We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the airport, not far from the city center”
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Near to the airport, not far from the city center”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have booked this hotel together with AirBaltic flight per airbaltic web-site - the price was very good. The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable.
The airport is very close, it takes only 20 (or less) minutes per AirBalric shuttle bus (it stops just in front of the hotel).
Breakfast is great.
Internet is very expensive. I supposed free wi-fi is an obligation of a good hotel:(
The city center is also not far from the hotel - it is necessary to get across the river through the bridge. It's ok, but in winter it was a little bit cold and windy:)

Good hotel for its price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    266
    120
    36
    20
See reviews for
92
207
51
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We came here to visit Riga, but also to relax, and the hotel was a good choice for both. Just 10 minutes walk from Old Riga, and with a wonderful panorama view of the city from top floors (lower down there are big trees between the hotel and the river). I can absolutely recommend a visit on the terrace on the 10th floor, which also have a very nice summer restaurant.
The room had AC which was much needed in the July heat and the beds were fine. There was only one armchair in the rather small sit area, so we had to use the beds to sit in when in the room.
The spa recreation area was small but OK, and good to use in the afternoon between city exploring and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scr_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I travel for work and dont get much say over what hotel i get to stay in...and admittedly if i had gotten to chooose i would not have choosen this one but i would have missed out on a really nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was nice enough. The restaurant at the hotel was good. It was walking distance to the old city center but best of all for me was the fact that it was located next to a small mall and grocery store that had a nice deli with great food i could take back to the hotel. also they had a nice spa with the hotel that was open late on sunday night. Having a great massage before you start your work week was really nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Islande Hotel is a 20 or so minute walk to Riga’s beautiful Old Town. But aside from their very pleasant staff, there isn’t much to recommend of this 4 star hotel that may have had to beg or borrow a couple of its stars from some other hotel. The food at the buffet breakfast was plentiful, but plain. And the stains on our carpet reminded of a place I once stayed where the owners just didn’t seem to care anymore. Stay in the Old Town. With a short WWW search you’ll find a better place in a far better area…and probably pay less.

Room Tip: I expect the best rooms have dirty carpets too. Stay in the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a longweekend in february.
The hotel was of good quality, the service very good in reception.

Restaurant at hotel could have been better though, slow service and not too impressive food. Breakfast was a bit dissappointing, would advise people to be early for breakfast, if not there is a good chance most of the food is gone.

Spatreatment was very good at this hotel, also good bubblebath and sauna.

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre, takes approx 20-25 min walk to get downtown.

Would recommend this hotel for weekendstays for couples or friends going to Rifa for Spa treatment, if you're going for nightlife and want to stay close to city centre, choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

a very nicely appointed hotel with nicely designed rooms. very clean. WLAN is free at the lobby and for 24 hours you pay a reasonable 4LVL/EUR 5.50. good restaurant and a very nice spa. you will need a good 15 minutes walk to the old town as you have to cross the river, but this will give you some nice views of riga, too. good shuttle service to/from airport for just LVL 3 p.p.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed here for 1 night waiting for my flight the next day, great hotel location in terms of being outside the old town but close enough to walk to it within 20minutes. Right next to a shopping mall open until 22:00. Had a single room on 8th floor amazing views of the old town (great for photos) and the breakfast was good quality and a wide selection of hot and cold items. The only downside is having to pay for the internet in your room but its free in the hotel lobby. Also the bar on the top floor is fantastic for a nice drink and views across Riga- Great shuttle service to the airport for only 3LVL/5EUR and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroscot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
1.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#33 of 109 in Riga
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
1.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Property: Islande Hotel
Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing