We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Rooms have nice décor and ours was light and spacious. beds were a little on the hard side but adequate for a few nights. The location is excellent to take in all the sites on foot and staff were friendly and helpful I would definitely recommend

Room Tip: choose room at back for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leics29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    227
    79
    22
    11
See reviews for
77
153
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Örkelljunga
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed five nights in Hotel Kolonna and the best thing was it's location. Our room was rather small, but had everything we needed. We were very happy there is air condition, since we were on the sixth floor right under the roof and this time it was very hot.

Our room was very quiet even if the hotel is right in the city center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor have angled roofs. It can be a problem if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idealisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

You probably can not find a hotel better situated than the Kolona. It is right in the heart of Old Town Riga. Priced good, friendly helpful staff and clean rooms. Big, big rooms, big bathrooms. BUT on the down side they can do better with the mattresses. Breakfast is your normal no effort European type, bread, cheese, egg, etc. Also remember you are on a busy street in Old Town, with 4 pubs within 50 meters of each other and it can become quite noisy.So if you want quiet at night (especially in summertime) this is not the hotel for you. Will I stay here again: for sure!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TertiaTerblancheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location of this hotel is outstanding - in the middle of the old city with walking distance to "everything". The staff is polite and very helpful. We were upgraded to a room on the top floor, with a lot of space. On the down side the comfort of the beds are rather poor, and the hotel could use some upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has a brilliant location, right in the middle of old town Riga.
Our room was clean and comfortable and quite big, but the bathroom wasnt in the room it was a seperate room next door. I couldn't see anywhere on the hotel website where it advises of this situation. So if you want ensuite you will need to pay more. We were told we should have read expedia to find this out!!!
The breakfast was simple but tasty and had hot and cold to choose from.
The rooms at the back are nice and quiet, but I would guess the street facing rooms could be quite noisy at times as the street has lots of pubs and restaurants.
The reception staff were helpful and polite and sorted out transfered to and from the hotel. Great at 3.45 in the morning!

All in all a nice clean hotel in a great location, but be aware the bathroom in soon rooms isn't actually in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dispic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gods Country- Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Brilliant central location, staff very polite & helpful. within walking distance to house of blackheads, st peters and freedom monument. We booked for a few days for a stag party, pub accross the road has a guy who can arrange all types of activities such as the gun range, limo's, bungee etc.
We were all shocked how stunning the city of riga is, even as a stag group we took a little time off the beer to appreciate the beauty of the city.
would highly reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenj246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. Within a few minutes you can both reach all the major sights and restaurants.
I strongly appreciated the email I got shortly after my booking from the hotel receptionists who offered to help me if I needed anything prior to my arrival. I asked for assistance on renting a car and their help was valuable. They forwarded my inquiry to several rental companies and sent me their offer. I should mention that we ended up choosing FS noma who proved to be excellent on their service. Furthermore, during our stay all the receptionists were excellent. They spoke English fluently and they were rather informative in whatever we asked.
Although our reservation was for a standard double room we were upgraded for free to an superior which was very comfortable and the fact that it was on the 5th floor gave us an excellent view of the astonishing nearby art nouevau buildings.
Since the hotel is located at the historical centre and the streets are covered with stones have in mind that you can not roll your luggage, you have to carry it! The room could use some renovation such as paint the walls and repair some cracks, new curtains, etc Although the breakfast was adequate it was the same everyday. If someone like we did, stays for 4 days will justifiably be fed up...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zalavra_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#31 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#59 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Domus Hotel

Property: Rixwell Domus Hotel
Address: Tirgonu iela 9, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Kolonna Hotel Riga)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Domus Hotel is Garni class hotel in Riga Old Town located between Riga Dome Cathedral and Town Hall. Rixwell Domus Hotel offers 41 comfortable and cozy rooms, with possibility to accommodate up to 108 guests. Hotel is furnished in modern style, preserving the history of the building in the facade and the ancient items exhibited in the hall having been discovered during the reconstruction of the building. The building was built in the end of 19th century as a store. In 20th century building served as optical shop, arts items and furniture shop and even as a shoe factory. Around Rixwell Domus Hotel: Riga Old Town - 0 km Airport - 10 km Central Railway Station - 0,6 km Bus (coach) terminal - 0,5 km Ferry terminal - 1 km Arena Riga - 4,5 km Latvian National Opera - 0,7 km Kipsala exhibition complex - 3 km Jurmala resort - 20 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riga Kolonna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing