirent alcohol drinks and choose your location for sitting.
The breakfast however was good the first day (eggs, sausage and bacon), but the next few days we were fed up with it. I wanted to have some bread, but in Latvia they prefer their bread hard and dry so I could not have it. This is the only setback apart from the somewhat small rooms, but I still chose to give this hotel an excellent marking as I've never stayed in a better hotel!

Smoking
There are smoking rooms and you can smoke at the terrace (also with beer/wine/coffee ordered at the bar) till midnight.

Price
We ordered through Hotels.com and payed about 400$ for two persons, 4 nights and thought it was well worth it, but knowing there are several cheap and OK hotels in Riga we would not hae payed more. We were promised by Hotels.com there would be a balcony in each room, but unfortunately that was not the case. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, luxurious hotel with walking distance to the city!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Me and my Boyfriend stayed at this hotel for the weekend, we got it on a deal via Expidia but would have been more than happy with it if we paid full whack.

Its in such a central place, only about 5 mins stroll to the old town.

The bed was SO comfy and the shower was AMAZING!!!

Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

This hotell is the best hotell i ever stayd at.
It has a old charm and luxurius feeling when you go in by the big wooden door, the staff whos working is speaking exellent english and has a super sens of service, the food was so delicious in the hotell and a the diningroom is marvalous.
So i would rekomend to stay att this hotell if you are going to a trip to Riga.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank haki76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 110 in Riga
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 110 in Riga
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#32 of 110 in Riga
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Riga
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#35 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing