We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Terrific Location”
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Chonqging China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Terrific Location”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Islande and loved this place. The staff at the front desk were just outstanding, guys and gals both. The gals certainly are great eye candy; beautiful girls and always helpful. I arrived by bicycle and they stored my bicycle with no problems inside their luggage storage. My room was excellent; I'd booked it online with booking.com and no problem at check-in. The room was a very nice size (standard single room) with queen bed, mini-bar (that did not keep anything cold, only for storage), WiFi very good in room and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed with extra towels, hand and bath towels. The room also had an inroom safe and AC that kept the temperature of the room a nice temperature with no AC noise.

The hotel is located just across the river, an easy 10 minute walk to Riga Old Town. There was also the Olympia Mall just adjacent to the hotel that had a nice supermarket and shops. I highly recommend this place. Great value for the price.

Oh, and the breaksfast buffet was outstanding. Additionally, the bartenders at the bar were helpful in recommending different beers for me to try as well as wines. Thanks guys!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    271
    121
    36
    21
See reviews for
94
213
52
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We love restaurant on top floor, it is little bit expensive but food was amazing and staff very friendly. Room was ok but I was disappointed about shower because we have little girl so it wasn't easy to wash her. When I booked the hotel, I mention that I need bed for my daughter but we didn't get so she slept in my bed. Breakfast was nice, food was good but again, when we needed highchair there wasn't any so I can't say this hotel is family (baby) friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Had a nice stay at this hotel 7-9 June. The only thing I would like to mention as a negative was the airconditioning in the room. We stayed on the 2 floor, had dogs with us and had room 212. We never got the temperature under 25 °C even though we set the airconditioning temp. to below 18 and it was blowing from the it constantly.
On to the positive. I got to check in before 10 in the morning and we had late check-out at 19.00 (paid 5 LVL pr. hour after noon).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lf-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a basic 4 star hotel with modest rooms. The shower was good and the bed comfortable. There was no noise as the hotel is situated away from the street. Next door is a shopping mall so it's easy to find food away from the hotel. Breakfast has a fairly good choice, but it's not great food. Location is over a long bridge from the centre and can take 15 minutes walking.

What sets this place apart is the very friendly and efficient service. I wish all hotels made the effort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Before coming to Riga I've read a lot about this hotel so I was prepared for its durty carpets or unfriendy stuff or simple breakfast. But during all our stay I didn't notice anything of this list - everything was nice, really nice. Room is clean, river view is beautiful, for breakfast you're offered many different dishes, like beans, omlette, boiled eggs, sausages, cottage cheese, corn-flakes, fruits and vegetables, meat and cheese plates, etc. Juices were natural as well. So yes, our stay was nice, like everything int the Islande hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth to ask for room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Very good place for a business trip, comfortable room , nice fitness center with sauna, steam bath and whirlpool .
Warm welcome for an enjoyable stay. The breakfast was average and could be therefore improved. We stayed 2 nights and will come back for sure.
A place to recommend . Very attractive price.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RemiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is very good value for the money, but its a little far away from the old town during the winter time when its cold and windy outside.

The breakfast is only ok. Food is fresh but there are limited choises.

It has a great veiw to the ols town from the roof bar and top floor restaurant. Food in te restaurant is great but overpriced (atleast at new year eve when we stayed here)

The spa in the hotel is good, not luxury but its good and has great prices. We had 4 treatments during our stay and were very satisified.

If we ever travel back to Riga we will stay a little closer to the old town.

Room Tip: Do not go for a standard room, they are very small. We only payd 15 € at the counter to upgrad to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Riga Centre
Mercure Riga Centre
#20 of 109 in Riga
648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#33 of 109 in Riga
751 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 109 in Riga
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Property: Islande Hotel
Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing