We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“parks and parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monika Centrum Hotel
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
lucerne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“parks and parking”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

An unpretentious hotel in a remarkably good location : just off the old town but a very pleasant walk through the delightful city parks to the centre. Also plenty of inexpensive parking space right next to the hotel, a major plus in a city like Riga. Staff were pleasant and helpful, room was clean and not noisy, breakfast was plentiful. Good restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Overall, good value for reasonable money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    193
    59
    10
    9
See reviews for
81
190
39
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice location in Riga - you can walk to most attractions. Staff friendly and no problems at all. Decent cleaning but lacks the details, same with aircondition which put in a symbolic effort to cool the room. You get what you pay for and that is okay.

Room Tip: Room 306 is pretty good ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for a visit to Riga. Very clean, quiet and friendly, we found large rooms with clean bathrooms a sleight, the breakfast is plentiful and typical European. We asked for an extra bed for our daughter and who provided with a large spacious triple room. Can't fault the service. It's only a 10min walk to the old town and close to wonderful gardens. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Turcinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The stay for perfectly fine, with no negative or positive surprises. I suggest you opt for one of the junior suites, as the are just a couple more euros per night, and you get two rooms instead of one. Certainly made our stay easier since my roommate is a snorer! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BombardUrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful neighborhood, friendly staff, good breakfast etc. Hotel is just little bit far from the old town - approximately 15-20 min walk. For a business trip (as well as active vacation) it is a good choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuno_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we wanted to experience both the Old Town and Art Nouveau districts of Riga. Initially we thought we had made a big mistake coming from the Old City Boutique Hotel when we were shown to our Junior Suite at the Monika. Two rooms and good bathroom but very dark and gloomy, overlooking the central shaft of the hotel so no view or natural light. The gloom became even worse when, during the night, we realised that a horrible smell of sewage was permeating the bathroom! The next morning we complained (nicely) and asked for a change of room and were given a magnificent huge room with a balcony overlooking the Elisabetes Avenue and park which was clearly an 'upgrade'. From that point on we really enjoyed our stay and the beautiful area of art nouveau buildings where all the magnificent embassies are located. Others have mentioned the walking distance from the old city but there are excellent cheap public transport links nearby, both buses and the number 6 tram. The Tourist Information Office in the Old City will give you maps and sell you tickets. (Also plenty of good information about transport, in English, online). This is an interesting hotel, part of a small chain it seems, and is used for local business conferences. The service and standards perhaps not quite up to western Europe expectations but why are we travelling if we want everything to be the same wherever we go? Found it quite difficult to rate this one given our unfortunate start but feel our whole stay warranted a 'very good'.

Room Tip: Avoid those without an outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Located in a beautiful neighbourhood, but bit far away from center. The room was nice and quiet. Just some problems with my door key every day; had to run to reception many times to activate it again. Helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.8 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monika Centrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Centrum Hotel

Property: Monika Centrum Hotel
Address: Elizabetes iela 21, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Riga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#29 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monika Centrum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being thousands of kilometres away from home and still feeling welcome, enjoying the homey cosiness and comfort? Monika Centrum Hotels has taken care of that by inviting you to one of its hotels. The hotel Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is located in the cultural and historical centre of Riga, the capital of Latvia, encircled by one of Europe's most eminent block of buildings in Art Nouveau style, which gathers the most distinguished elements of this architecture and lifestyle, the splendid Kronvalda Park, erected in late 19th century, with the decoratively arranged banks of Riga Canal and the rich array of trees and shrubs, the embassies of many countries, the ever-lively Port of Riga and the sports hub - Arena Riga. The 4-star Monika Centrum Hotels in Riga is set in the Neo-Gothic building from 1883 and located 500 metres from the Old Town of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monika Centrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monika Centrum Riga
Hotel Monika Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing