We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monika Centrum Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monika Centrum Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Monika Centrum Hotels is very good hotel. Location, staff, breakfast very good. Nice room with all the facilities needed. Definitely also visit family restaurant Alibi. The best grilled dishes in Old Riga.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    183
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
170
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at this hotel for 4 nights in December. We were able to check in early which we were really appreciative of due to our early flight, reception service was excellent and we were allocated a great room with a balcony. Breakfast each morning was excellent, good quality and choice in pleasant surroundings. The hotel itself was in a good location, coffee shops, supermarket and other amenities nearby and a short stroll to the Centre. We found the location ideal and did not use any public or private transport throughout our 5 day stay [with the exception of the airport transfer]. We paid a very decent price for this hotel at it exceeded our expectations - would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereshallwego2next?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed there only for one night in 2011 february and we realy anjoyed our stay. Room was big with beautifull small balcony, it was really cold outside (when outside was about -17 C day time), but room was very warm and cozy. Also we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was really good.
Disapointments - reception (guy on check in english was very poor) and we asked for double room, but got twin
.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenasArd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Service was excellent, professional and very friendly. Room (204) was clean, spacious and comfortable. Did not liked fitted carpet. Buffet breakfast was very good, everything you needed.
Nice area around hotel, 1-3 minutes walk to park (childen playground), crocery store, bank (ATM across the street), few restaurants and laundry etc. By walking also 20 minutes to old town and 20 minutes to Riga Arena.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnteroFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

My friend and i were booked in for one night as we had been staying at another hotel in the city. MY friend had got the dates wrong and we arrived a day after our booking, which we thought would be a total nightmare and we would have to pay again. But the amazing reception staff at this hotel let us have the room for the night as it was a genuine mistake and also gave us free drinks vouchers for the bar. I could not fault there generosity and kindness, the only thing i would say is that they have the laziest bar man in the world who lets the team down and makes a mockery of how hard the reception staff work. Overall a great experience though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Sister hotel to the "Grata Hotel" in Vilnius (ex Centrum), this is a very stylishly decorated and warm feeling hotel, with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast choice, within a 10 min walk of the old town of Riga, right next to a park. I have stayed here in the past and nothing has changed, and they must have a good maintenance programme as it doesnt look tired at all (and never has). Only minor issue is that it is on two major roads and as rush hour starts can be a little noisey, however good windows keep most of that out. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with balconies, but you need to ask for one, they dont all have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritLithcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel & it was excellent. The standard double room we had was large, with 2 big lovely windows & was really comfortable. The breakfast was brilliant with a wide range on offer: cereals, fruit, cheeses, meats, cooked breakfast, smoked salmon, pastries, toast, jams etc etc. It was on a lovely street, in a nice area & only a 10 minute walk into the Old Town. We got it as part of a bargain flight&hotel deal & thought the hotel might be a bit ropey but it was fantastic. One night we did go for a meal in the hotel's restaurant & found the service to be slow & our parties thoughts on the food were mixed. But with lots of delicious restaurants in Riga this wouldn't put us off going back. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a good view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieLeeds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monika Centrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Centrum Hotel

Property: Monika Centrum Hotel
Address: Elizabetes iela 21, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#29 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monika Centrum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being thousands of kilometres away from home and still feeling welcome, enjoying the homey cosiness and comfort? Monika Centrum Hotels has taken care of that by inviting you to one of its hotels. The hotel Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is located in the cultural and historical centre of Riga, the capital of Latvia, encircled by one of Europe's most eminent block of buildings in Art Nouveau style, which gathers the most distinguished elements of this architecture and lifestyle, the splendid Kronvalda Park, erected in late 19th century, with the decoratively arranged banks of Riga Canal and the rich array of trees and shrubs, the embassies of many countries, the ever-lively Port of Riga and the sports hub - Arena Riga. The 4-star Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is set in the Neo-Gothic building from 1883 and located 500 metres from the Old Town of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monika Centrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monika Centrum Riga
Hotel Monika Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing