We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential, must try harder”
Review of Europa Royale Riga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Europa Royale Riga
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2008

The Europa Royale is a careful conversion of a magnificent late 19c mansion and a key historic building, centrally located near the Opera House. Some of the detailing is very good and the overall impression is luxurious. However, the general atmosphere is somewhat gloomy - different colours and better lighting would help. There is a small courtyard which would be pleasant in good weather.

Our room was spacious but sparsely furnished (just one upright chair!) The wallpaper was a depressing dark blue. The bathroom was also large but lacked shelving. Housekeeping was somewhat sloppy.

The dining room (Benjamins) is splendid and the breakfast buffet extensive. Our dinner had more style than substance.

After two nights, we left with the feeling that this property has five star potential but that it needs a physical makeover and better management to realise it. For now, it’s just about four star.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2008

The Europa Royal is truly a house boasting with history.

The interior beautifully restored with fantastic details of architecture of the late 1880ties and the level of comfort is just great. It is truly a pleasure to stay in a small hotel yet "large" old house.
The location is also great and nothing negative can be written of this very nice, clean, well kept place apart from the in-room breakfast that was really nothing more than mistakes and dry bread. The breakfast in the breakfast room was very nice though and the service good. Basic good food in a very nice setting. The hotel resolved the matter after direct and firm criticism, and we were happy as can be. One thing to mention; the "Casino" is a room with slot machines :-)

We would stay there anytime again as the house itself, the location and the service was everything we could ask for in a four star hotel at the rate we were offered.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bckrSTHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We had stayed in 5 star on a Baltic tip ,kaliningrad Vilnuis. Riga and Tallinn the worst experience by far was Europa Royal in Riga our room was #103 ???on street about 7 meters from 24 hour trams and deisel fumes , they had a "model" event on Saturday with Apres happening on patio access by our three rooms on first floor , I could manage the "four" coathangers and only one towel ,the satff at reception were unhelpful for a top hotel this is not ,When in Riga got to Schwartz restaurant top of Hotel Roma ,great experience.
On the trip we stayed at Kaiserhof(Kaliningrad)Tellegraff(tallinn) NDNarutis(Vilnius)no bad exoperince only high recomendation

T.m.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hotspur97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

The hotel is purely lux, room is in large size and friendly staffs.
We booked at 61pounds per night and absolutely worth it.

I cant wait to go back.

PS. The casino is a joke!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We stayed in this fabulous hotel in april this year.The decor is beautiful,huge rooms,comfy beds,huge bathrooms,breakfast was good,The staff were extremely friendly & helpful.Great location only 5-10 minute walk to the Old town and it's great selection of bars and restaurants.Definitely stay there again,was sorry to have to go home.The hotel has a great history once being owned by one person is hard to believe,due to its opulence.Wouldn't stay anywhere else,worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank modette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

This is a strange hotel. On the one hand, it is luxurious and grandiose with attention to detail in the dining room and some of the common areas. Also, staff at the front desk are very helpful. On the other hand, some basic elements associated with a luxury hotel are simply missing. We stayed there for 24 hours and at no time did we see a doorman. Whenever we entered the hotel, we had to open the small door ourselves (even with suitcases, arriving and leaving). The advertised business center is a desk and chair at the end of a hallway with very slow internet service and no printing possibility. The breakfast buffet, advertised to begin at 7, was still being set up at 7:15 while guests waited around. Our standard room was clean but had little light (this darkness was further reinforced by the dark wallpaper and bedding colors). The room also had no closet for hanging clothes. The common rooms, while spacious, were not inviting or cozy. We figured out why- there were only weak overhead lights. Some attention to lighting would improve the atmosphere and invite guests to sit around and read or chat. That in turn would have given life to the otherwise ghostly rooms. Bottom line: while satisfactory, this hotel does not provide the luxury that it advertises and is not worthy of four stars. For its price, we do not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank mzbmiamiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We booked this hotel largely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. Even though we arrived early, it was no problem for us to check-in to our room (excellent, professional reception staff). Our twin room was very comfortable, with a spacious bathroom - and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent, with a great range of hot and cold food, and served in a room which you might find in a stately home (stunningly decorated ceiling with panelled wood, chandeliers etc). All things considered, this is a lovely hotel, and in a great location - short walk to the Old Town and Opera House, and about 10-15 minutes to the Art Nouveau district. If we had to complain about something, room service didn't make up the room after the first night (except to replenish mineral water) and reception didn't seem too bothered by the oversight - but not that it bothered us at all, just a minor detail. The only other thing ... taxis. When we arrived, the rate from the airport to Riga was LAT8 ... but on the journey back to the airport (taxi booked by hotel) the rate was LAT20 - the driver said airport taxis have 'special cheap rates' with which they can't compete, so maybe that's one thing to look out for!! I think there is a bus service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#11 of 110 in Riga
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 110 in Riga
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#32 of 110 in Riga
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Riga

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 12, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Riga
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#19 Family Hotel in Riga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#35 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £35 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Royale in Riga is not just an average 4* hotel. It is an historic and cultural monument of national importance and pride to every Riga citizen. The building dates back to 1876 and once was owned by uncrowned royal couple of Latvia, Emilija and Antons Benjamins. We offer you a unique possibility to touch and find magnificent treasures like largest Venetian chandelier in the entire Baltic region, restored fireplaces, original ceiling decor, wooden staircase, stained glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Europa Royale Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Riga Hotel Riga
Europa Royale Hotel Riga
Riga Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing