We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a palace”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like staying in a palace”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We got to stay in this hotel for 357$canadian including taxes for three nights. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful with many choices. The service is very professionnal. This hotel is just beautiful, breakfast is served in elegant old setting chandeliers and all. The most beautiful hotel I have stayed in. The location is within walking distance of the old town and the "art nouveau" section.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IevaIgn, Public Relations Manager at Europa Royale Riga, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review :) We are waiting for you to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    156
    51
    22
    7
See reviews for
57
172
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton , East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a good hotel very clean , great location close to the Old Town, near to lots of bars and restaurants. Had the breakfast each morning good selection fresh fruit, pastries etc. They do have a hot food selection, bacon, eggs, sausages but they were cold ever day. The Casino can be very noisy with people coming out at 5am making a lot of noise. Got to say the staff were very good no complaints there.

The Old Town is ok with Bars and Restaurants and some market stalls but not much else. Cheap to eat and drink if you look around and use some of the bars in the old town,


Be warned if flying with Air Baltic , they now have a max of 8kg weight on luggage, I was one kg over and was charged £ 35.00 which I was not to impressed with. They even charge you £9.00 to check in in at the front desk. On the way back I was under the 8kg got checked in , and to the boarding gate when they suddenly appeared with the bag measuring equipment and duly made everyone go through getting the bags checked again . As you can imagine , chaos ensued with people asking how they managed to get through check in where the bags were deems to be ok , only to have to go through this once again. Lots of moaning and resulted in the flight being delayed.

So overall good hotel, Riga is Ok, cheap drink and food , Air Baltic are the worst airline I have ever traveled with.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Air Baltic if at all possible, try and get rooms at front the hotel which overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IevaIgn, Public Relations Manager at Europa Royale Riga, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for your not pleasant fly with Air Baltic. We are waiting for you to come back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

City break friends 50th.
The hotel was spotless big and just right, near everything.
The beds were really comfy shame we were situated opposite the park where the beer festival was and made a racket - and the casino must closed at 6am as this woke us also.
The cooked hot breakfast was COLD, really it was not worth the money, should have asked for a refund but it would have spoilt the break. The evening food hot food was also cold but asked to go back and heat up, as we were paying £13 for this pasta dish. The hotel food was a bit more expensive then going outside of the hotel.
Riga as a place is not that interesting the hop on hop off bus does not have enough history so travels around few times and repeats itself.
There is a big market with mainly fruit and clothes - but if you go the other way there is a town with a lovely market and stalls - as jewlery and glass wear and bars and it was a 'posher' market just right for those gifts to take home.
Nothing much going on.
Air Baltic is the airline that travel to Riga watch out as they will have you everyway they can for some cost or other, check case sizes as they have changed and check you print boarding passes at home if you don't want another charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IevaIgn, Public Relations Manager at Europa Royale Riga, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We will try to make next your stay at our hotel more pleasant :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

New hotel experience in Riga. Old style hotel with huge room including king size bathroom and separate walkin closet. TV channels some Russian inspired and only 1 English speaking. Restaurant was also good with a very enthusiastic and well meaning waiter who did everything to please us. Not exactly crowded there and the kitchen managed to miss some steak requests in terms of medium, bloody raw and medium to raw. However we enjoyed a very nice starter and a good recommended Italian chianti. Can really recommend the hotel in spite of some misses in the restaurant

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IevaIgn, Public Relations Manager at Europa Royale Riga, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review :) We are waiting for you to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauniainen, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

An old but renovated nice hotel with decent location. Public areas of hotel were in proper condition and clean. Close to the railway station, central park and picturesque old town. Easy access to public transportation, easily reached by bus from airport. Nearly all main tourist attractions, historic locations and some restaurants, bars and cafes within walk distance. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms were big enough and modern. Good LCD TV with international channels. Free wireless internet access. Would recommend even for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IevaIgn, Public Relations Manager at Europa Royale Riga, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review :) We are waiting for you to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weimar, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Positive: The location of the hotel is very good, very close to the old town center. The interiors and its design are perfectly great, especially the hotel bar is very stylish. The rooms are nice and the breakfast buffet is great

Negative: THE NOISE!!!! The first and hopefully hotel experience, when I did not sleep at all!!! Downstairs in the hotel there is a karaoke bar and a casino! The music was very very loud – it felt like next door and made it totally impossible to sleep even with the earplugs until some 3 o’clock every night (and it was April so still off season for Riga, during summer the parties are supposed to go on until the very morning). Absolutely no go!!! I regret it so much to have booked a room for 3 sleepless nights!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had three nights at this very central located old Hotel, previously private owned by Benjamins family for centuries. Excellent service and very well kitchen, "home taste"! Location just a few minutes walk from "Old Town" and the central station, as well the large well known Riga market. Our room at 2nd floor was very light coloured, good beds and with a large good bathroom. All international TV-channels, unfortunately not Norwegian channels.

Room Tip: Very quite rooms on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#31 of 109 in Riga
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#13 of 109 in Riga
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Property: Europa Royale Riga
Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#35 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing