We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very good location right in the centre of the old town. Good bakery across the road that sells gigantic pretzels. Walking distance to a large number of sights and some good bars too. Room was fairly basic but clean with very good shower. Staff were friendly and very helpful and spoke excellent English. The only slightly strange thing was 2 single duvets on a double bed. Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNTravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    232
    86
    24
    13
See reviews for
82
159
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Great location in the middle of Old Town in Riga, local restaurant and bakery on the opposite side of the street, little cafe next door and walking distance to all the places in the Old Town you might want to see. Rooms were clean and the place was good to get rest and sleep. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean as well. The breakfast was disappointing, but in general this hotel is recommended for travelers seeking a nice place to stay in the heart of Riga.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klim3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel was booked for a short weekend break to celebrate the future marriage of a friend ( stag weekend). There were 11 of us when we arrived on the Friday afternoon a bit early for check in. Some of the rooms were ready and they were happy for us to unpack straight away. The for the chaps whoose rooms were not ready the bags were safely locked away till they were cleaned.The service they gave at the start went over the weekend and they could not have been more helpful. The rooms are fine and you get what you pay for. They are certainly clean and tidy. The location is great. It is in a quiet part of the Old Town minutes walk from wherever you want to be. Breakfast was bit of a muddle but then find most small continental hotels don'tt cope to well with breakfast. For the price I could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My ex-husband and I stayed at Kolonna hotel last weekend. We stayed for one night. We got very nice room with two single beds as requested and with amazing view to the Kathedra. The hotel is right in the heart of Riga's Old town. The room and bathroom was very clean, no dust or carpets, but we both felt alergy. Maybe it is because of not natural bedding. It was not very strong, but quite dangerous for sensitive people I think. I had my medicines with me, so everything was ok. I would reccomend this hotel to my friends for sure and would stay there again myself. Personal is very helpful and well-manered. Breakfast was good enough too. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The room was too simple and the view on on The close roof with other building's windows in front.
The corridor is dirty and not pleasant design.
In the room I've found some steakers from cosmetics that were left by the précuits visitors and that stayed attached to the room's carpet, bathroom's elements etc.
The water in the bathroom is stinking, the lavabo is not clean enough and a stinky smell comes from the pipes.
No desire to take a shower in such place.
Tv is working badly, sound regulation was bugging all the time!
The room decoration in general is very poor.
The buffet for te breakfast is pretty ordinary, the place is nice as the old style one, but could be better decorated to create the "ambiance"...
The situation is good - center of Riga.
The personal is gentle and nice, but unfortunately when coming to the stairs and to the room - this good points are forgotten...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaM876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Maria M.,

thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us!

I am pleased to hear that you found our personal gentle and nice.

I am shocked to read that your room was not properly cleaned. I would like to inform you that I will investigate and analyze this case, because according to our standards a cleanliness of rooms and public places is a priority. TV sound will be checked by Specialist.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our very central location- hotel is located directly in the middle of Old city.

My team and I do hope that you will return to us again in the near future and get the chance to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Kolonna in February. A great hotel in the centre of the Old Town. Our room was ready when we arrived early, and reception staff were excellent and very helpful during our stay. They all spoke excellent English. The room was large with twin beds as requested, 2 large windows at the front, well heated and all the fittings looked new and clean. The bathroom was clean and warm and well equipped.

Breakfast was the usual continental style with lots of hot and cold choices and lots of tea or coffee. All dishes were renewed regularly and the tables kept very clean.

Next door to the hotel is a lovely cafe, we had cake and hot mulled wine there, and across from the hotel was a cake shop to die for!!

We took two trips by train, one to Jurmula and one to Sigulda. The train fares were very, very cheap. Under £3 return for one trip of 1 hour 10 minutes. I can recommend both trips.

All in all, this was an excellent value for money hotel, and I would recommend it to friends and family.

I cannot find anything bad to say about the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda_Shtale, Manager at Rixwell Domus Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Anne H.,

thank you very much for your feedback!


My team and I were pleased to offer early check in free of charge when you arrived to hotel. We know how important is every minute you spend on your vacation.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location as well as services provided during your stay in KOLONNA Hotel Riga. We are doing our best to ensure very comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests!

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and recommending our hotel to other travellers!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the near future again!


Best Regards,

Linda Stale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Kolonna. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre and on the same street as some great cafes. Location wise you could not get better.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast despite previous reviews was great. It has toast, cereal, meats, cheeses, sausages, scrambles, boiled eggs, sausages and the list could go on.

My only complaints were that the hairdryer was broken and that the tv reception was poor. However for the price of the hotel (we booked via Expedia) i don't think you could get better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#29 of 109 in Riga
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#32 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Property: Rixwell Domus Hotel
Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing