We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel”

Barons Bed&Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barons Bed&Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 62 Riga B&B and Inns
Strijen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great hostel! It is close to the city centre, about 10 minutes walk.

You can't park your car in front of the hostel, but at about 200 metres there is a parking place, where you can park your car for about E 5,- a day.

There isn't an elevator and the hostel is on the 6th floor of an nice old building. But the owner is very helpful with the bags. We had some luggage due to traveling with our 2 little children.

We had a nice big family room (for only E 38,50 a night) and we all loved the room and the rest of the hostel. It is the cleanest hostel I ever stayed.

When we will visit Riga in the future, we will most definitely stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M4rtinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked this hostel on line and are very happy with our choice.The beds are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are a 108 steps but we had help with our luggage and at other times it's like our own private gym!
Breakfast is definately a plus and the kitchen is well stocked

Room Tip: I loved our back room as it was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mäntsälä, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were a party of five and stayed in the two-bedroom apartment 500 meters from the hostel. The apartment is recently renovated, clean, very spacious and extremely well equipped with all necessary household appliances - and more.

The walk to the old town takes 15-20 minutes, but there is a tram/streetcar stop 150 meters away. Though it was really warm, the apartment stayed relatively cool, even without air conditioning.

The apartment is at the top floor of an old building. The stairway is in a pretty awful condition, as often is the case in Eastern Europe, but don't let it scare you. There is no elevator, so the apartment is not for older people - there really are a lot of stairs to climb. But the top floor is of course also the safest one. And speaking of safety, there is a guarded parking lot 100 meters away.

Special thanks go to the caretaker Freddie, who was extremely helpful before and during the stay.

To sum it up: for the price of a cheap hotel room you get a large apartment with enough room for six or even seven people in a decent location. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eero66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Having been limited to one previous hostel experience I was not exactly looking forward to this stay, the first on a backpacking adventure for me and my wife. However, Baron's has helped me get over my hostel fears! Okay, the entrance isn't exactly what you'd expect from a 3 star hotel, but there was a warm welcome (much warmer than the -7 temperature outside), the room was spacious and clean, and there was good shared amenities. A sizeable kitchen was complimented by two bathrooms and two toilets, push a large communal area with 44" LCD TV and Xbox. Cereals, eggs, bread and tea/coffee are provided free of charge for breakfast. We stayed in a private room which has a double bed and lots of storage space. We enjoyed a good 3 night stay, in a great location on the main road, only 10 minutes walk into the old town. Of course, I'd rather have stopped in a five star hotel, but that's not what this trip is about. Not only am I cured of my hostel fears, but I would highly recommend a stop here, with it's friendly staff and bargain price.

Room Tip: Very quiet in January, and the weather makes for an atmospheric stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Würzburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

the barons, apparently now renamed in funky hostel, is located in centre of the city, albeit it is a quiet and relaxing place. There is a very familiar atmosphere due there are not a lot of rooms. Compared to other places it offers a good price, a small self-service breakfast, free-wifi and internet included.
I had a single room so I cant say anything about the shared rooms. I was in Riga out of the season so the city wasnt too crowded, so maybe that was the reason I didnt make any friends there, although everybody was very friendly.
Dont wonder, from outside there is only a very small sign, you can easily miss it. It is situated in the very top/upper floor of the building,

Room Tip: single rooms available. single rooms are the same rooms and equipemt as 5/person shared rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Looking on a map this hostel appears to be too far from the old town. Actually, distances in Riga are pretty small, and it's just a five-minute walk from this hostel to e.g. the National Opera, which is the beginning of the old town. A tram stops just in front of the hostel anyway. In the direct neighbourhood are several restaurants, supermarkets and shops.

The hostel itself is on the 4th floor of a 19th / early 20th century appartment - no elevator. Having five rooms, very clean and beds are really comfortable. I didn't hear traffic of the street, although you can feel a tram passing by - not disturbing.

The hostel has a pretty extensive kitchen: everything necessary to prepare your own meal is available (e.g. high quality pans, microwave, toaster). Breakfast is good also, with a choice of more than only ham, cheese and jam on bread. You can also take cornflakes and eggs. A minibar is available too, but coffee and tea can be used for free whenever you want.

The hostel has two toilets and two showers. All clean and showers very comfortable. The common room is a cosy living room with huge LCD television, high speed internet (one computer) and a pretty nice selection of books and dvds.

Staff is extremely friendly and really willing to answer all your questions. Although staff might not be present all the time, it can be contacted 24 hours by phone. You can also leave notes at the reception.

I spent three nights here, with only four other travelers staying in the hostel. Because of its high quality, small-scale and personal atmosphere, I felt like home immediately. I had a good time Riga, and after wandering around the city I was looking forward to go "home".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed in the hostel part of Barons as there is a private rooms part and a hostel part. The hostel is nicely located and not too far from the station.

The firstthing however was that you have to climb 4 or 5 flights of stairs as there is no lift and also the hostel was cold and it was freezing in Riga at the time we stayed, however the girl did give us extra blankets, but having a shower was a mad dash from the bedroom to the bathroom to ensure you didnt freeze.

The bathrooms were ok although one of them comes right out into the main living area and common room so not that great when everyone is sat there.

Other than that the rooms were clean and quiet. The price was reasomnable and the kitchrn facility was a great asset. The girl that ran the place was great and very friendly and helpful. The common room had a dvd player and free internet access which was great.

  • Liked — kitchen, internet access and dvds
  • Disliked — stairs and heating not on
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl0_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.8 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#39 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Bed&Breakfast

Property: Barons Bed&Breakfast
Address: Krishjana Barona iela 25, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Barons Bed&Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Barons Bed&Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing