We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but amateur staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islande Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Lapinlahti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel but amateur staff”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The hotel is ok, nice rooms ja clean overall. We stayed day at the hotel because our Baltic Air flight connection was cancelled. We arrived very tired and hungry. The upstairs restaurant was the only place to get dinner. Two hours after order we asked the waiter what's the problem. We got an answer that our dinner will be served in 10 minutes. A half hour later we payed the wine we had ordered for dinner and went to sleep very hungry and angry.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    252
    109
    31
    19
See reviews for
86
185
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

i don't mind anonymous business hotels, to sleep is what i come for.
but this place is a typical example how to make me angry: cheap interior, sweaty plastic-bedcloth & sheets, A CHARGE FOR WI-FI and a real crappy breakfast.
in a direct comparrison with the domina-inn i stayed the night before (thanks air baltic flightcancellation) the only thing i can say:

minus 4 stars the least

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meilen-sammlerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw,Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

One night and never again!
Trainee at the reception desk wasn't able to win with the credit card - we have to pay cash! Booking - 35 minutes, scandal!
Double bed booked and of course beds in the room. The cleaning lady came and bounded the bed legs together with a sticky tape :) That is a double bed in Islande :)
Terrible breakfast - if you like to eat well, do not stay here.
You have to pay for the internet!!
Workers here ( except the cleaning lady from the elevator) - drama!
If you will check out in 12:05 they will block your room card, and you can not go in to the room, so if you have more staff to take, take it in one time :)

I see one plus - the coffe in the lobby bar is good :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Great hotel, conveniently located for the non-lazy walker. It's only 20 minutes by foot from the old town. Crossing the bridge offers stunning views of the city. I stayed here as a solo traveler but got a double room, so I had a biiig bed to sleep in. Breakfast was very filling, just great for charging your batteries before an entire day of walking around and after a night of partying. Free wi-fi in the rooms was a plus, even though I had no device to use it with. The only ball-buster was that I had to pay for shampoo. Kind of strange for a 4-star hotel, but it was cheap, and the other amenities made up for it. Would have loved free spa services too...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I don’t have much negative to say about this hotel; easy to find if approaching by car, nice rooms, very clean bathroom, excellent breakfast (delicious porridge!), air condition and stunning panorama view from the sky bar. The only possible flaws are that the distance to Riga Old Town is somewhat long; at least 15 minutes. But if you book here, you ought to be prepared for that. There is no free internet, and the breakfast staff and the reception staff found it hard to smile, but I think that might have something to do with the Baltic temper.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utan_namn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed two nights for 55 € / night on the fourth floor. The room had the feeling of being brand new. The included breakfast was good, but the staff could have been better at keeping an eye on what food ran out. The wifi was not free, and was expensive (4 Lv for 24h). The hotel is in walking distance of the old town, takes about 15 - 20 min. Next to the hotel there is also a shopping center. Check out the rooftop bar, it is a good idea to start the night there/or end it there to see the city night sky.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights there. Rooms were good, especially I liked the bathroom with baththub. Comfortable room. But what I did'nt like:
1) parking in the hotel area is expensive. Finally we parked in the street for free (+ we could see the car from the room window). Dn't understand why parking shoul cost so much, this hotel isn't even in the old town.
2) you have to pay for a wifi - as room was quite expensive, I would expect free wifi
3) breakfast room's curtains were dirty
4) when we checked out, it was surprise that price was 80 Latvian money, not 80 Euros per night. If we arrived I was asking for the price (we didn't pre-book, but I checked their website day before and there were prices in euros) and no-one didn't specify the currency. Of course I would have preferred Euros as it was cheaper. So finally we paid quite big amount for such average hotel.
5) oh, and tv - it's oldfashioned one; don't expect LCD screen.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_V_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.7 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#15 of 109 in Riga
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara
1.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Property: Islande Hotel
Address: Kipsalas iela 20, Riga 1048, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#31 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing