We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious and light, michelin standard modern Baltic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 3 Knives Restaurant - CLOSED

3 Knives Restaurant
Price range: US$9 - US$49
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European, Scandinavian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious and light, michelin standard modern Baltic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went here on friday night, restaurant was full .
We went for tasting menu + matching wine.
Food was brilliant, well executed ,beautifully presented.
Dishes were light , fragrant, with intensive flavors and many textures on the plate . Then we had desserts .Beetroot and chocolate follow by apple and caramel and almond short biscuit.
Not a big fan of veg desserts but here every thing were nicely balanced so even dill with beets were in place.Second dessert were delicious.
Service were good ,but no sommelier . not impressed with matching wines. Michelin standard food for moderate price.
I will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SipSergej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sergej!
Thank you for choosing 3 Knives Restaurant. We are pleasant that you enjoyed our Tasting menu. We appreciate your good comments shared in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oriolo Romano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect lunch stop. The food is simple, fresh and delicious as well as fantastic value! The place is tiny with scandinavian charm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Aconti,
We are really happy that you enjoyed our lunch menu. Thanks for great comment and we are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful space, staff, food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great find in Riga. Really inventive dishes with a Scandanavian twist. Unlike anything l've ever had, and one of the best meals I can remember. Had shredded deer appetizer and pike perch main. Each was wonderful, as was the setting and service. Got in without a reservation for an early dinner. Usually just make short trips to Riga but now I could be convinced it's worth an extra night to eat here.

Helpful?
Thank Searbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Searbor,
Thank you for choosing 3 Knives Restaurant. We are pleasant that you found Nordic taste which is our chef signature. Happy that you enjoyed food and service! Thanks for great comment and looking forward to see you again.
Kind regards, restaurant manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We found this place by mistake and are so happy that we did! Even though we arrived for dinner the exceptional staff offered us the option of the 6 course brunch menu, which we went for. Every course was an unusual joy, with great combinations of flavours and high quality. Pancakes with peppermint sauce and bourbon ice-cream, poached eggs with grated crispy bacon, a delicious dark chocolate mousse, everything was terrific and reasonably priced! The service was impeccable too :)

Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank GusElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear GusElena!
We are really happy that you chose “3 knives” restaurant and enjoyed our 6 course brunch menu and service! Thank you for sharing great comment on Trip Advisor. Looking forward to welcome you again!
Kind regards, restaurant manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Wow! I was so well looked after here. The waiter explained everything and was friendly. I had shredded deer with cucumber sauce to start whcih was lovely. Afterwards I had duck, excellent. Finished off with a dark chocolate pudding. Two glasses of Carmenere along the way and a ten year old armagnac. Lovely surroundings, great service and wonderful food. Really one of the best places I've eaten in for a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougShaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear DougShaw1 ! We are pleased that you enjoyed restaurant “3 knives”! Thank you for sharing great comments in Trip Advisor and we are look forward to welcome you again in our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3 Knives Restaurant also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing