We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice spa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, nice spa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I travel for work and dont get much say over what hotel i get to stay in...and admittedly if i had gotten to chooose i would not have choosen this one but i would have missed out on a really nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was nice enough. The restaurant at the hotel was good. It was walking distance to the old city center but best of all for me was the fact that it was located next to a small mall and grocery store that had a nice deli with great food i could take back to the hotel. also they had a nice spa with the hotel that was open late on sunday night. Having a great massage before you start your work week was really nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    252
    109
    31
    19
See reviews for
86
185
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Islande Hotel is a 20 or so minute walk to Riga’s beautiful Old Town. But aside from their very pleasant staff, there isn’t much to recommend of this 4 star hotel that may have had to beg or borrow a couple of its stars from some other hotel. The food at the buffet breakfast was plentiful, but plain. And the stains on our carpet reminded of a place I once stayed where the owners just didn’t seem to care anymore. Stay in the Old Town. With a short WWW search you’ll find a better place in a far better area…and probably pay less.

Room Tip: I expect the best rooms have dirty carpets too. Stay in the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a longweekend in february.
The hotel was of good quality, the service very good in reception.

Restaurant at hotel could have been better though, slow service and not too impressive food. Breakfast was a bit dissappointing, would advise people to be early for breakfast, if not there is a good chance most of the food is gone.

Spatreatment was very good at this hotel, also good bubblebath and sauna.

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre, takes approx 20-25 min walk to get downtown.

Would recommend this hotel for weekendstays for couples or friends going to Rifa for Spa treatment, if you're going for nightlife and want to stay close to city centre, choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

a very nicely appointed hotel with nicely designed rooms. very clean. WLAN is free at the lobby and for 24 hours you pay a reasonable 4LVL/EUR 5.50. good restaurant and a very nice spa. you will need a good 15 minutes walk to the old town as you have to cross the river, but this will give you some nice views of riga, too. good shuttle service to/from airport for just LVL 3 p.p.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerKronberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed here for 1 night waiting for my flight the next day, great hotel location in terms of being outside the old town but close enough to walk to it within 20minutes. Right next to a shopping mall open until 22:00. Had a single room on 8th floor amazing views of the old town (great for photos) and the breakfast was good quality and a wide selection of hot and cold items. The only downside is having to pay for the internet in your room but its free in the hotel lobby. Also the bar on the top floor is fantastic for a nice drink and views across Riga- Great shuttle service to the airport for only 3LVL/5EUR and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroscot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

An average hotel not much better than an Ibis, with restaurant staff who rate amongst some of the worst I have ever seen. Reception staff, by contrast are good.
If you want low frills, it's ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSAUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel in early February. It wasn't by choice but as a result of missing my connecting flight to Stockholm and being put up here by Air Baltic. We got a shuttle bus that ran from the airport and it took 25 mins to get to the hotel. Check in was smooth and I went to my room to freshen up before going to the bar for a drink. The room was basic but clean. The bar has a very interesting layout complete with a large water feature and a little bridge that you can walk over! Then it was time for bed but I couldn't sleep. My room was on the second floor on the right of the lift which meant that the balcony outside looked right down into the bar. I could hear music and noise all night. I finally drifted off about 2am only to be woken at 3.20am by the music downstairs which would fluctuate from quiet to loud and back again. We were provided with a packed breakfast and caught the shuttle bus at 5am to get back to the airport. Staff were always pleasant but very young. It's not somewhere I would stay while on holiday but it served its purpose while stuck in Riga.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ul0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
1.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Property: Islande Hotel
Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing