We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, fair price”
Review of Hotel Monte Kristo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Kristo
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Central and well managed hotel. About 3 star standard but well priced. The service was friendly and breakfast is included. Room needed airing as it was a bit musty. Bathroom was adequate but not flash, beds comfortable. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but filled a hole and was open til 11 in morning which is good if you're a late riser. Location is excellent with quick access to bus to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Kristo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very cozy hotel located on the border of Riga Old Town. Two minutes walk to either central railway or bus station. The restaurant is inexpensive but dishes are tasty. The only minus of the stay is the lack of parking space next to the hotel. But you can leave your car at some of guarded parking areas, just hundred meters away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A great hotel in a great location!!

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this Hotel. Its location on the edge of the old town is a plus,

The check in painless, and straight forward. The receptionist even recongised me from my previous stays. The room was clean, tidy and fresh!!! a good size bed and it was a double not 2 singles pushed together.

Breakfast was first class and had an excellant choice of options, and has made a change a full jug of coffee! I managed to get 4 cups out of the jug.

The reception staff are friendly and always seem to know the places to go to! Also the best buys in the Christmas Market in the old town.

The hotels location is great for all methods of public transport with botht the bus and train station been only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The bus stop for the bus 22 (airport shuttle) is only a " minute walk.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone and I am sure they would find the hotel an ideal base for exploring Riga

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeymouthBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. It's very close to train and bus station and it's also situated it downtown.
We were in two level room, but it wasn't very big it was without windows.
This hotel is good for people who aren't going to spend much time in the hotel.
Also there is big shopping centr near the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortuna7-7-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

very friendly and helpful staff, I think it is mucket worth visiting this hotel again!
mycket nära till gamlastaden, lugn och fint område!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Yousef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Monte Kristo is a comfortable hotel on the edge of the Old Town. It's well situated and convenient for both the airport bus and the trams. Rooms were reasonable sized but well laid out with comfortable beds. I got an excellent night's sleep, possibly due to trying out the hideous local spirit, Black Balsam from the mini-bar first!

The bathroom is small but modern and the shower excellent. Breakfast is very good with an excellent selection of fish, meat, salads and pastries. Plenty to choose from all served in anatmospheric but low arched cellar.

One caution, if you're looking for BBC World it was the last channel on our TV one after the free to view hard core pornography! Not a hotel to leave the kids alone with the remote control!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived before lunchtime & room was ready for us. A very nice room awaited us. After an evening out we arrived back to hotel & enquired about upgrading to a jnr suite. We were too tired to move there & then but after an early Alarm we packed & were able to move to new room before departure to Vilnuis for Day at 6am. Super customer Service. The jnr suite is excellent & far More room

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.0 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#43 of 110 in Riga
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Kristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Kristo

Address: Kaleju iela 56 | Old Riga, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £29 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Kristo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and cozy boutique hotel in the unique historic part of Riga - Old Town. You will find museums, monuments of architecture, popular places of leisure and relaxation, the largest shopping centers, banks, state institutions and embassies located in immediate proximity to the hotel. Within a few minutes walk there are Bus and Railway Stations as well as the Sea Port. Hospitality, exclusive service, highly professional and friendly personnel will make your relaxation unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monte Kristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Kristo Hotel
Monte Kristo Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing