We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

On the first day, the service was excellent. Daira signed us in, was very welcoming and provided great care for the customers. Bar set high there. This can be compared with the last day, when the service was alright, not going the extra mile, but was good, we were signed out by a different guy.
The breakfast was great, lots of choices, and some changes every morning. Room was excellent, everything was clean, and the view was amazing. Very sunny, and warm, air conditioner if needed. You also get a complementary access to gym, and jacuzzi and sauna.
Very good value for money, the surroundings are quiet, there is a shopping mall 3min away, where you can buy anything necessary. Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haloig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    271
    120
    36
    20
See reviews for
94
211
52
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montcuq, France
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It is one of the smallest rooms I ever had in an European Hotel (about Japan it would be a "normal" size for a business hotel). Very modern, nice furniture, all is new and clean. Breakfast is just ok. Overall a very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Beautiful room, I stayed here during a business travel. I found these hotel excellent even tough the restaurant with terrace overlooking Riga was really expensive in comparation with the price of the room ( single room 40 €, dinner for one 30 €).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After an extremely rude man barging in front of us at check in whilst we were ignored, by the front desk staff, my high hopes for this hotel & it's staff dwindled. I asked at the time of booking for a high floor, king bed with a river view. We were given room 828, so all good there! But you do get what you pay for, no frills at all. The location of this hotel is ideal if you want a quieter stay in Riga, away from the herd's of men over on stag party's. The 9th floor restaurant was pleasant enough, but does have a limited menu. Avoid room service as it is an absolutely bare minimum service with luke warm food, but it did come fairly quickly, but wasn't even brought in on a tray, just 2 plates of food! Check out the mini mall with grocery store across the street with several restaurants. Breakfast is a buffet style, I would only rate this as basic, with luke warm "hot selection". The hotel spa offers a large number of treatments, I highly recommend the chocolate massage! Unfortunately you can only access the jacuzzi & steam bath via the spa which is only free of charge for hotel guests between 9-12pm, there is a charge to use between 4-6pm. Would I stay here again? Only if I was on a tight budget, it severed it's purpose as a crash pad.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Porsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good, clean, comfortable; no excess luxury, but everything available.Nice breakfast. Only internet access is very limited: writing it just now from the lobby, impossible to connect from my room on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We could say it is a normal, simple hotel. Nothing special good was there, but nothing bad was there too. In our opinion, the price for such a quality was good (we paid 45 EUR/per night). Beds&linen were good (normal) too. It was't very comfortable to have two beds put together instead a double bed (as I understood the hotel didn't has a standart room with a double bed). We had a 6 floor, the view was not very nice, but normal - partly the bridge, partly the river. Breakfast is neither good, nor bad - with hot dishes but without cakes or crousans. Spa was small, but with a good view. We would recommend the hotel as a budget hotel for people who don't have any special expectations.

Room Tip: as higher the floor as better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Viktorija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend whilst on a sports conference. It's walking distance to the centre of Riga, although over one of the main road bridges, and easy to get to from the airport. The room I had was massive compared to other hotels I have stayed in, although some of my colleagues has much smaller rooms. The view over Riga was great from the 8th floor and the gym and spa were well equipped. The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and very good when you needed help with directions, ordering taxis, finding things in the hotel, etc. Overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone as I had a great experience there, and the shower was awesome (it's what I rank most hotels on - good shower = good hotel!). It's also 5 mins walk from a large shopping centre with everything you'll ever need if you forget things.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the old town, and if you are along get a twin room (it costs just a little bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevanjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Riga Centre
Mercure Riga Centre
#20 of 109 in Riga
645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#34 of 109 in Riga
748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 109 in Riga
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Property: Islande Hotel
Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#32 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing