We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic - but ok”
Review of Hotel Liene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Liene
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Riga
uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic - but ok”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed for one night at the liene and found it basic but clean. Fine for what I paid. All staff were very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was adequate. One gripe was that fact that bar/restaurant is only open on "business days" and the surrounding area isnt exactly bursting with eating/drinking establishments (decent ones at any rate). Its a bus ride from Riga centre - buses dont travel late - and as asaid earlier - the area around the hotel is a bit run down.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
17
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed for two nights at the liene hotel and found it basic but clean. Staff were very helpful and had a good quality continental breakfast. Only down side was that it was a few mile from town centre and area around the hotel was a bit run down

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healyGawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

At first I read the hotel lays in the centre of Riga but actually it's placed a lot further. If you are planning to walk to the centre, you'll spend about 20 minutes. It is possible to use a trolley bus, but would we really had to do it if that would be the centre of Riga as mentioned in advertisment? Besides that hotel is a bit difficult to find and it's located in a district with prostitutes and alcoholics around.
Staff was polite and cooperative. But it was very hot and we had to sleep with opened window. It was impossible to sleep because we heard every noise and every spoken word in the backyard. There were some restaurant visitors, a bit drunk and they weren't very quiet. In about 6 AM we had to listen in staff talking and working noises. A terrible night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anreplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

A good value hotel about 30 minute walk from the city centre. The staff were friendly and spoke English. Breakfast included a small selection of cold meats and cheese, bread, fruit juice, coffee/tea and a hot dish - often pancakes. Sometimes there were cereals. It is not a buffet breakfast as you may expect and can vary a lot depending on the hot dish.

The room was large, fairly recently refurbished and comfortable, although not luxurious. Towels were changed daily although the room was not cleaned thoroughly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abroad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed here with a group of ten friends, from Spain, Canada, Sweden, US, and elsewhere. We found the hotel to be a good deal, so took our chances. While the location was not difficult to get to on public transport, it sits off the road a bit and can be tricky to find. The hotel is a splendid little place with service that is out of the world. While the waiter in the attached pub/bar might bring you any drink (recommend ZELTA beer!), if you want food, ask the service people at the hotel to help you out. The rooms are simple, but clean and nice. The bathrooms are excellent as well, the place is quiet too. We had a splendid time here and even used the on-site sauna where you roast yourself and then jump into a big, massive barrel, of freezing water. Good times all around. It takes a few minutes on public transport to get to the more touristy center, but this place gives you a true Latvian feel. Again, highly recommended. Get here on RyanAir.com from many cities, including Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed four nights in this hotel and were very pleased. For 40 euros a night in a double room with breakfast, and with easy access to the centre you will be able to spend your money on other things. The owners/staff were very helpful and smiling. We had a room to the inner courtyard, which must be much quieter than to the street, where the trolleybuses pass all the time. The room was quite large with a fine bathroom. Everything is renovated inside the building, although parts of the exterior , as elsewhere outside the city centre, was worn and used.

The breakfast was very good and quie funny: Every day a new hot dish: omelette with sausage, two fried eggs, oats porridge (!), small pancakes with jam. The breakfast room also serves as restaurant throughout the day and till 11 o'clock p.m., where good and cheap dishes can be ordered. They have a courtyard with tables and chairs where it is pleasant to sit down with a pint of beer.

To reach the centre, take trolleybus 11 or 22 to the railway station or 13 to the market halls (centraltirgus). Alternatively walk 5 minutes in the other direction past the church and take bus nr. 5 on Tallinas street to the northern part of the old town. Buy a one, three or five day's card at one of the the Narvesen outlets. For taxis, get the hotel or a restaurant to call, rather than hailing one on the street.

This hotel should be recommended to anyone, except those who must live in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

The hotel is located a bit outside of the city centre, but does have a bus stop nearby. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff was very friendly. There is a restaurant/bar attached. All in all a good option in this price bracket.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asexual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funky Hostel and Apartments
3.3 mi away
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
#74 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#31 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liene

Property: Hotel Liene
Address: Avotu iela 75, Riga 1009, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liene 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Liene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liene Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing