We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation”
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Very basic accommodation but at £50 per night including breakfast felt it was decent enough value. Room tired, window cracked, carpets stained and I had to get my electronic room key reset 6 times. Breakfast was good. Staff varied in approach to customer relations. Some were friendly and helpful, others were incredibly rude and abrupt. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Very good Rimi and shopping centre next door which houses a variety of restaurants which serve good food at very cheap prices.
Would I stay again? no!

Room Tip: Not 622 if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank martinfroggatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the plus side, there's a decently sized room with air conditioning, comfortable bed and a bathtub in the bathroom; free parking and – last but not least – good breakfast, which prevented us from giving Islande 2 stars rating. Yes, that's exactly how disappointed we were.

Every time you step into the lobby, you cannot shake off hostile feeling. Guys at the reception were always gloomy and expressionless, reminding of KGB agents on a mission to protect the hotel from suspicious element, guests that is.

The two girls at our check-in and check out were friendly, quick and professional, though.

Our room was finished using cheap materials: painted wallpapers and linoleum on the floor (where are the carpeted floors, shown on booking.com, I wonder?) and equipped with 20 years old TV set. Our window was facing the roof – it's hard to imagine a more pointless view.
Both on the hotel's website and on booking.com they claim that rooms feature mini-bars, but guess what? It turned out to be a locked cupboard with "mini-bar" sign on it. The staff explained that there are no mini-bars on the whole floor. Our request to change the room for the one with mini-bar was not heard. We felt cheated.

The hotel isn't a cosy place. If some hotels need a facelift, this one needs a new face.

Booking our room directly, we would expect to get a better room. We did not feel welcomed and cared about and would not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in higher floors to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A simple standard room is plenty enough for a single traveler. Only one restaurant open with a limited menu card, but splendid view on the old town. In general the value-price rate is very good, but the hotel is more specialized in bus groups than individual guests. Public transport is not on the next door. Using your car to join the old town is not recommended, parking places are limited and very expensive. I used the alternative taxi and for 6€ I was dropped in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited the hotel at the beginning of June 2014. The hotel is very good, reasonably priced, situated in a quiet neighborhood with a lot of fresh air, yet just a short stroll away from almost every tourist attraction in the city.
We arrived a bit early in the morning and despite the official policy of providing the rooms after 2.00pm our host at the reception Ugis, very pleasant and attentive young man, kindly managed to find us two vacant rooms without any request from our side.
We stayed in two different singles - spacious, clean and comfortable, with impeccable bathrooms.
The breakfast is served in a large hall where you can always find a comfortable vacant table. The quality and diversity of food is just amazing.
The hotel was the best one we stayed in Riga and we would recommend it to everyone who comes either on business or on holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulagina_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very nice Personell, always helping you out and making suggestions. And they talked very good english. Atm at the hotell, so that was a big + Easy acsess to the city and back again, I think we paid 10 dollars for one way with taxi. The only drawbacks were that the water in the shower shifted between being warm and cold. and the beds were a little bit hard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlillegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The service in the hotel was good. We arrived just before 12am, the kitchen was closed, but thankfully the barman offered us some cold foods. We had to have our drinks in the hotel lobby because the roof terrace was closed - 'not main season' in the first week in June - which was a little disappointing.
The rooms are nice, ok size with spacious bathrooms and very clean. Beds are very comfy.
We wanted to use the wellness area, but unfortunately, this is only possible free of charge between 9am - 12pm, afterwards it is around 17 EUR.
Hotel is located just across the main bridge from the old town, very walkable distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeBa12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is located right next to a mall, where is a RIMI supermarket and plenty of other stores. Old town is on the other side of the river, about 20 mins walk.
Roomsize was large, much bigger than we expected. Breakfast was good.

On the spa there is a general area with saunas, jacuzzi and cold pool. Also you can get spa treatments.
I took a pedicure and it was good. My spouse had a facial, and unfortunately got an allergic reaction. Not sure what caused that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn_traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
1.3 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#29 of 112 in Riga
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Address: Kipsalas iela 2, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £36 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing