We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Kolonna in February. A great hotel in the centre of the Old Town. Our room was ready when we arrived early, and reception staff were excellent and very helpful during our stay. They all spoke excellent English. The room was large with twin beds as requested, 2 large windows at the front, well heated and all the fittings looked new and clean. The bathroom was clean and warm and well equipped.

Breakfast was the usual continental style with lots of hot and cold choices and lots of tea or coffee. All dishes were renewed regularly and the tables kept very clean.

Next door to the hotel is a lovely cafe, we had cake and hot mulled wine there, and across from the hotel was a cake shop to die for!!

We took two trips by train, one to Jurmula and one to Sigulda. The train fares were very, very cheap. Under £3 return for one trip of 1 hour 10 minutes. I can recommend both trips.

All in all, this was an excellent value for money hotel, and I would recommend it to friends and family.

I cannot find anything bad to say about the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Anne H.,

thank you very much for your feedback!


My team and I were pleased to offer early check in free of charge when you arrived to hotel. We know how important is every minute you spend on your vacation.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location as well as services provided during your stay in KOLONNA Hotel Riga. We are doing our best to ensure very comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests!

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and recommending our hotel to other travellers!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the near future again!


Best Regards,

Linda Stale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Kolonna. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre and on the same street as some great cafes. Location wise you could not get better.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast despite previous reviews was great. It has toast, cereal, meats, cheeses, sausages, scrambles, boiled eggs, sausages and the list could go on.

My only complaints were that the hairdryer was broken and that the tv reception was poor. However for the price of the hotel (we booked via Expedia) i don't think you could get better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were a couple and me. So this hotel offered us the best choice: two rooms in one. It would be perfect for a family with two children, or two couples too, as I had a double room all for myself. The apartment door is only one, and the small private hall has three doors: one to the double room, another one to the twin room and the third one to the bathroom. We can leave boots and coats in the hall. There is no luxury, but it is comfortable enough. Clean, clear, spacious, with big windows and a good heater. We only missed the fridge.
The hotel is in the middle of the old town, next to cool restaurants and nice places to visit. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The family room (double, twin, and a bathroom) is cheap and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Nizinha,

thank you very much for you feedback and nice photos you posted!

I am delighted to hear that you found our family room very comfortable. I totally agree with you that family rooms are very suitable not only for families with children, but for groups of friends as well. When staying in a family room you may enjoy two seperate bedrooms (each has its own door key), a small private hall and a bathroom.

Regarding to the frige, we offer it in Penthouses.

I am pleased to hear that you would stay with us again! Please contact us direct to make booking for your next stay by writing to reservationriga@kolonna.com!

Looking forward to welcome you in the very near future!

Best Regards,

Linda Stale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the old town centre. And just across the road from the best cake shop ever. They are baking all the time.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The flooring is vinyl but clean. the hotel is from the 12th C. and full of history.
We were on the top floor and found the rooms that fronted the street to be larger than the ones on the other side.

Room Tip: The heater makes the room too hot in autumn and you can't turn it off. Open the window and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olgaolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

As the others have mentioned before, the hotel is located smack dab in the middle of the old town. Right opposite you will find a pub and a local restaurant chain. The place can get a bit noisy during the weekend, but for those who have lived in big cities, this should not too pose too much of a problem. The room we were allocated was huge, about twice the size of a normal hotel room. It was nice and clean as well, however I think there were no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room. Breakfast was pretty ordinary, nothing special.

Overall I would recommend this place for its excellent value for money and good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Das_Lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Das-Lich,
thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your recent stay with us!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and as your wrote that the city noise should not be a disturb for those who used to live in big cities.
I am extremely pleased to hear that you found our rooms two times bigger than expected. We are proud that we met your expectations and I strongly believe that the size of a room is an important issue for those who travel a lot. Yes, you are right, we offer tea, coffee and other drinks only in reception bar.
I appreciate that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I am sad to hear that you found our breakfast pretty ordinary.
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel for our excellent value for money and good location!

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

stopped in the Kolonna nov 2012 was on the front 1st floor we did not experience any noise but it was end of the season but do like hearding the hussle and bussle of the city the location was band in the middle of the city it was spotless clean and the staff were great but most important to our group the wifi was very strong

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dent399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Dent399,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as our service!

Looking forward to welcome you next time you travel to Riga!

Best Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
7  Thank LINDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#31 of 110 in Riga
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#38 of 110 in Riga
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £26 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing