We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Monte Kristo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monte Kristo
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I took a double room for 3 nights via Booking.com and was very pleasantly surprised with the place.
The public bus from the airport knew the place so dropped me right outside the hotel.
Room was small but had everything I could ask for (except they could've offered a complimentary bottle of water).
Breakfast had a wide variety of Latvian food and some continental items also for those who don't want to experiment. Staff is friendly and helpful.
They have a lovely terrace for dining but I had no time to enjoy this space.
Location is excellent, being next to the tram stop, across the road from the Central Market and has the best restaurants and all the sites and sounds within a 10 minute walking radius.
Great experience; highly recommend the place :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadeeka0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    199
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
75
160
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is below average in Riga. I've been in many different places from 60 to 100 eur range and this is one of the worst experiences. Some rooms are facing the street which can be noisy until 5 am, left wing of the hotel doesn't have a lift, service in the restaurant is slooooow and quality is below average. You'll find tens of different and way better places just around the corner. Breakfast was ok, but the restaurant is too small compared to size of the hotel. The result was that some people were waiting for 20 minutes before finding the seat. This can be quite frustrating for business traveller. Good news - this all can be quite cheap, just 60 euros for double room. But there is a trade off.

Room Tip: Rooms with 3-digit numbers have a lift and are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had the suite on the first floor and the room was big and had a great atmosphere. There was a full size fridge-freezer in the room and a lot of closets.
The bathroom could look nicer, but the jacuzzi was spacious and we had our own sauna.

We were travelling with our 5 months old baby and were delighted to have a baby got for her. We also got a baby sizw duvet for her and the cot was real wooden one, although it seemed to be quite old.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice and cheap. Located within 5 minutes walk from the Old Riga. All staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. Also they serve pretty nice breakfast. The best room - is the room on the first floor with a balcony.

Room Tip: Take room on the first floor with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanKolesnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location only a short walk from the centre of Riga and it's shops, bars, restaurants and many other tourist attractions. The hotel itself is clean although I'm sure that it would get more than a 3 star rating in the UK. As part of a large party I saw a number of the rooms. The majority of the rooms seemed to be reasonably proportioned and equipped however the "Economic" rooms on the top floor should be avoided as they have only a velux window and feel a little like a prison cell. Breakfast was adequate with a wide selection of the usual hot and cold choices but again these did not match up to the 4 star rating. The real problem with breakfast was the lack of space in the main dinning area which meant that it felt cramped and we found that we were having to wait for tables to be vacated to sit down. For a weekend stay on a relatively modest budget then it is fine but don't be fooled by the 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPW915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5 mins walk from the bus/train station and convenient for the airport bus (22). The welcome on check I was fine and our room on the third floor was accessible by lift but then involved going up and down 2 sets of stairs - not a problem for us but could be for others.

Our room (32) was fine as a twin with beds lined up along the wall. On a hot Saturday night though, with the windows open the noise from the local night clubs and bars made sleeping difficult. I appreciate that this is not the fault of the hotel but light sleepers may want to take ear plugs.

Our only real criticism was the bar service - slow to non existent despite the automatic 10% charge.

Make the most of the one sachet of "welcome" coffee - despite the kettle in the room any additional cups have to be purchased from the bar (if you can wait!).

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had the suite on the first floor and the room was big and had a great atmosphere. There was a full size fridge-freezer in the room and a lot of closets.
The bathroom could look nicer, but the jacuzzi was spacious and we had our own sauna.

We were travelling with our 5 months old baby and were delighted to have a baby got for her. We also got a baby sizw duvet for her and the cot was real wooden one, although it seemed to be quite old.

The location was perfect. The hotel was on a quiet street, very close to the mall in the old town, and the center of the old town. The public transportation was close, as well as the cinema, stockmann, etc.

Room Tip: The suite is worth of the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#33 of 109 in Riga
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Kristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Kristo

Property: Hotel Monte Kristo
Address: Kaleju iela 56 | Old Riga, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Kristo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and cozy boutique hotel in the unique historic part of Riga - Old Town. You will find museums, monuments of architecture, popular places of leisure and relaxation, the largest shopping centers, banks, state institutions and embassies located in immediate proximity to the hotel. Within a few minutes walk there are Bus and Railway Stations as well as the Sea Port. Hospitality, exclusive service, highly professional and friendly personnel will make your relaxation unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Kristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Kristo Hotel
Monte Kristo Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing