We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kolonna Hotel - Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Kolonna Hotel - Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Booked the Kolonna after researching reviews on here - definitely a good choice of hotel!

We travelled as a Stag Party, stayed for 3 days & just returned home. The hotel is right in the centre of Old Riga, and is literally seconds away from loads of bars, clubs and restaurants!

Staff in the hotel are friendly, and will go out of their way to help you. We arrived at 12noon after pulling an all-nighter before catching our flight over to Latvia. Check in time is meant to be 2pm, but the receptionist moved us into rooms that were ready, meaning we didn't have to hang about to check-in. The hotel also offer an airport shuttle service (which we used to take us back to the airport). This is a set price of 10 Lats for upto a party of 4. (It cost us 10 Lats in a taxi from the airport to the hotel, so this is a reasonable price).

Rooms are really clean (cleaned daily), and for an old hotel, has a really modern feel to it.

The hotel was great for us as a stag-party, but would suit couples also.

Really don't have a bad word to say about this hotel!! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlasgowTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    230
    83
    24
    11
See reviews for
78
158
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peresvet
Level Contributor
791 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hotel Kolonna is ideally situated in the center of Old Town. Location provides easy access to main places of interest. Dome Cathedral, St. Peter`s Church, Museum of occupation, Opera theater, many other museums, shops, cafes and restaurants of old Riga are all in the walking distance from the hotel. Airport bus stop is about 200 meters away. Therefore, it`s just about 30-40 minutes by public transport to Riga airport. Buses run from early morning till about midnight.
Hotel located in an old building, 4 floors. Tasty buffet breakfast was served in a cozy cellar dining room. We stayed in an economy room. That meant we had a bathroom shared with another room. But only 2 rooms shared one bathroom, so we didn`t experience any inconvenience. Our room was rather spacious, comfy and everything was clean. So we liked very much our stay at Kolonna.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night of a week long vacation. The lobby, halls, and room were clean and attractive. The breakfast was the typical European breakfast fare. The real downside of the night was the noise. Noise from the street, noise from others in the hallway, and noise from the elevator that was on the opposite side of my bedroom wall. Even my friends in the adjoining room were woken up multiple times during the night. It was the worst night's sleep of our entire trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the elevator - it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieLikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights in early October. Room (studio) was spacious, simple and clean. It is the low season now so the price of the room more then reasonable. General impression of the place was very positive, staff was efficient and friendly, buffet breakfast looked and tasted simple but had everything that one might need: eggs, yohurt, cereal, toasts, butter, marmalade, ham, cheese, tea and coffee.
What was real highlight of the story is the location. Very heart of Old Riga, within 2 min walk from all sights, it does not sleep on weekends but the rest of the week it is quiet and nice. We truly liked it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

we have recently returned from a weekend break to Riga and I've said it all in the title the Kolonna was a great value hotel in a perfect location just off the main square and very close to all the sights, bars and returants of Riga.

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable we over looked the street below and only once did we here noise of people returning from the clubs didn't bother us.

Riga is a great place to visit as its very compact and there are loads of bars and restuants to visit. we went on the mini train which goes from dome square and a bargin at 3 lats each which takes you all around the streets of Riga and provides a commentry in differant lanuages.

The parks are loverly and it nice to sit in the bar in the park watching the world go by.

we would definatly go back to visit Riga and stay at the Kolonna again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becksnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nice, clean hotel. Breakfast is quite basic. Price was great! Location was a bit loud on weekend nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a couple for 2 nights in August 2011. We paid about £45 per night which seemed to be a pretty good deal.

The best thing about this hotel has to be the location of it! It is right in the middle of the old town just off the main square but also located on a street with another smaller square with a few restaurants / bars and some souvenir stalls on it. You really cannot beat this location as you have everything on your door step. When you do a lot of walking around the city, it is nice at the end of a long day to not have to go far to be back in your hotel room.

The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were plenty big enough, light and airy and clean and comfortable. Small downside was that it was 2 single beds pushed together rather than 1 double but we coped with that just fine! The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels left out.

The lady on reception was very friendly and nice. The other reception staff were also helpful.

The breakfast was included in the price of the room and was the usual continental breakfast of cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, salad etc. It was perfectly fine, nothing amazing but similar to what we have experienced in other hotels so no complaints. There is a very nice cake / pastry shop across the road from the hotel and so if you can always get some extra food there. However, the buffet was perfectly fine to give you a good start for the day.

There was also free Wi-fi which worked fine and was useful.

If we go back to Riga we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARDJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#31 of 109 in Riga
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Property: Rixwell Domus Hotel
Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing