We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings...”
Review of Hotel Liene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Liene
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is not really in the city center, it's a good 15-20 minutes walk. The walk didn't feel very safe at night but maybe this was just me. I felt like Riga is more of a city center/old town kinda place where you leave your hotel for walks and for the bars and clubs. The room was quite basic but clean and convenient. The staff was nice but his English wasn't the best, it wasn't a problem though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My friend and I spent 9 nights at this Hotel, just outside the center of Riga. The room was clean, big and comfortable. Breakfast is very well organized: for just 3 lats per person you get juice, a hot dirnk, bread (and a variety of ham, cheese, cucumbers, tomatos etc...) and a hot dish (the porridge was great!). The staff is very helpful and welcoming. Although this hotel is not located in the very center of Riga, it takes just 15 minutes on foot or 5 minutes by tram to get there. I definitely suggest this Hotel for visitors of the amazing city of Riga.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisPastore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently to visit a trade fair in the city. It is a great place lovely services and personal attention staring from the moment you checkin at the reception and not stopping till you're in a taxi on route to the airport again. It was a pleasure staying here. Room, food and staff ... everything is perfect here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kinder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I have tried well-known hotels of this city and quite satisfied with my stay at Hotel Liene, a few months ago. The place was super-duper clean and well-arranged. Check in went smooth although we arrived a few hours early, but check out was delayed due to some technical reasons. Rooms were fantastic in terms of comfort and modern amenities, other facilities were average and staff was OK. Overall a nice place, peaceful, comfortable and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The rooms are spacious, we got a room with a kitchen. No problems with water or anything. The staff is very good. We came by car so I did not see any problems about getting to the center. The area is not bad though each second customer complains it is nasty and terrible.
However I would mention some drawbacks.
1) My booking said: "Double or twin room with free parking". On the first night I managed to squeeze the car in the yard (there are only 7 parking places for 14 rooms and service cars), on the next night I had to park ouside. Fortunately there was a public parking lot under the windows and my car is not popular among car thieves.
2) The hotel claims wi-fi access but in the room I could conect only with smartphone, the connection was ot powerful enough for the laptop to see. So to download documents I had to go to the reception.
3) The windows need washing badly.
However the price compensates many of these minor things.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Lien Hotel is a 3 star hotel located quite far from the center of Riga. However, the hotel can be easily reached by bus or trolley bus from the train station. The entrance is from the courtyard which can cause problems of its finding. Rooms at the hotel are not too big but clean and equipped with TV and a private bathroom. After arriving at the hotel receive a voucher for a welcome drink at the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaciejewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel Liene in Rīga is a really great place for your money.

The staff is really friendly, the restaurant is decent, Internet WiFi works great, rooms are clean, and things are generally well kept.

This is not a five start hotel, but for the price you will not find anything else that begins to compete.

We walked around the area one morning, and it was a nice area. You might want to walk with someone at night, but no problem during the day.

It was only 4 Euros to take the taxi to the center of town.

The staff washed my laundry for one Euro.

I really like this place, and will be back.

I hope you enjoy Hotel Liene if you get a chance to visit RIga.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#51 of 110 in Riga
457 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#74 of 110 in Riga
41 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#90 of 110 in Riga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
TOSS Hotel
TOSS Hotel
#77 of 110 in Riga
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Skanste
Hotel Skanste
#100 of 110 in Riga
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#41 of 110 in Riga
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liene

Address: Avotu iela 75, Riga 1009, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liene 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Liene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liene Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing